We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Sale!
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Beautiful place and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel up on a beautiful hilltop. Golf carts take you up to the lobby. A little far from Manuel Antonio park but they have shuttle service to take and pick you up. Very friendly service and lovely food. For nature lovers you can see many birds and small animals.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

Indeed, we are approximately 7 minutes from the lovely beaches of Manuel Antonio and the amazing National Park. Our shuttle service operates continuously from 8 AM until 4:30 PM at our guests convenience.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    88
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
71
578
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a total tony experience!
From the moment we met our driver to the moment they dropped us back at the airport, I felt completely relaxed and well looked after!
The staff was exceptional, the room fantastic, the pool terrific and the views spectacular.
We stayed in a deluxe suite with the private rooftop terrace and I would highly recommend! Room 222 was convenient to the pool and to the restaurant.
The spa treatments we received were enjoyable. The breakfast and dinner were very good, though lunch was not as delicious.
We had a later flight and were able to use the spa showers so we could enjoy the pool for the last few hours of our stay after 11am check out. Very convenient and a plus so we didn't have to sit at the airport.
The staff arranged all tours for us as well as airport departure taxes and were just all around friendly!
The only 2 cons were that the bed was creaky, though comfortable, and the room lights were a little tricky. Very slight but noticeable hitches.
Kudos to Joshua for taking care of us poolside!
Would definitely recommend this boutique hotel to anyone going to Quepos! We had a lovely stay and I thank the staff for their terrific service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We like winning Tony's!

Thank you so much for your kind review. We have since looked into the bed issue and have it resolved. Thank you for pointing that out to us.

We hope that you may become one of our repeat guests as we would love to be able to spoil you once again.

Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed at the Gaia for one night, but it was absolutely heavenly! The hotel is well maintained and set up very nicely with suspended wooden walkways from one building to another. The pool areas are magnificent and the pool bartender is extremely friendly. Andres, who checked us in, was also great -offering suggestions on things to do and see. Aldo in the restaurant was extremely helpful and even brought me passion fruit to see and try when I asked about the passion fruit sorbet that they served as a palette cleanser. All of the food throughout the property was extremely good. I also got up early one day to do the short guided tor of the preserve. It's a very nice hour long hike and the guide was quite knowledgeable.

We used the shuttle service to go to the beach (Mary's has umbrellas and chairs for rent) and to go into the Park. If you do go to the Park and want to go to the beach go past Playa del Manuel Antonio to Playa de Espadrilla towards the exit. It's much quieter and prettier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your short stay with us.

Thank you for your words describing our hotel and the neighboring attractions. All in all, there are 80 different activities to do in and around the Manuel Antonio area and everyone can find something special to make their visit to the area very memorable.

We like other readers appreciate your use of this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place is a well oiled machine, my friends. From the moment we arrived, and until check out, the staff was very professional and hard at work. Shout out to Fabio for being a wonderful concierge. The wait staff: Aldo, Glen, Yadier, Mario, and Julian. Joshua at the pool, and Diego holding down the fort at the bar. We had a great time talking and joking around with them. It was nice to see that not only are they professional but they are fun as well. Breakfast was a wonderful way to start our day. This hardy meal was enough to sustain all of our excursions. We stayed in one of their suites. Everything was clean and in working order. We reserved a couples chocolate massage, which was total bliss! The views at the restaurant and pool are amazing. They provide a free shuttle service to the park entrance, and into the nearby town until 4pm. For dinner, you will have to take a taxi if you want to go out. We ate dinner one night at Gaia, and it was really good. We just prefer going out and trying local restaurants. We had a perfect stay, and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you.....Thank you!

We are so thrilled your stay with us was most enjoyable. Our staff really enjoyed taking care of you and spoiling you.
Your kind words go a long way with us and we would love to see you again so we can continue our goal of making your experience here at Gaia truly memorable.

Let us spoil you and share the magic that has been created !!

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Everything was amazing here from the staff's attentiveness and friendliness, to the gorgeous airy rooms, to the delicious food, to the wide variety of fantastic spa treatments!
We will definitely be back again and recommend it as *the* place to stay to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Our recent guests were spot on with their lovely comments on Gaia.

Thank you for spending time with us and we are certainly looking forward to your return visit. We have a long list of return guests and would love to count you among this distinguished list.

Your comments are helpful to others reading on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place is a fantastic adult luxury getway near Manuel Antonio. Here are the highlights:

*Excellent, safe location. Very short drive to Manuel Antonio. I was originally planning to stay at the lodge that is on the property - no need. The park is very very small and is easily explored in one day.
*Service was top top notch. The staff speaks perfect English and is proud to be an American tourist destination. Not stuffy, warm and comfortable but they encouraged you to utilize them. Why shouldn't you?
*You could choose to go out for dinner in town. Do yourself a favor - take heed of the other reviews and don't bother. Gaia's food is by far the best thing around. We had an ok meal at Raphael's Terrazo on our last night but as other reviewers said, we wished we would have stayed on property.
*Yes, splurge on the Jungle Suite. Wholly cow. It was the best room I've ever stayed in anywhere. The pictures of the property just don't capture it. I tried to capture my own but the way the property is set on the hillside makes it hard. Don't bother, just take it all in with your eyes and live it. Can you say "rooftop patio with double bed lounger and outdoor shower with pacific and jungle view and day break birding at your personal breakfast table over a pot of Costa Rican coffee?" I can.
*Two words - Juan Carlos. Go to the spa, schedule an appointment with him. I did. Then I went back the next day. And again the next day. He was a highlight of my whole trip. I will forever be spoiled and may never get a massage again. It wasn't just a massage. It was a spiritual experience. Truly gifted human who has found his purpose in life. WOW.
*One word - ceviche. Get it everyday because you can. Either the snapper or the mahi, or both. Yes. Yes.
*Don't panic if you don't want to get up for the tour of the "private reserve" on the property. You didn't miss anything.
*Breakfast - tico especial. Everyday. Yes.
This was WAY more than anyone needs to take in Costa Rica. We stayed here for three nights between an organic farm lodge and Osa Peninsula. Perfect. Didn't need that much luxury, but loved every second of it. There is a limited amount to do on the property which is exactly what you want, isn't it?
TIP: National Park is closed on Mondays. Pool day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are thrilled and excited that you loved our property. It appears we did the right thing by our recent guests.
Thank you for pointing out all of the wonderful things you experienced here between our food, spa and staff.
Our staff is well trained in their specific roles on the property and proud of their work ethic.
At Gaia, you can do it all or as you mentioned, nothing. Our infinity pools are just perfect for relaxing and spending a half or full day reading and having food and refreshments served by their personal lounge chairs and tables.
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I will keep this short and sweet- believe every good thing said about Gaia on here! Everything was perfect- the place is beautiful, everyone is beyond helpful (special shout out to Joshua, Aldo and Jose!), the food is fantastic, the spa is phenomenal, the pool is wonderful- I am embarassed that I am now gushing. We had high expectations based on other reviews and Gaia beat them all. Although I would say the hotel is mostly catered to couples, my sister and I traveled with my mother and had a blast! They will take care of everything and make sure your trip to Manuel Antonio is as great as our was!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much. We really appreciate your glowing comments on our resort.

Indeed, Gaia Hotel & Reserve is an adults and teens only property and we cater to a wide variety of guests. Whether single, couple, honeymoon, birthday, anniversary or just wanting to be spoiled, Gaia is the place to come.

We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. We get so many return guests year after year we would love to count you among our distinguished return guests.

Thank you for sharing your personal comments on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.