We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss in Manuel Antonio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Save Saved
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ONLY THROUGH TRIPADVISOR
buffalo,ny
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pure bliss in Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I travel extensively and have never desired to return to the same place twice until now. The Gaia is that impressive. First the resort is lush and beautiful. Surrounded by a reserve filled with trees, flowers and wonderful wildlife (iguanas and monkeys poolside anyone?) The views of Manuel Antonio and the pacific are amazing. Rooms are comfortable and well decorated with beautiful views. The spa is intimate and personalized with amazing therapies ( try the reflexology after a hike...ahhhh).The pool is an architectural marvel with waterfalls and multiple infinity layers. Plenty of lounger chairs too.The real reason to want to come back to Gaia is simply their customer service. They are the best I have come across. Somehow the owners ( who are on site and you will meet) have discovered the perfect design for taking care of their guests. The only way to describe it is that the staff genuinely care about meeting your requests. Nothing is to big or small. They do all of this with a sense of pride in their guests at the resort and without being intrusive or pretentious. Simply put you let them know what you want and it's taken care of. We were lucky enough to request a one on one cooking class with their chef in their kitchen one afternoon and made a wonderful dish right off the menu then sat down to enjoy it. What an experience. Bottom line is stay at Gaia. It's pampering at its finest.

Room Tip: If you can, go for the deluxe suite. Nothing compares to having your own private rooftop terrace wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Our recent guests recognition of our service and quality of amenities is most welcome. We work hard each and every day to make our guests stay a once in a lifetime experience that will want them coming back for more.
Now in our 7th year, we have guests that return each year and several that come back twice in the same year.
These are guests that have experienced something quite out of the ordinary.
Thank you for sharing and complimenting our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    669
    77
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
63
537
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This resort is a true "Boutique Resort" with every little detail adding to its own personality. This is one of my personal favorite hotels we have ever stayed in. The grounds are nestled in the rain forest and you really feel like you are part of the land when you walk around. The pools are on the side of a mountain and the views are amazing. This is where we started our trip and then continued to two other 5 star resorts in the area. I would definitely recommend this place. It feels a little "South Beach" with South American Flare. The amenities are top notch and the service is as well. Very exclusive feeling, loved it.

Room Tip: We had the studio, small but really nice. The bathroom is interesting bc it is literally open to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Your kind words are very welcome. We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay and welcome you back in the future. With no pretense, we try to create a magical experience beyond our guests expectations.
It appears we have achieved that with our recent guests and we thank you for your kindness.
Thank you for sharing with others your wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we stayed at the resort for 5 days and it was incredible! the staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful at ALL times! some names come to mind but they are all incredible : alex, christian, jose, fabio, I could go on and on. We met one of the owners first day and he was humble and friendly. Our car had a flat tire that was noticed by the staff when we arrived and without hesitation the staff volunteered to take care of it! they took it into town and brought it back ready to go! no extra charge either! There are 3 pools that are awesome! the views are out of this world. The restaurant on site La Luna is amazing! great waiters, delicious food, wine list, and wait until you see the view!! its very hard to explain without actually seeing for yourself how wonderful this place is! worth every penny!! we have stayed in many places all over the world including one of our favorites, Nice, South France and this place is on the same level! if you are visiting CR in the future please try this place. you will be beyond happy and well taken care of!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff at Gaia, I would like to thank our recent guests for sharing their thoughts on this TripAdvisor forum.

Once a guest comes through the gates of Gaia Hotel & Reserve, they immediately become part of the family. They are treated as any family member would and to fix a tire or manage to capture a unique experience is nothing short of what one would do with family.

We pride ourselves in creating an atmosphere that is always spot on excellent. Friendly and attentive with just the right amount of personal interaction.

Our guests choose a 5 star hotel in the midst of the rainforest overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean.......we thank you for this and we welcome you back soon in the future so we can once again spoil you here in Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Perched right on top of a hill on a busy road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, Gaia has a very unique tranquil feeling as soon as you arrive. Whilst Gaia is certainly very beautiful, the one thing that sets it apart is the level of service. We were assigned a personal concierge who was incredibly helpful and really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. In fact, all of the staff were great.

You also get a free shuttle service which is brilliant if you want to go to the beach or into Quepos. The beach is well worth checking out.

The swimming pool is lovely, rather small decking areas but it was never a problem getting a sun bed. Great views of the Pacific Ocean from the infinity pool.

The restaurant is very nice, really good food albeit rather pricey compared to the rest of MA, but we ate there 5 out of 6 nights as once you price in a taxi to and from hotel it works out about the same. Also, leaving Gaia, is a bit silly, when it is so beautiful!

We stayed in a Jungle Suite, which was large and well appointed although with no balcony or outside space. That didnt really matter though as the pool was so quiet!

Would certainly go back, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try and get Ocean View rooms with balcony or terrace, otherwise Jungle Studios would be more than fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Our recent guests truly captured what Gaia is all about. Service, friendly atmosphere, quite ambiance, breathtaking views, brilliant food and uncompromising dedication to making our guests feel like they are very special.

Many of our guests leave never wanting to stay in anything more than a small luxury boutique hotel again. That is what Gaia provides. A level of service unmatched in a large impersonal hotel. Our highly trained concierges are all dedicated to our guests needs.

While at Gaia Hotel & Reserve our guests are given more than they expect and all that they deserve.

Thank you for sharing your AMAZING experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The second part of our vacation was at the Gaia Hotel & Reserve; this hotel was very good on some items and not so good on others.

Lets do the good items first; the welcome to the Gaia was very good with a tour of the hotel to show the amenities.

The grounds are excellent with an occasional sighting of a Sloth and Iguana.

The amenities were first class with a spa available which we took advantage of with a couples massage. Very, very relaxing and great karma. The staff at the Spa were Outstanding!!!!

The multi level pool with a bar was fantastic. Georgette serves at the bar and she is an angel without wings. She is very attentive and makes sure you are happy and have everything you need. And she serves awesome drinks.

The restaurant for evening meal was exceptional with live local musicians.
Menu has a great choice and caters to all. The staff at the restaurant are all superb.

Now for the mid range items: the Gaia is not for the person who finds stairs and ramps difficult. It does not really cater to the disabled, although there is a disabled ramp to the terraced suites and you have more ramps and elevator to the Restaurant.

The Reserve tour is good but when we were left to carry on our own, the pathways were not all that well marked and had to double back in a few places. We had some great exercise that morning before breakfast.

Now, for the not so good items. Our personal concierge was introduced when we arrived, he took us to our room and could not figure out why the lights were not working and the surround sound was new and apparently he did not know how it worked and after pressing every button I told him to just leave it. That was the last time we saw our personal concierge and not even to say goodbye.

Housekeeping never left coffee one morning and instead of leaving 4 towels we only had 2, anyone knows women always use 2 towels after a shower.

Some of the room outlets and light switches were loose, we had trouble with the security safe as it apparently ran out of battery power but after a hour they managed to free our valuables. The phone was worn and the buttons functioned poorly making even calls to the front desk difficult. There are no vending machines and to get a can of coke to the room is a hefty price.

The reception when you go in made us feel like we were an inconvenience to them. As soon as we walked through the door they just kept staring at the computer screens.

At breakfast it would be nice just to have some quite background music and listen to the water sounds and listen to the gentle breeze rustling through the Fauna, look at the fantastic view while you sip your excellent cup of fresh Costa Rican Coffee, instead we though we were at a very loud Rock Concert and wanted to finish our breakfast fast so we could leave to the peaceful haven of our room.

I am giving the grade a Very Good because it would not be fair to the staff who do a great Job and being let down by others.

By the way the monkeys were also on vacation as we did not see any.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thanking our recent guest for having chosen Gaia Hotel & Reserve for their holiday.

As you can only imagine, we are concerned about several points you made in your review of us and you can rest assured that they will be addressed.
As Manuel Antonio's only 5 star resort, we pride ourselves on having the highest of standards and your observations will be met with immediate effect.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our pools and bar staff. They are fun! And Thank you for your wonderful comments on our restaurant and surrounding grounds.

Our spa is indeed a refuge from the outside world with exceptional therapists trained in the absolute finest of techniques to provide a once in a lifetime experience.

Thank you for using this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Gaia offers five star service, food, and location. One thing travelers with mobility concerns should be aware of is there are lots of stairs and steps around the buildings and in the suites. Our suite had a shower tub combo where I had to step up on a tall step and then over and around a faucet to step into the inclined tub to take a shower. This felt even more perilous stepping out with wet feet and hands. The studio rooms have no steps, just a walk in shower, no tub. There are three levels to the pool, all with narrow flights of stairs, and one spot where you walk through a running waterfall. All the stairs are necessary due to the gorgeous cliffside location of the hotel and there is an elevator to the restaurant. Overall very nice service and loved happy hour at the pool watching the sunset.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are most thankful for your recent visit to our 5 star boutique hotel.

Indeed, we are very unique in our architectural design and have won numerous accolades for this.

Many of our rooms do not have any stairs required and we encourage guests to make mention of any mobility issues during the reservation process. This is another reason we are an adults and teens only property.

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful 5 star experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I love this hotel. It defines Pura Vida. I am an avid traveler and rarely return to the same country - let alone the same hotel, but I have stayed at this hotel three separate times during three separate years. First of all, it is a very beautiful hotel. It sits up on a mountain top with views of the jungle and sea. Second, it is surrounded by jungle and set way off the road so you won't get any road traffic noise. They have a free shuttle to the beach (10 minutes down the road). The jungle tour around the grounds is nice. The rooms are really top notch. If you can afford to upgrade to the large multi-floor suite - it is quite amazing with a private roof deck. My one complaint is that they used to include free yoga in a communal lodge area which was awesome - now you have to pay to have a yoga instructor come to your room - which is not optimal. The restaurant is excellent and Manuel Antonio is one of the best places to visit in Costa Rica. The jungle that comes up to the beach is incredible. Take a day tour through there and get up close to sloth, monkeys etc.. You can also take surfing lessons on the beach (the ocean has a really excellent break for beginners but also for advanced surfers). DO NOT go during Easter. I made that mistake once. The usually empty beach was absolutely packed with locals who are all on vacation that week. So, we retreated and spent almost the entire vacation at the Gaia pool (which is awesome - with its infinity pool...and you can even eat lunch at a pool bar (sitting in the water). The staff is professional and courteous. When they ask how you are - reply "Twanis" - that means "cool" - they get a kick out of that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you once again for your very king review of our hotel and restaurant. Others on this TripAdvisor forum as well as our entire staff welcome your very personal input.

And Welcome Back. We are so very honored that you have come back to us now three times. You, like so many of our return guests, totally get what Gaia is all about and feel the magic we have created here.

We look forward to your return to us again giving us the opportunity to spoil you as you so much deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.