We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Hotel.. Amazing Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
We've got you covered!
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really Great Hotel.. Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I just left an amazing 4 night stay at Gaia. We had booked the special Spa package that included an upgraded room (suite with private roof top), $100 food credit, and $500 spa credit. The spa was so reasonably priced ($150 for a 60min couples massage) that we struggled to use the whole credit (3 one hour couples massages plus a 30minute couples foot massage during only 4 days). I do not usually eat at hotel restaurants (prefer to get off property and explore local restaurants) but the restaurant was so good that we ate every dinner there (as well as all breakfasts and most lunches). The entire staff was amazingly friendly and most addressed us by name. The 3 owners (all USA residents) take turns looking after the hotel and at least one was present at all times greeting guests and going table to table in the restaurant). The sunset is magical (5:45pm every night year round we were told) and can be really enjoyed from the hotel restaurant with 2X1 Happy Hour cocktails and awesome very inexpensive tapas/small plates. The hotel is only 20 rooms and is very relaxing. Some people may prefer to stay at one of the many hotels directly on the ocean (Gaia is several miles away) but the Gaia property is very beautiful (with distant views of the ocean)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Your review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve is nothing short of amazing and we truly thank you for taking the time to write your personal thoughts and observations.

We intend to create magic here each and every day and make sure that our guests are treated with a level of service never before experienced.

Thank you for sharing your time with us here and thank you for noting our location for sunsets and excellent cuisine.

We provide each guest with more than they expect and certainly all that they deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    86
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
71
576
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Gaia is truly paradise. We were in a Studio room for 4 nights and a suite for the last 2 nights. Both rooms were beautiful. The studio is much smaller but is laid out well, so we loved both types of rooms. The view from the Gaia is unparalleled. The hotel itself meshes flawlessly with the jungle. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast before heading out to explore for the day. Upon arriving back at the hotel in the late afternoon, we would immediately go to one of the pools. We were always able to find one of the pools that we could swim in alone. The way the hotel is laid out allows guests complete privacy if you want it. Yader was our sundown bartender and was excellent. The sunset is incredible from any area of the hotel. We had ceviche and seared tuna off the tapas menu which was delicious. We tried many excellent surrounding restaurants and decided to have dinner onsite at La Luna for Valentine's Day. It was easily one of the best meals we have had anywhere, ever. We felt like all we had to do was wish for things and they happened. The staff couldn't do enough to make sure every detail of our trip went perfectly. Fabio was always in the office, smiling and eager to apply his knowledge of the area or make phone calls for our adventures. The golf cart would show up in minutes of our asking to take us down the hill and towels were waiting on us to go to the beach. I have travelled all over the world and this hotel ranks at the top of my list. If you are coming to this area, don't hesitate to stay at the Gaia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful and kind review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

And we are thrilled that you choose to stay with us to celebrate your wedding anniversary.

You are quite right about our service as we make a genuine effort each day to make sure our guests are treated as a member of our family. Nothing is too difficult or out of the ordinary for our concierges to figure out for our guests.
Service is the number one priority here at Gaia and we are pleased that you both recognized the level of attention that you received and deserved.

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Gaia is a unique property situated into a hillside and surrounded by tons of trees and greenery. Combine this serene environment with a very friendly hotel staff and you are set up for some serious relaxation. We were assigned a concierge, who will do as much or as little for you as you need. Our concierge made sure we had everything we needed, including reservations for excursions, without being overbearing or intrusive. We had a suite, which was spacious, clean, and well appointed. The free wi-fi and hotel shuttle to the beach were very welcome amenities, as well. Every member of the staff, including a few of the owners, made us feel so welcome throughout our entire stay. We tend to be low maintenance travelers, but I have no doubt the staff here would have accommodated just about any request we threw their way. Breakfast was included, and we were so happy it was not buffet! It's a lovely a la carte menu, and everything we tried was delicious. I'm going to have to learn to replicate the Costa Rican Breakfast at home!

We saw several other hotels in the area near Manuel Antonio, and Gaia was by far the nicest one we saw. If we find ourselves in this part of Costa Rica again, we would not hesitate to stay at the Gaia again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We do indeed hope you return to Gaia Hotel & Reserve. We have numerous guests that return year after year, having now been opened 6.5 years.

We love to spoil our guests and provide amenities like complimentary wifi, chauffeur service to the town and beaches, fruit service at the pool, daily nature walks in our private reserve etc.

And our included breakfast is a full menu service from which to choose and always with fresh juices, pastries, fruits, coffee, tea added.

Thank you for posting on this TripAddvisor forum and we look forward to spoiling you once again on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Gaia in early February.

Hotel/Resort Grounds: The resort is set up on a hill and has a dense lush garden. They use golf carts to take you from the main gate up to the main building. There are a stairs between the main building, the pools and hotel rooms. This was no problem for us, it felt good to burn a few calories since we over in duldge in all of the fantastic food!

Rooms: We stayed two nights in a nice Studio room and then stayed one night in the Gaia Suite. The Gaia suite is huge with a private pool! There is an a larger living /dining area and a really bedroom with seating area. The master bath has a wonderful Jacuzzi. Both rooms had great bed and bath linens. Everything was throughout the hotel was spotless and the décor is lovely.

Pool: The pool is a three tiered infinite pool. Each level has small decks to relax in with lounge chairs and tables. The water is warm and pool bar tenders were very attentive. We loved floating in the floating pool loungers enjoying the amazing view. You also can get the Happy Hour appetizers by the pool! We took advantage of this every day of our stay.

Spa: Our reservation included a complimentary 20 minute service for each of us! It was a wonderful perk. We had a very relaxing couples massage. The massage therapists were excellent.

Restaurant: La Luna – Every meal we had was wonderful and it is a great place to see the sunset. We absolutely loved the ceviche and had it every day of our stay. We also caught a sea bass on a fish trip and they prepared three fantastic entrees and two great appetizers out of the fish for a small fee. We really enjoyed the amuse bouche and sorbet palate cleanser during dinner!

Service: The service is highest I have ever seen at a hotel. Every single staff member was warm, friendly and new our name! Our concierge was fantastic helping us arrange a fishing trip, surf lessons, the complementary cooking class and spa services. We had an issue during our fishing trip and they did a fantastic job resolving the issue! Aldo was our favorite server in La Luna, we was so warm, friendly and we really enjoyed chatting with him during our dinner.

Highly recommend Gaia for fantastic food and service in a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
The Gaia staff and owners are truly pleased with our recent guests review of our hotel.

Thank you so much for having chosen Gaia and thank you for taking your personal time to share your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.

We are very happy you took advantage of our complimentary cooking class with our Executive Chef one day. This is one of our best kept secrets here at Gaia and one of our guests favorite complimentary affairs to take part.

Please come back.....we want to spoil you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our last stop of our Costa Rica trip. And I am glad we saved the best for last. We stayed 5 days in this wonderful resort. The rooms are incredibly roomy. The staff was wonderful. And even though the resort only has 20 rooms, it never feels crowded. Unless it is time for the sunset... this is when most guests would go to the bar for some cocktails and watch the beautiful view.

I can't really say anything negative about Gaia. But if I had to be really snooty, then I could say the service at the pool could be a tad quicker. But honestly, it didn't bother me at all.

One huge extra bonus point is that this resort is for adult only. No screaming kids that run around like crazy.

I got my phone stolen, and one of the owners went with me to the police station. Which was wonderful as it only took 20 minutes to get things sorted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Our mission here at Gaia is to make sure each and every guest leaves with complete a sense of extraordinary bliss.
It appears we have achieved that goal with our recent guests.
Thank you so much for your very kind words.
And thank you for sharing your experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

As a 5 star luxury boutique hotel we are mindful of our guests needs whether it be for breakfast, lunch, tapas or dinner. Likewise for selecting just the right tours to fit their expectations.

All this in a very laid back and casual & friendly atmosphere.

At Gaia, your experience will be MORE THAN YOU EXPECT AND ALL THAT YOU DESERVE.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The moment you enter the hotel you are overwhelmed by the friendliness of the staff. They always try to do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The restaurant offers fabulous food. They have a great spa and I believe for every guest 20 minutes credits (e.g. massage, facial) in the Spa is included during your stay.
The hotel also offers free shuttles to the beach, the national park or anywhere else you want to go (of course dependent of the distance from the hotel).
The hotel room itself (in the main building) was okay but not exceptional. However, the rest of services that this hotel has to offer makes the money well spent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanking our recent guest for his very generous review of our resort.

Indeed, we are all about service and genuine friendliness.....nothing is too complicated or burdensome for our staff to assist our guests needs.

Your mention of our restaurant and spa is most welcome as we feel we indeed have the best in the local area.

Having recently won the Very Best Spa in the entire Manuel Antonio and Quepos area as judged by the local community gives clear credence to your kind observation.

Thank you for sharing your personal thoughts on this TripAdvisor forum with other readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A friend and I spent 3 fantastic days at Gaia after travelling for 5 weeks through central America. Rest and relaxation was our main aim. I cannot speak more highly of the service we received. From the team on arrival to the restaurant, spa and throughout the hotel the staff were consistently excellent. If you are looking for a relaxing experience there is no need to leave the hotel. The infinity pool is fabulous and the view outstanding across the reserve and out to sea. We spent 2 hours in the spa and had dinner in the restaurant each night. Tapas at sunset with live music in the bar was superb. The hotel is small and intimate and one of my favourites.

I would go back there in a heart beat. Happy holidays!

Room Tip: The rooms with views of the reserve are by far the best but the open restaurant allows everyone to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They mean a lot to our staff and most importantly to others reading this TripAdvisor forum.
Having opened in August of 2006 we have many return guests and look forward to welcoming you back once again.

We like to consider you part of the Gaia family now, as with all the others.
Gaia is indeed small, luxurious and boutique. We like it that way as this enables us to know each guest personally without being intrusive.

And as has been mentioned in numerous articles about Gaia, we are "The 5 Star Resort Without Any Attitude".

You are warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.