We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This review will not do it justice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Save Saved
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE $$$ NOW
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This review will not do it justice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I will keep this short and sweet- believe every good thing said about Gaia on here! Everything was perfect- the place is beautiful, everyone is beyond helpful (special shout out to Joshua, Aldo and Jose!), the food is fantastic, the spa is phenomenal, the pool is wonderful- I am embarassed that I am now gushing. We had high expectations based on other reviews and Gaia beat them all. Although I would say the hotel is mostly catered to couples, my sister and I traveled with my mother and had a blast! They will take care of everything and make sure your trip to Manuel Antonio is as great as our was!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much. We really appreciate your glowing comments on our resort.

Indeed, Gaia Hotel & Reserve is an adults and teens only property and we cater to a wide variety of guests. Whether single, couple, honeymoon, birthday, anniversary or just wanting to be spoiled, Gaia is the place to come.

We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. We get so many return guests year after year we would love to count you among our distinguished return guests.

Thank you for sharing your personal comments on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    79
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
67
545
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As so many others have said, the hotel is in an amazing location, with wonderful views, rooms, pools, spa services, etc. What really set it apart for me was the staff. Joshua at the pool, Diego at the bar, all the waiters, the massage therapists at the spa, the drivers--everyone was genuinely friendly and attentive. It was a very warm atmosphere that we really appreciated, and seemed very representative of the country as a whole. It really enhanced our experience.

My one suggestion would be to add a little more interest to the menu. It was a bit generic--it seems like a setting that unique could offer equally interesting dishes. But that's a small quibble--we loved the hotel, and would absolutely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for acknowledging our wonderful staff.

At Gaia Hotel & Reserve our staff are our family with each and everyone of them individual and at the same time embraced in the culture that is unique to Costa Rica.

They know how to please our guests with their suggestions and knowledge of Costa Rica. And they achieve this while still respecting our guests privacy.

Thank you for your suggestion on our menu. We are constantly seeking feedback from our guests on recommendations and we appreciate you taking the time to help us out.

Thank you for sharing your overall wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I spent our last 2 nights of our 9 nights in Costa Rica at Gaia and wish it could have been longer. It was the perfect way to end our trip. The staff is outstanding - warm, welcoming, very well trained and provided top notch service! Our room was beautiful, clean and relaxing. The food at La Luna was the best we had in Costa Rica. And, I definitely recommend the spa treatments - we did both the chocolate massage, mini facial and algae wrap and all were incredible. I can't recommend this hotel enough. They do such a great job you don't even want to leave the property. Spend time in the tiered infinity pool with a cocktail and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, Thank You for your kind review of our resort.

We love to spoil and pamper our guests and we are so pleased that we were able to achieve that goal with you and your husband.

Gaia is indeed a special place created out of love of nature and love of treating guests far beyond their expectations.

Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

From the time you arrive and are greeted to the time you check out, Gaia offers an excellent experience: Clean, well-designed facilities, incredible staff, high quality food, and a nice location. The price is definitely fair for the experience, and the service would have a 6th star if it were up to me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Our entire staff would like to thank you for your very kind review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We truly loved sharing our property with you and are thrilled your experience was glowing.

Indeed, from the moment our guests arrive on our property to the time they leave, we tend to spoil them in a manner that is truly deserving.

Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Gaia! It is a beautiful property, but what makes it special are the people. The customer service and attention to guests was great. The restaurant was so delicious it was hard to explore other places to eat in Quepos! And, of course, the staff was super friendly - Diego, the bartender, especially was fantastic. So were the rest of the staff! Gaia also offered guests a very convenient shuttle for guests that wanted to explore the city - Alex, our driver, was great and went out of his way each time to take us where we wanted to go and suggest places for us to visit.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Costa Rica!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are very pleased that you chose to spend your vacation time with us here at Gaia and you received such wonderful attention and service which you certainly deserved.

We strive to provide service, then some additional service which is all topped off by service above and beyond our guests expectations.

After all, we are in the hospitality business and that translates into providing our guests with more than they expect and all that they deserve.

Thank you for posting your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is my fourth trip to Costa Rica and after spending 4 nights in Bocas Del Toro on a crazy island adventure (read: exhausted, unshaven, probably a little stinky), we were blown away by the hospitality, service, and attention to details Gaia offered my girlfriend and I.

Like other reviewers have said, I tend to travel with the intention of getting engrossed in the local culture and food. The hotel's main dining is on par -- if not better -- than most restaurants in the area. I was also really impressed by the owners commitment to preserving Costa Rica's beauty. Unlike many resorts up the northern coast, Gaia has committed 12 or their 14 acres to preservation. Wow, pretty much unheard of in my experiences.

If you want a 5-star experience without the pretentiousness usually associated with it, I can't recommend GAIA enough. Hat tip to Andres, our personal concierge, the dining staff and chef, and owners who maintain such a great culture and experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.

We take our commitment to sustainability and land preservation very seriously. Indeed, we have our nature reserve set aside for our guests to enjoy. This is not open to the public.
We provide complimentary tours each morning and during the day our guests are welcome to trek the reserve.
You will come across various species of monkey's as well as sloths, lizards and numerous species of birds. We dare not interrupt this natural corridor for migration of our unique wildlife.
It us truly special and unique.

Please come back to experience once again the magic we have created here at Gaia. And thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Read about this place years ago in Conde Nast Magazine, kept it in the back of my head until the day came when we would finally make it to Costa Rica, it completely met all my expectations and I would stay here again in a red-hot minute.

The hotel sits high on a hilltop, on it's own private multi-acre reserve, which guests are allowed to privately tour - highly recommended! Architecture of the buildings and layout of the grounds are unique and add to the charm. Secluded, secure, and private, yet close to multiple dining & entertainment options at the bottom of the hill. The room was extremely large, well laid out, with a European flair (the original owners were Italian and had a clear vision for their style...) Huge bathroom, shower could comfortably fit 8 people, large common area in the room. Very quite & peaceful, never once heard a neighbor, bedding was 1st rate. Restaurant was very very good, probably some of the best meals we had in a month in Costa Rica. Very reasonably priced drinks & tapas available during 'happy hour.' Service was impeccable.

Bottom line - I would not even consider staying somewhere else if we're ever back in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Wonderful.....!! We are very pleased our recent guests were over the top about our service, location, cuisine, staff and personal amenities.

The experience of staying at Gaia is more than you expect and all that you deserve. Please come back soon.

And we are very happy you found us on the feature article written about us in Conde Naste.

Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.