We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In one single word: Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE 50% NOW
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
“In one single word: Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

All the service is simply excellent but the beautiful installations are incredible awesome! You feel all the comfort in the middle of the forest. It has been one of the most wonderful experiences in my whole life. If you want to rest, enjoy of the real food and get a very good experience GAIA has everything for it. For sure I will be back. I do not want to die before I experience such a good trip

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
We are over the top pleased that you had such a wonderful time at Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

Our guests can do everything from zip line tours to kayak tours to mangrove tours to simply resting and doing nothing by one of our 3 tiered infinity pools.

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    85
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
70
569
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've just got back home from our trip to Costa Rica where we spent 10 nights at Gaia

This hotel has lots of potential but unfortunately our experience did not meet the very high expectations we had from reading reviews on trip advisor

The good stuff
Location and setting is stunning. There are amazing views everywhere and one of our favourite things every day was to watch the beautiful sunset over the ocean

Staff were very friendly, and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Special call outs to Fabio, Andres and Jose at the front desk.

Dining - the breakfasts were great. We had a couple of dinners at the restaurant and both were excellent, especially the fresh fish. The tapas were also great - the ceviche is to die for!

Spa - The spa was AMAZING - we had 2 couples massages and one pedicure between us - which were all just fantastic



The not so good stuff

Damp/ mould - there is a serious damp problem in one of the rooms we stayed in. The room smelled pretty strongly of mould, and there were patches of damp on some of the walls. Unpacking our things at home - they all reek of this mouldy smell - and that's not even taking into account the health risks

Bathrooms - The bathrooms were poorly designed, and the workmanship in some cases was poor. For example, rather than having standard shower screens (like you get in Europe), they had some custom made poorly fitted screens, which really lowered the tone. We upgraded to a deluxe suite for 4 nights of our stay, and the jacuzzi in our bathroom was plasticky / had seen better days, with bits of mildew in places, and we did not feel very comfortable sitting in it as a result!

Other issues
- we moved room twice (our choice, because we decided on a last minute upgrade) and each time we were told that our luggage had been moved, but when we got to the room it wasn't there
- the room key cards kept breaking. If they lasted more than 24 days we were very lucky!! This was a little annoying especially as the front desk is a bit of a trek away
- constant phone calls - we kept being disturbed by phone calls at slightly odd times - this was a little annoying
- whilst the breakfasts in the restaurant were great - we felt they were a bit stingy with the fruit. We kept having to ask for more if we wanted it, and got bored of doing that after a while
- service in restaurant was a bit patchy at times, even when very few tables were occupied
- the bed in one of the rooms we stayed in (the deluxe suite) was pretty saggy in the middle. We asked for this to be fixed and they did something to make it better, but it still wasn't great.
- We had a private roof top terrace in our deluxe suite, and wanted to use it one evening. However, no one could figure out how to turn the lights on (despite best efforts from all concerned) - it seems that the light switches had been removed despite there being lights there.


All in all, we enjoyed our trip very much, but our experience at Gaia did not live up to expectations/ the awards etc. Perhaps if we had stayed when the property was newer we would have had a better experience.

Room Tip: 242 (ocean view studio) has a serious mould / damp problem 322 (deluxe studio) has a saggy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I must say we are very surprised and disappointed in some of the aspects of our recent guests review of our hotel.
The design of our bathrooms was indeed conceived from a European design firm and we have won numerous awards for the final product. There are several designs implemented depending on the particular room and we have never heard of comments that were anything short of glowing.

And we urge our guests to please keep the windows and doors to the rooms completely closed. Otherwise, being in the rainforest, it is natural that a bit of mildew would develop. Our state of the art air conditioning system on the property was specially selected to combat any moisture in the rooms but this can only be achieved with the windows in the closed position.

We appreciate your very kind words on our staff and general ambiance of the hotel.

And we were happy to have given you complimentary upgrades at no additional charge when we had an empty room available.

Thank you for coming to Gaia and writing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have nothing but amazing things to say about the hotel rooms, amenities, food, service and staff. The hotel villa had a rooftop deck and gorgeous views of the Pacific. This five-star hotel had the freshest food that we ate at the bar, restaurant, poolside and even on our private rooftop. The service was amazing, and every staff member took the time to learn the names of my entire family. At the bar, Josh and the waitstaff served unique cocktails and tapas delights before dinner. The spa has stress relieving services, I highly recommend any of the massages, body wraps and scrubs. If you try reflexology or reiki, you must ask for Juan Carlos! You can do as much or as little as you want, there are countless excursions you can go on if you choose, and your personal hotel concierge will book everything for you. Our concierge, Andres, was amazing and was so helpful to me and my family. This exclusive boutique hotel only has 20 rooms and I believe the minimum age is 13 or 14. It was the most peaceful and lush vacation I have ever taken.

Room Tip: If you have more than two people, book a Villa. You can shower in the jongle or soak in your massiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Your experience at Gaia was what we wanted for you and your family. Unparallelled..!!

Our food, rooms, service, spa, pool and staff are indeed 5 star and we do everything in our power to ensure our guests magical experience.

Thank you for making mention by name some of our outstanding staff members. They are truly special to us.

And thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We did a couple aloe vera wrap. The spa is eco-friendly, so we were wrapped in banana leaves. We went after the sunset two days before the full moon. We had a great view from our wrap room which was scented well with an organic spray and candle lit. The aloe vera wrap was perfect for our sun kissed skin. Great staff and ambience. I especially liked the art work, as well as the placement at the top of the hill of the reserve. They offered us tea and water, and didn't rush us. Easy to get to, and they included a shuttle from our hotel.

Only downside, no locker room so kind of awkward to store clothes in a locker.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments on our Terra Spa at Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are indeed a world class spa with 6 treatment rooms and we offer a wide variety spa treatments and a hair and nails salon.

For outside guests, we offer complimentary a round trip chauffeur service from other hotels and villas.

Some of our therapists have been trained around the world and have the best energy in the surrounding area.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I recently went to Manuel Antonio for a girls trip (3 women) and we stayed the entire time at Gaia Resort. We wanted a trip that was relaxing with some activities. We stayed February 6th - 11th (5 nights) and loved every minute of our stay. None of us were ready to leave and we all wished we had a couple of more days to enjoy Costa Rica and Gaia Resort. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and attentive and the resort was beautiful. We only ate a few meals off property. The restaurant was delicious and everything was freshly made. Our favorite part of the day was happy hour: watching the sunset with 2 for 1 drinks, tapas and live music in the restaurant. The spa was also wonderful. My friend and I booked a couples package at the spa because it was such a great deal :-) Our activities included: surf lessons, mangrove kayak tour, canopy zip line with Mid World and a short guided hike/tour of the Gaia Reserve. We relaxed at the pool almost everyday, even if only for an hour or two. Anything we needed, the staff at Gaia provided: sunscreen, bug spray, CDs, books...they even booked all of our activities for us and we just paid for everything when we checked out. I will definitely be coming back to Gaia.

Room Tip: 2 of us stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with roof terrace. It was huge. It would be great for 2 couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Truly wonderful!! We are so happy you all three enjoyed your time with us.

And yes, there are a huge variety of activities in the surrounding area , all of which the tour company comes to the Gaia property and delivers you back after an eventful day. All these tours which we recommend have been vetted either by management or the owners themselves. They have the highest of credentials and insurance protection. So important!

Alternative? Yes, just relax in the pool and do absolutely nothing other than read a great novel and watch the most amazing sunset known to mankind.

Thank you for sharing the magic we have created here and we very much look forward to seeing all three of you in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New York
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing hotel. The service is extraordinary. The restaurant fabulous. We were there five nights and ate most meals at the restaurant and were never bored or disappointed in the least. Every night there is live music. If you want to go to the beach (which is lovely ) or the Park (which is usually too crowded but full of great wildlife) they will take you right down and pick you up whenever you want. The hotel is on its own reserve and there are monkeys and lovely birds all around. The spa is heavenly. We really felt pampered and totally relaxed here. Pura Vida!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We so enjoyed your stay with us. What fun!!

Your very kind words mean a lot to our staff. Our service is something we truly want to exemplify here at Gaia and we thank you for noticing our level of accomplishment.

We look forward to seeing you once again here on our beautiful oasis of tranquility.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I just left an amazing 4 night stay at Gaia. We had booked the special Spa package that included an upgraded room (suite with private roof top), $100 food credit, and $500 spa credit. The spa was so reasonably priced ($150 for a 60min couples massage) that we struggled to use the whole credit (3 one hour couples massages plus a 30minute couples foot massage during only 4 days). I do not usually eat at hotel restaurants (prefer to get off property and explore local restaurants) but the restaurant was so good that we ate every dinner there (as well as all breakfasts and most lunches). The entire staff was amazingly friendly and most addressed us by name. The 3 owners (all USA residents) take turns looking after the hotel and at least one was present at all times greeting guests and going table to table in the restaurant). The sunset is magical (5:45pm every night year round we were told) and can be really enjoyed from the hotel restaurant with 2X1 Happy Hour cocktails and awesome very inexpensive tapas/small plates. The hotel is only 20 rooms and is very relaxing. Some people may prefer to stay at one of the many hotels directly on the ocean (Gaia is several miles away) but the Gaia property is very beautiful (with distant views of the ocean)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Your review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve is nothing short of amazing and we truly thank you for taking the time to write your personal thoughts and observations.

We intend to create magic here each and every day and make sure that our guests are treated with a level of service never before experienced.

Thank you for sharing your time with us here and thank you for noting our location for sunsets and excellent cuisine.

We provide each guest with more than they expect and certainly all that they deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.