We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best honeymoon ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
We've got you covered!
1 review
“Best honeymoon ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Gaia for 1 week. We had a great time. All staff are really friendly. Our room was really nice. After we told staff we had a few bugs coming in from under the door they immediately attached a slide to the bottom of the door which stopped bugs coming in. Reception staff were really nice, the guy at the pool and the evening staff upstairs were so nice to us. (I wish I could remember there names). We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
And we can not wait for you to come back to us!

We now have so many repeat guests that we look forward to creating magic once again in our oasis of tranquility here at Gaia.

Thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff. They are truly what makes Gaia so special and unique.

Thank you for sharing your honeymoon experience with us and thank you for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    86
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
71
575
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A heavenly experience. This is a stunning property with great food...but most of all the personalized service is what sets it apart. Diego was a fabulous bartender, Aldo was such a kind, courteous waiter, Jorge was very personable, Joshua was extremely attentive at the pool, and Julian was lovely to see at the start of our day! We will truly miss this special place.

Room Tip: We had a suite, 231, it was great, but not sure if it was worth the extra money :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
The entire staff miss you already!

You were a joy to have in our resort for the time you were here on our property.

And the staff always appreciate the time and effort you took to mention their names on this TripAdvisor forum.

Indeed, Gaia is a magical place and we look forward to hosting you once again and give us another chance to spoil you on your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was my first trip to Costa Rica, and I had high hopes - and my expectations were met and exceeded. Costa Rica is beautiful, and Gaia Hotel is truly the best!! The hotel is set into a beautiful hill amidst magnificent grounds of foliage and wildlife. The room was huge and well done - we stayed in a suite. We had a balcony as well, which was great to hang out on and had fantastic views. The amenities of the hotel were also great - free wifi, a small but perfectly adequate fitness center, beautiful infinity pools (with a pool bar!) set into the hill with amazing views, and a fantastic spa - with more treatments offered than you can imagine. My husband and I partook in many of them and were so happy! But, the thing that really sets this hotel apart from others - besides its beauty and amenities - is the hotel staff. I have traveled around the world and have not yet encountered a group of people like the staff at Gaia. They are beyond friendly and helpful. There is a true warmth and friendliness to them, and they go out of their way to help you. Anything you want, they try to make it happen - and they do it with a smile. One of the hotel owners was also around, and he went out of his way to chat with us on several occasions. The drivers take you anywhere in town that you want to go, and they are a kind, friendly bunch. This place is truly the best - from its beauty, to the amenities, to the very special group of people who work there. I hope one day to encounter a hotel as wonderful as this one in the rest of my world travels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Our entire staff thank you for your very kind words on their service to you.

They are our best kept secret. No hotel or guest house in the entire Central Pacific coast of Costa Rica can match up to the genuine service and professionalism that the Gaia employees posses.

And as you pointed out, with a smile. They love to spoil our guests and make their entire experience as memorable as possible.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel up on a beautiful hilltop. Golf carts take you up to the lobby. A little far from Manuel Antonio park but they have shuttle service to take and pick you up. Very friendly service and lovely food. For nature lovers you can see many birds and small animals.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

Indeed, we are approximately 7 minutes from the lovely beaches of Manuel Antonio and the amazing National Park. Our shuttle service operates continuously from 8 AM until 4:30 PM at our guests convenience.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a total tony experience!
From the moment we met our driver to the moment they dropped us back at the airport, I felt completely relaxed and well looked after!
The staff was exceptional, the room fantastic, the pool terrific and the views spectacular.
We stayed in a deluxe suite with the private rooftop terrace and I would highly recommend! Room 222 was convenient to the pool and to the restaurant.
The spa treatments we received were enjoyable. The breakfast and dinner were very good, though lunch was not as delicious.
We had a later flight and were able to use the spa showers so we could enjoy the pool for the last few hours of our stay after 11am check out. Very convenient and a plus so we didn't have to sit at the airport.
The staff arranged all tours for us as well as airport departure taxes and were just all around friendly!
The only 2 cons were that the bed was creaky, though comfortable, and the room lights were a little tricky. Very slight but noticeable hitches.
Kudos to Joshua for taking care of us poolside!
Would definitely recommend this boutique hotel to anyone going to Quepos! We had a lovely stay and I thank the staff for their terrific service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We like winning Tony's!

Thank you so much for your kind review. We have since looked into the bed issue and have it resolved. Thank you for pointing that out to us.

We hope that you may become one of our repeat guests as we would love to be able to spoil you once again.

Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed at the Gaia for one night, but it was absolutely heavenly! The hotel is well maintained and set up very nicely with suspended wooden walkways from one building to another. The pool areas are magnificent and the pool bartender is extremely friendly. Andres, who checked us in, was also great -offering suggestions on things to do and see. Aldo in the restaurant was extremely helpful and even brought me passion fruit to see and try when I asked about the passion fruit sorbet that they served as a palette cleanser. All of the food throughout the property was extremely good. I also got up early one day to do the short guided tor of the preserve. It's a very nice hour long hike and the guide was quite knowledgeable.

We used the shuttle service to go to the beach (Mary's has umbrellas and chairs for rent) and to go into the Park. If you do go to the Park and want to go to the beach go past Playa del Manuel Antonio to Playa de Espadrilla towards the exit. It's much quieter and prettier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your short stay with us.

Thank you for your words describing our hotel and the neighboring attractions. All in all, there are 80 different activities to do in and around the Manuel Antonio area and everyone can find something special to make their visit to the area very memorable.

We like other readers appreciate your use of this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place is a well oiled machine, my friends. From the moment we arrived, and until check out, the staff was very professional and hard at work. Shout out to Fabio for being a wonderful concierge. The wait staff: Aldo, Glen, Yadier, Mario, and Julian. Joshua at the pool, and Diego holding down the fort at the bar. We had a great time talking and joking around with them. It was nice to see that not only are they professional but they are fun as well. Breakfast was a wonderful way to start our day. This hardy meal was enough to sustain all of our excursions. We stayed in one of their suites. Everything was clean and in working order. We reserved a couples chocolate massage, which was total bliss! The views at the restaurant and pool are amazing. They provide a free shuttle service to the park entrance, and into the nearby town until 4pm. For dinner, you will have to take a taxi if you want to go out. We ate dinner one night at Gaia, and it was really good. We just prefer going out and trying local restaurants. We had a perfect stay, and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you.....Thank you!

We are so thrilled your stay with us was most enjoyable. Our staff really enjoyed taking care of you and spoiling you.
Your kind words go a long way with us and we would love to see you again so we can continue our goal of making your experience here at Gaia truly memorable.

Let us spoil you and share the magic that has been created !!

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.