We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to Be Pampered!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Save Saved
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE $$$ NOW
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Prepare to Be Pampered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I just returned from a week-long visit to Gaia with my wife and two daughters (21 and 14 years). We have nothing but praise about the staff and facility. On arrival, we were greeted by staff and one of the owners while being welcomed with a fresh, cold fruit drink and ice cold towel. The facility is fabulous and the hilltop location affords a wonderful view of the Pacific Ocean, the rainforest and the mountains. The sunsets are incredible. We saw wildlife at the hotel (monkeys, sloths, wild parakeets, multiple birds, iguanas. It is close to the beach (less than 10 min), the Manuel Antonio Park where you can see incredible wildlife close up and amazing beaches, and Quepos where you can have dinner, go shopping, or go to the market. Zip lining, canyoneering, white water rafting, and more is nearby and can be arranged with a simple phone call to your personal concierge. Fabio, our concierge was very accommodating. He knew us by name and knew our itinerary by heart. Changes could be made with a simple word or phone call. There are only 20 rooms, so it is not for young children. Our teenager and 21 year old both were very pleased with the entire Gaia experience. The spa is first-rate. If we return to the Manuel Antonio area in the future, we will definitely stay at Gaia!!

Room Tip: The villa has 3 floors, 2 balconies, 2 large bedrooms, and its own reflecting pool. I have never ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are thrilled that we were able to pamper our recent guests and spoil them.

Coming to Gaia is leaving all the nonsense of the outside world behind and entering into a Paradise that is second to none. We do indeed have the best staff that will anticipate you revery need and no request is too onerous. Our staff is our best kept secret.

Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum with other readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    80
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
68
547
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My 15yr old daughter and I, along with another family just came back from staying at the Gaia Hotel. This is a first class hotel! The staff is amazing. The owners set the tone who are present and engaging! They will take care of your every need. This hotel pays attention to every detail. Shout out to Andreas our personal concierge. The location is great, the restaurant is 5*. No need to look any further. Stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanking our recent guest for their review of our Gaia hotel & reserve.
We are thrilled that we met your every expectation......and a bit beyond?

Please visit us again so we can spoil you again and deliver to you a Paradise found!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Pura Vida! There's not much more I could say that has not already been said about Gaia, but I will say that I was overwhelmed by how accommodating they were to my boyfriend, who is on crutches. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the owner who told us that anything we needed or if my bf need any help, they were there for us. I would give the service more than 5 stars if I could! From the tours we went on to the dinners at the hotel, it was a vacation from heaven. We really enjoyed the boat tour and riding the ATV's. Also, we had a private tour of Manuel Antonio rainforest and our guide was incredible. The food was amazing also! The daily breakfast (included in the price) was 5 star everyday. The only thing I will warn is that Costa Rica, particularly Manuel Antonio, is not cheap, but the quality we received was worth the price. The service at this hotel is truly unmatched anywhere. I would go back in a heartbeat and will always be grateful for the incredible week we spent at Gaia. You need to go!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
The entire staff at Gaia is so happy your holiday with us was memorable.

Thank you for your kind comments on our service and staff helpfulness. We take special care with each of our guests and welcome them back with open arms.

Having been now open for 6.5 years, we have numerous guests who return year after year and send their friends and family to experience the magic of Gaia and what we have created here.

We would love to count you and your boyfriend among those guests who return to us once again.

Your comments on this TripAdvisor forum and very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just returned from a four night visit here and are very sad to be back in reality. The service here was amazing, and all the extras they throw in just made it fantastic. The mini-spa session was wonderful, and the breakfasts were pretty good. The shuttles were very convenient and useful to go to the beach or to downtown quepos. We saw a sloth and squirrel monkeys on the morning hike through the resort's protected area. The sunsets were beautiful from almost any place in the hotel area. The front desk staff went above and beyond to make everything go smoothly. On the downside, we ate at the restaurant several times and it was good, but not necessarily a great value. The fitness center really only has a few machines. But we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We would very much love to see you back at Gaia. Thank you so much for spending your precious holiday with us.

As you pointed out, service is our best kept secret. We pride ourselves on providing our guests more than they expect and all that they deserve.

Providing a complimentary spa service to each and every guest during their stay is just one of the many surprises that await our guests.

Thank you for coming to Gaia and thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We can't say enough good things about Gaia. It's a bit more money but it's worth it. The staff is great and helped us with everything. They made recommendations about dinner, and things to do. They have a free shuttel to town, the beach and the National Park, otherwise they would arrange a taxi. You could spend you're whole vacation at Gaia if you wanted, the restaurant was fantastic, lots of selections and very good. Live music every night. Great views. We almost always had the pools to ourselves, and when there were other people there is plenty of room. It's hard to get a feel for this place from the pictures, but it's just great. This is the place the locals want to work because it is so well run. The spa is small, but still a full set of treaments. The tour of their Reserve as fun and we say a sloth and monkeys. Our family of 4 went for a week, and we all made friends with the staff. Everyone speaks very good english and would always help us with our spanish. Everything is super clean. Again, spend the extra $$ and stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanking our recent guests for their wonderful review of our resort.

We are thrilled you had such a good time. Quite unique, Gaia offers special amenities not found in other hotels in the area. 5 star service starts from the moment you enter our property. From there, the service follows service followed by more service.

We understand what needs to be done to make a guest happy. And we understand that our guests are here for a fairly short stay and we want to make that stay as memorable as possible.

Thank you for sharing and taking your personal time to comment here on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at Gaia for 3 nights in a Jungle View Suite. We had a fabulous time! The hotel is beautiful, sitting on top of the rainforest with fabulous views, especially from the onsite bar and restaurant, La Luna. The food was delicious and Josh, our bartender, was so friendly and efficient. They had live music every evening we were there which really added to the ambience. They assign you a personal concierge when you arrive who takes care of your every need 24/7. Ours was Jose, and he was great. He booked all of our excursions and my spa treatment and was always pleasant and helpful. We loved the tiered pools and they really cooled you off during the heat of the day. They are actually open 24 hours and there is a phone at the pool bar which you can use to order drinks at any time even when the pool bartender isn't officially on duty. The included breakfast is delightful with fresh fruits, fresh juices, coffee, breads and a selection of main courses ranging from Eggs Benedict to Belgian waffles or even traditional Costa Rican fare. Can't say enough good things about this wonderful place. Excellent customer service, very friendly and welcoming, great rooms and food, and a magnificent view. What more could one ask for? We will be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
My thanks to our recent guests who recognized all that we do at Gaia to make our guests experience truly wonderful.

24 hour service is what we do. Recognizing that our guests are here for a short time, we want to make sure every hour is spent being pampered.

Thank you for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum. And please, we look forward to welcoming you back once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

At the last minute, we changed our plan and decided to check our Manuel Antonio. After having a mixed experience at our last hotel, we decided to splurge. And it's worth it. You park the car at the base of a hill, and you are taken by golf cart to the resort. After a trip uphill, you are greeted by wonderful check in staff and taken on a tour of the premises. The pool is the best part - 5 levels, waterfalls, floaty chairs, monkeys, views. And they make a mean smoothie at the pool bar. The restaurant is excellent as well, with views to the ocean over the entire Manuel Antonio area. The rooms are large and comfortable, with down pillows and comforters. This place is well worth the money. We didn't take a tour of the onsite preserve, but I assume that would be great as well.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
The Wow factor indeed!

We are thrilled you had such a great time at our Gaia hotel. Thank you for deciding to come and spend some time with us. We always love to spoil our guests with the unexpected.

At Gaia, it's more than you expect and all that you deserve.

Please do come back and visit us. And thank you for sharing your experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.