We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE 50% NOW
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Hotel with exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The moment you enter the hotel you are overwhelmed by the friendliness of the staff. They always try to do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The restaurant offers fabulous food. They have a great spa and I believe for every guest 20 minutes credits (e.g. massage, facial) in the Spa is included during your stay.
The hotel also offers free shuttles to the beach, the national park or anywhere else you want to go (of course dependent of the distance from the hotel).
The hotel room itself (in the main building) was okay but not exceptional. However, the rest of services that this hotel has to offer makes the money well spent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanking our recent guest for his very generous review of our resort.

Indeed, we are all about service and genuine friendliness.....nothing is too complicated or burdensome for our staff to assist our guests needs.

Your mention of our restaurant and spa is most welcome as we feel we indeed have the best in the local area.

Having recently won the Very Best Spa in the entire Manuel Antonio and Quepos area as judged by the local community gives clear credence to your kind observation.

Thank you for sharing your personal thoughts on this TripAdvisor forum with other readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    85
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
70
569
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A friend and I spent 3 fantastic days at Gaia after travelling for 5 weeks through central America. Rest and relaxation was our main aim. I cannot speak more highly of the service we received. From the team on arrival to the restaurant, spa and throughout the hotel the staff were consistently excellent. If you are looking for a relaxing experience there is no need to leave the hotel. The infinity pool is fabulous and the view outstanding across the reserve and out to sea. We spent 2 hours in the spa and had dinner in the restaurant each night. Tapas at sunset with live music in the bar was superb. The hotel is small and intimate and one of my favourites.

I would go back there in a heart beat. Happy holidays!

Room Tip: The rooms with views of the reserve are by far the best but the open restaurant allows everyone to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They mean a lot to our staff and most importantly to others reading this TripAdvisor forum.
Having opened in August of 2006 we have many return guests and look forward to welcoming you back once again.

We like to consider you part of the Gaia family now, as with all the others.
Gaia is indeed small, luxurious and boutique. We like it that way as this enables us to know each guest personally without being intrusive.

And as has been mentioned in numerous articles about Gaia, we are "The 5 Star Resort Without Any Attitude".

You are warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a great place!
Beautifully designed property, comfortable lodgings, excellent staff, wonderful restaurant, sexy pools and stunning scenery make this a memorable place to stay.

We had the least expensive room (jungle studio) and were very satisfied with the overall comfort it offered, from the excellent king-sized bed, to the lovely bathroom with separate toilet room. The room was classy and elegant in a minimalist way. The location, facing the garden (jungle) was private and quiet. Coffee and team-making facilities and minibar were, of course, included. A minor criticism: the love-seat, which was meant to be an extra cot if needed (I think) made for a very uncomfortable, squeaky seating arrangement. While it looked attractive, it was an impractical piece of furniture.

The infinity pools were beautiful and except for one occasion, not very crowded even though they were small.

The restaurant served excellent cosmopolitan food - with a Mediterranean touch - and the service was highly professional and pleasant, the furnishings classy. We looked forward to every meal. The breakfast - included - was a la carte and options ranged from American to Costa Rican.

We took the complimentary morning tour of the Gaia reserve with their guide. It was definitely worth it. Our package also included a complimentary spa treatment, which was very pleasant as well.

Gaia also offered rides to and from the security gate in their golf-carts, and then complimentary car-rides to the beach, the town of Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park or the local airport (Quepos). This made our stay so much more pleasant, as we had not rented a car. Although the hotel was not far from town, given the heat and lack of side-walks, it would not have been very wise to walk, and this service was much more pleasant than a taxi would have been. Plus it was complimentary. Even the golf-cart service was much welcome due to the heat and the hilly property. In each location there was a contact place from which you could call Gaia in order to get picked up. The Gaia drivers were courteous and punctual.

As per the hotel's advertising, we got a private concierge. He was available without being intrusive. This suited us just fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanking our recent guests for taking their personal time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum their experience at Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are so very happy that you experienced wonderful aspects of what we offer here. From our complimentary spa treatments for each guest, our complimentary shuttle service to the beaches and town of Manuel Antonio and the complimentary tours of our private nature reserve.

And as pointed out, each room, no matter what category, has the exact same bedding, linens and amenities.

We are looking forward to seeing you once again and allowing us to create magic for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My fiancé and I traveled to Costa Rica in July and had an amazing experience. We happened to purchase a Travelzoo deal for Gaia, knowing only what we read on Gaia's website. It was perfecto and even more exclusive than we expected. La Luna, their restaurant, was absolutely scrumptious (breakfasts, lunches, and dinners!) and had a gorgeous view. Our servers, Alcione and Aldo, were a true pleasure to get to know and incredibly efficient. Great Happy Hour specials too :)

The rest of the staff (including Fernando, Andre, Jorge, Karen, and Fabio) were available at any time and incredibly helpful. It was truly a 5-star resort, without the uppityness. Everyone knew our names and we even had multiple conversations with one of the owners.

The spa was a.m.a.z.i.n.g. Juan Carlos is a wonderful and knowledgeable man - both in kindness and masseusery skills! We ended up going to the spa 5 times - it was that great.

On top of everything I've already mentioned, the staff drove us to/from any spot in Quepos and to/from the airport. Being built in such a steep area, they were there to drive us around in golf carts at a moment's notice. Thanks, guys!

Additionally, they are eco conscientious and socially responsible. The nature reserve is beautiful and I recommend a guided tour. When we were there, they were hosting and sponsoring a charitable event - in which we were able to attend as well.

We truly thank all of Gaia's staff who made our trip so wonderful and relaxing and romantic. We hope to return someday soon!

Pura Vida!
Todd & Michelle

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are truly honored that you chose Gaia Hotel & Reserve for your honeymoon. And we are super happy that your experience was much more than you expected.

Indeed, we provide a service that is second to none in the surrounding area. And the genuine attitude of our staff of professionals is a welcome attribute for our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Gaia and we welcome you back in the near future to once again experience the magic we have created here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review prior to leaving Gaia. The staff is amazing and really helped a situation with a tour vendor issue to no fault of Gaia. Top notch and the food is awesome! Highly recommend staying here when in Manuel Antonio. Thank you for a wonderful time!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Well, on behalf of the entire staff, you are very welcome.

We are happy to have assisted you with the tour company. As a guest on our property and part of the Gaia family, there is nothing we would not do to make sure your entire experience while here on our property and in Costa Rica was nothing short of wonderful.

Magic is part of what we create here for our guest and we are so very pleased to have created that for you.

Thank you for this mention on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I always read Tripadvisor but have yet to post, but after staying at the Gaia, I just felt compelled to start! This place is simply fantastic. From the moment you walk through the entrance, all the staff at Gaia go out of their way to help make your stay an unforgettable one.
The location is wonderful, nestled in amongst the trees on a hillside, with views across the rainforest to the ocean- picture perfect!
The food is out of this world, a fusion of many different cuisines. I personally thought the tuna and mango wrap for lunch was out of this world, but we ate breakfast and dinner here too and they were of equal quality.
The pool is beautifully landscaped into the surroundings and because of that it's not uncommon to see Iguanas and white faced capuchins.
Small touches like a 20min spa credit (which for me was a back massage) left me feeling thoroughly relaxed and pampered and the owners saying hello made it feel very personal.
I have gone to many boutique hotels and have left feeling underwhelmed, but in this case, I cannot rave about Gaia and the staff enough.
You have truly made our trip to Costa Rica end on a high note. Thank you.
Katy

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Our recent guest truly captured what Gaia is all about...service, luxury and pampering.....all in a very relaxed and laid back atmosphere.

We are thrilled that we were able to spoil you and exceed your expectations on staying at Gaia. Please do come back and allow us to do it again. It would be our extreme pleasure.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I live in Manuel Antonio and I often visit Gaia to eat, have drinks and watch the sunset. I'm always impressed with the service, the staff are very attentive and never leave you with an empty glass. The food is delicious, happy hour tapas are cheap and wonderful. Can't get a better view either! If you really want to see a tropical sunset I would recommend Gaia to anyone visiting or living in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words here in this TripAdvisor forum.

We do indeed strive for unparallelled service to both our local friends and hotel guests alike. It is a great testament to what we have created here when our neighbors come frequently to experience what Gaia is all about.

Great Food - Great Service - Great Prices - Flip-Flops Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.