We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Save Saved
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE $$$ NOW
Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I went to CR to celebrate our 25th anniversary and also attend my nephew's wedding. Looked through many reviews and then settled on Gaia and were very pleased we did. The property is in beautiful spot up on a hill and overlooks the Pacific from a distance. There is a shuttle down to the beach. The views from the rooms and the restaurant, especially the sunset views, were fantastic. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious. The staff all go out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast that comes with the room is first rate. The spa is great and my wife recommends Milton as a great masseuse. The pool even has great views over the hill and a swim up bar. There were only a few suggestions I have for management: Improve the top decks of the suites. After the rains the water pooled on our deck making it difficult to use and there was no cover for the lounge chairs so they were soaked. And don't have the maids constantly shut off the AC in the rooms. if guests turn it on, leave it on. But these were minor and we'd go back. It's a great service and a great property.

Room Tip: Deluxe suites have great roof-top private decks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanking our recent guests for their very kind review of our hotel.

Gaia is unique and that translates into unique guests that decide to stay with us. While we constantly strive to make changes to improve our guests stay with us, we are thankful for suggestions such as this and we will make every effort to conform to your wishes.

Thank you ever so much for choosing Gaia and for taking your personal time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    679
    79
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
67
543
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I planned a short, first-time trip to Costa Rica for the purpose of visiting our daughter who is studying abroad there for fifteen weeks, the first half in Quepos. Upon reading reviews of various hotels I was a bit concerned reading about some with bugs in beds and other issues. We decided to spend a bit more to help ensure that we wouldn't have some of the issues. When we saw the reviews for Gaia we were impressed and booked our 4-night stay there.
Wow-are we ever glad that this was our choice! Gaia was outstanding in every way. The rooms are beautiful. They are immaculately kept. No worries about bugs here! The bed and pillows were amazingly comfortable. Our room had a shower (huge!) that had window we could open to our private balcony with a beautiful view. The twice daily maid service is excellent and discreet.
The restaurant was top-notch. We thoroughly enjoyed delicious (complimentary) breakfasts. And not continental---terrific menu served to your table overlooking breathtaking scenery. We also enjoyed dinner in the restaurant and it was absolutely perfect.
The service-our favorite part! From the ride we pre-arranged from the airport (Alex was delightful! With our permission he even stopped and showed us crocodiles, a toucan and a flock of scarlet macaws at various points during our ride to Gaia!), to the gentlemen who gave us golf cart ride service on the property whenever we needed them, to our friends in the lobby/registration area (Carlos and Alexander) who helped us with every little detail, to the attentive and wonderful wait staff in the restaurant (Joshua et al-we are so sorry we can't remember everyone's name!!), to our morning nature tour guide (I so wish we remembered his name as well!), and again, the maid service (and also all of the other workers who quietly go about their way maintaining the property)---we just can't say enough how they were key to making this a very special and memorable trip. We have gone on various cruises and we felt that the impeccable service, accommodations and dining were comparable to our favorite cruise line experience.
The only reason we didn't experience the spa was because we were busy with other activities-otherwise that would have been something we'd have definitely tried.
My husband and I speak just a few words of Spanish but this was not an issue as the staff we encountered spoke English very well.
While the main reason of this trip was to see our daughter (who the staff also accommodated so very nicely when she visited at the hotel, even going above and beyond to help us with transportation back to her host family's home!), it was just extra special because of where we stayed. Gaia would be the reason we'd return to Costa Rica. We understand there are plans to establish a scarlet macaw habitat on premises in the next few months and that could only add to the beauty.
We missed our daughter and the special folks and temporary home at Gaia the moment we left but we have wonderful memories. Hopefully one day we will return!
Out advice to anyone considering this hotel is JUST GO! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We are all very pleased your experience at our Gaia was to your complete satisfaction.

You did indeed choose the perfect place and for that we are very grateful. It is guests like yourself
who get what Gaia is all about that makes our decision to build our luxury resort 7 years ago so very justified.

Thank you for taking your personal time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at the Gaia for five days while attending a friend's wedding that was happening nearby. After an exhausting trip in from the States, and lost luggage, it was great to be welcomed with a cold drink, warm greetings, and very professional service. SInce I was traveling alone, having a staff that were so friendly really made the Gaia feel like home, and my every ask was taken care of with a smile and friendly attitude. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: HIgher rooms have a better view. I was upgraded to a suite with a private upper deck, and a smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff miss you already and are so glad you choose our Gaia Hotel & Reserve while visiting Manuel Antonio.

Thank you for taking the time to post on this TripAdvisor forum and sharing your experience with other readers. It means a lot to us.

Please consider coming back to Gaia in the future so we can give you the 5 star service you so deserve and can expect at Gaia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

After doing a few weeks of research - it seemed like a no-brainer to choose the Gaia Hotel & Reserve. My boyfriend and I are so glad we did. First class service all around.

Arrival
We were picked up at the airport (very nice). We flew Sansa Air from SJO to Quepos (highly recommended). It provides great views and takes 20 minutes opposed to a 2.5-3 hour drive. This was great because we only stayed in the Manuel Antonio area. It would probably be best to rent a car if you were visiting multiple regions in Costa Rica.

We were greeted warmly upon our welcome to the hotel with a cold towel and fresh juice. Carlos in reception was there and gave us a tour of the property and showed us our room. He was so nice, friendly and polite and let us know if we needed anything at all, to let him know. It was also great because the hotel provided free transportation from the hotel to anywhere that you needed to go from 7am - 4pm. There were a few times that we needed to go to the ATM and they took us, no questions asked. They also drove us to Manuel Antonio National Park and picked us up after we walked around and ate at a local restaurant.

The Property
The place was absolutely amazing. Luxurious and clean. It was the perfect size hotel (20 rooms). We were told that there were 20 people staying there when we were there (but I definitely didn't see 20 people). The pool (5 tier infinity pool) was amazing, great temperature and is exactly what we envisioned. There were always deck chairs available and the bartender would offer us fruit, towels and food if we needed it. We also got to see monkeys and lizards!

The Room
We stayed in the Jungle Suite and it was perfect. No need to get super fancy when there weren't many people on the property anyways. Good views, clean, awesome shower and bathroom.

The Weather
We knew we were going in the off season, but we really lucked out. The first and last day were sunny the entire time! The other days were hot and humid and would rain in the afternoon and evening, but we didn't care since we would wake up super early and just take a nap when it rained in the afternoon.

Reception/Concierge
On top of Carlos' great customer service - Fabio was extremely helpful. We wanted to figure out our schedule for our trip right away and Fabio set everything up for us! He set up Zip Lining and Canopy Tours through Midworld (highly recommend), a guide for Manuel Antonio and our spa treatments. Alcides was also great, making change for us on multiple occasions and checking us out. Overall, Fabio, Carlos and Alcides really made our trip by setting up everything for us and making us feel welcome. They were always smiling and checking up on us, and offered first class customer service. We can't say enough good things about these three!

The Restaurant - La Luna
I did not eat one thing at the restaurant that wasn't delicious. Breakfast (included) was tasty. The Eggs Benedict and Huevos Rancheros were my favorite. My boyfriend liked the Costa Rican Breakfast. Lunch and dinner were great as well. Aldo and Jorge waited on us several times and were very nice. Jeffrey the bartender took care of us several times as well because we would sit in the comfy chairs at the restaurant and just look out at the amazing view. We did the free cooking class (highly recommend doing) with the chef and Jeffrey translated and took pictures for us. The tapas and happy hour deals were nice as well. Just like reception and concierge, the Aldo, Jorge, Jeffrey and the entire restaurant staff provided top-notch service.

The Spa
I feel awful for not remember the names of the Spa Staff but they were great too! My boyfriend and I took advantage of the free 20 minute service. I got the facial and it was very nice. We also scheduled 60 minute massages - the hotel had a deal 2 for 1 so that was unexpected and nice since we had planned on doing them anyways. The massages were great, the room was nice and overall the Spa was relaxing, tranquil and offered great views as well.

The Reserve
We did the nature hike in the morning. It was the perfect way to spend your morning. Saul (spelling?) was our guide. He also happened to be our guide for Manuel Antonio and he was great! First off, we weren't sure if we even needed a guide for the national park, but we definitely did! Saul pointed out things we wouldn't have ever seen such as lizards, tree crabs, monkeys, and yes, even sloths! So, we were happy to see that he was our guide for the reserve hike. It was rainy, but still a good time - definitely more of a hike than the park was but we liked it. Saul is a great guide and it was nice to know that Gaia is dedicated to helping out the wildlife and plant-life in Costa Rica.

Overall - GO TO GAIA!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanking our recent guests for their very comprehensive review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are thrilled we exceeded your expectations and our renowned 5 star service suited your every need.

Every aspect of our guests stay is always met with genuine responsiveness from our staff and we are so very happy to have shared the magic we created at our resort.

Nothing short of spoiling our guests, we would love to count you among our list of repeat guests and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you for posting on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property back in Aug 2012. We were blown away by the beautiful property, delicious food, and most importantly amazing customer service. They have it all! I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Costa Rica.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanking our guests for having taken their personal time to write a wonderful review of our hotel.....Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are thrilled we exceeded your expectations and truly hope we get the chance to spoil you once again.

Gaia sets itself apart from other hotels in the Manuel Antonio area and are proud to have guests like yourself experience the magic we have created here.......

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Everything about Gaia is excellent. First the service is impeccable with EVERY employee helpful and always cheerful. Touches like a 24 hour bar at the infinity pool manned by the wonderful Joshua are fantastic as is the fact that the staff does expend the effort to learn who you are during your stay.
The hotel is in the jungle and has views above the trees to the ocean which are spectacular. Monkeys hang out by the restaurant and by your room so you don't even need to hike to see them. The food and drink is very good and again the service terrific, as are the spa services. The rooms a spacious and comfortable with excellent large beds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Well, we miss you already and can't wait for your return visit.

Our staff enjoyed spoiling you and giving you everything you expected and more.

Spectacular setting indeed and our staff is the very best around ,most having spent many years with us at Gaia.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This property is the best! The staff was friendly and accomodating for our every need. The rooms, which all had breathtaking views, were appointed for the guests every need. The sunsets in the restaurant were lovely. The food was superior-tuna melted in your mouth. I can't say enough nice things about the property as a whole--they tried to make you feel as this was your second home. Will go back and stay longer!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanking our recent guests for all their wonderful comments on our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

Yes, many guests do feel that Gaia is their second home and is the reason many return year after year to experience this once again.

We would love to welcome you back and look forward to spoiling you once again.

Thank you for posting your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.