We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service, location and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Sale!
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Service, location and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I can not say enough amazing things about Gaia. We travel extensively and can honestly say that Gaia has been one of the best, if not the best, resorts we have stayed at. The location is amazing and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay incredible. The restaurant has incredible food at very reasonable prices and it was a nice touch to allow us into the kitchen to make our favorite meals with the chef. Gaia provides a free shuttle service to and from the beach and also around the property and also a free tour guide for a walk through the forest where we saw sloths and monkeys. The best feature of Gaia is that it only has 20 rooms and doesn't allow children under 12 so you don't really see or hear anyone else around. The rooms are beautiful, we had a sea view and were completely surrounded by jungle which was amazing. The spa treatments are amazing with jungle views and we were told most afternoons monkeys will come up to the window. I would definitely recommend Gaia and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Our room was ocean view with a jacuzzi which I would definitely recommend. We noticed that there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanking our recent guests for having chosen Gaia for their recent holiday.

We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of our resort and thought so much of it that you wrote such wonderful words.

Your high recommendation means a lot to us and we are anxious to see you back on our property.

Indeed, Gaia is a great resort set apart from the many others from which to choose. And our 5 star service without any attitude is far beyond what our guests can imagine.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    87
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
71
577
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I were "wowed" by everyone at Hotel Gaia... From booking, transportation, concierge, to the restaurant staff. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay incredible...We travel extensively, and must say Hotel Gaia staff was the best we have ever encountered!!! The restaurant, LaLuna was amazing; breakfast, lunch, tapas, and dinner!!! Our accommodations were top notch as well. A must stay your next trip to Manuel Antonio. Pura Vida!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We re truly humbled by our recent guests review of our Gaia Hotel & reserve.

It appears we provided our 5 star service which is what we are all about. That and a no-attitude atmosphere where our guests feel very much a part of the Gaia family.

Gaia is more than a guest our expect and all that they deserve.

We welcome you back once again to experience the magic we have created here.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks at Gaia Hotel & Reserve for our honeymoon in August and I cannot recommend it enough.

The rooms are beautiful & luxurious, extremely clean with King Sized beds & amazing views. Cleaners come everyday and do an excellent job and there is a turn down service in the evening and they will leave you little chocolates which is a nice touch.

The outside areas are absolutely stunning - the hotel itself is within its own reserve set in the rainforest (they provide a free tour of the reserve which you can book to do at reception - I would recommend doing this as you will see lots of interesting wildlife)

There is an infinity pool which overlooks the rainforest and the ocean. Plenty of comfy sun loungers - the staff are very attentive and brought us complimentary ice water, coffee and fruit throughout the day. Great menu, reasonably priced for lunch & dinner too if you stay there all day. We saw plenty of wildlife even from the pool! We filmed a funny moment between a sloth and giant iguana in a tree while we were in the pool! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYsWdrPzmzs&noredirect=1

The staff overall were better than anywhere else we have stayed. All very friendly, helpful and polite. Any questions you have the reception staff will help you with- I tried my Spanish out a bit - but they all speak really good English!

Another perk of this hotel is the food (http://www.gaiahr.com/costa_rica_dining.asp). Breakfast was included with our booking - not sure if that is always the case or not but well worth doing as it is REALLY good (fruit, muffins, croissants followed by a choice from the menu - plus the Costa Rican coffee is great! More about the food in my review of at http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g309274-d1541664-Reviews-La_Luna_Restaurant_at_Gaia_Hotel_Reserve-Manuel_Antonio_National_Park_Province_of.html

Other positives include:
- Free shuttle service to anywhere you want to go in Quepos or Manuel Antonio until 4.30pm everyday
- Amazing views from La Luna restaurant/bar area which is nice (worthwhile going for sunset especially)
- Gift shop on site
- Fresh towels given out before you head to the beach
- Staff will take you around on golf carts to get from entrance to reception
- Its a really eco-friendly hotel and is involved in projects to preserve wildlife
- Spa on site

This boutique hotel has won quite a few awards I believe and it's really not hard to see why. We expected it to be nice from previous reviews and from the website photos - but it seriously went above and beyond our expectations. Costa Rica is an amazing and beautiful place anyway ~ but staying here just made our whole time even more special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We are so happy that we exceeded your expectations.

Indeed, we have won numerous awards both in Costa Rica as well as on an international level. We are very proud of what we have created here at Gaia and are so pleased to share with wonderful guests such as yourselves.

Being and adults and teens only hotel, we cater to an audience that wishes serene peace, privacy and well being and cater to honeymooners such as yourselves.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your wonderful 2 week experience with other readers on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Gaia is one of its own kind modern boutique hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights, the service is very good, and they have the best bed, black out curtain guaranteed a good night sleep. The service to take you to the park and town is exceptional, I can not give enough kudos to driver who took us everywhere, and he is there on time every single time. We loved all the details given during the hotel tour, we were even reminded to turn on the shower one way over the other because of the water pressure, we loved the pool area, attentive service, very relaxing surroundings, we loved the spa as well. Alex gave us wonderful advice to find best food to eat, and give us sincere advice on where to go surfing, snorkeling, necessary tour. You don't feel they are salesman, they are just there to truly make your experience ideal.
During the whole stay, only two things we hope to see improvement in the future, one is the size of TV, I understand we are not in Costa Rica to watch TV, I am never a big TV person to start with, however, they do offer a DVD service, we wanted to wind down the night by cuddling up and watching a move, yet the TV is so small, there is no way to watch from the bed.
So we moved to the couch, that's second area we hope to improve, I think maybe the couch is designed to drag out to become a bed, so its very un comfortable to sit on it, you feel you are slipping down all the time, we ended up converting the couch to a bed, and watch the movie there.
Overall, we had a very pleasant experience, however, if you want a more costa rican experience,this might not be the place, if you are looking for a couple's modern, sleek date experience, this will be your choice. Thank you Gaia for making our experience memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Our entire staff are so pleased that you had a memorable stay. We are delighted that all the expectations were met and we thank you for your kind recognition of our staff.

It was a true pleasure having been able to show you the wonders of Costa Rica and the magic created by the entire staff of Gaia.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manual antonio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Gaia hotel is a truly unique experience unavailable anywhere else in Manuel Antonio,
From the wonderful ride through the incredible gardens of Gaia up to the entrance to the beautiful restaurant and bar and hotel to the beautiful views and outstanding rooms, this is an exceptional experience you should not miss. Stay at Gaia on your next visit to Manuel Antonio and I know you will very happy you did. You will experience outstanding views, food, and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Our recent guest's experience is truly worth thanking them for their sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

Gaia's is indeed unique and we strive each day to provide our guests an experience unlike that of any other hotel in the entire area.

Guests say we create magic......and magic we do create with our outstanding service, fabulous surroundings in our nature reserve and exceptional cuisine in our La Luna Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We traveled around Costa Rica for 2 weeks and Manuel Antonio was the last part of our trip. We stayed at Gaia and it was a wonderful experience. When I compare my stay at Gaia to other stays at 5 star hotels, the big difference is that although this hotel is very luxurious, you still get treated as though you're family. The staff and owners are so nice and will try to do everything to make your stay perfect. I loved the style of the hotel, very modern with a unique swimming pool. Our room was very clean with everything needed. We ate a couple times at the restaurant and the food is excellent. I highly recommend the tapas. We especially enjoyed our lunch at the pool bar with some very good cocktails. But the best cocktails were at the restaurant bar, Diego makes the best margarita ever!! Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay and would love to go back!
Claudia & Emile

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are so happy that our recent guests took their personal time to writs such a wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & reserve.

Nothing pleases us more than to meet our guests every expectation and in fact exceed those expectations.

That is a unique aspect of Gaia.......more than you expect and all that you deserve.

Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights for our honeymoon. The hotel is amazing and the staff make you feel like royalty. The food in the restauant is amzing. I had some of the best fish ive ever eaten there! The pools are beautiful and you get to see lots of wildlife (monkeys, lizards etc) Aldo in the restauant was always so friendly and welcoming. The cocktails are amazing too! Really nice views from the restaurant. We went to the public beach a couple of times and to the national park. Would definately recommend staying here. the only drawback is that there isnt a lot of other restaurants within walking distance if you like to have a wander of an evening. the hotle does free shuttle but only until 4pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thoroughly excited that our recent guests chose our Gaia Hotel & Reserve for their honeymoon.

It seems all 7 days were spent in true 5 star style. And our staff already miss you and wish your return for an anniversary.

Our complimentary shuttle service to the local towns and National Park is indeed terminated at 4:30 PM but the local taxis are a mere $5-7 for local visits for other restaurants in the local area.

We are indeed flattered by all your wonderful saying about you stay with us and we thank you for sharing the magic we have created here.

Thank you for sharing your memory on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.