We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word - AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Save Saved
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ONLY THROUGH TRIPADVISOR
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One word - AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Perched right on top of a hill on a busy road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, Gaia has a very unique tranquil feeling as soon as you arrive. Whilst Gaia is certainly very beautiful, the one thing that sets it apart is the level of service. We were assigned a personal concierge who was incredibly helpful and really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. In fact, all of the staff were great.

You also get a free shuttle service which is brilliant if you want to go to the beach or into Quepos. The beach is well worth checking out.

The swimming pool is lovely, rather small decking areas but it was never a problem getting a sun bed. Great views of the Pacific Ocean from the infinity pool.

The restaurant is very nice, really good food albeit rather pricey compared to the rest of MA, but we ate there 5 out of 6 nights as once you price in a taxi to and from hotel it works out about the same. Also, leaving Gaia, is a bit silly, when it is so beautiful!

We stayed in a Jungle Suite, which was large and well appointed although with no balcony or outside space. That didnt really matter though as the pool was so quiet!

Would certainly go back, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try and get Ocean View rooms with balcony or terrace, otherwise Jungle Studios would be more than fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Our recent guests truly captured what Gaia is all about. Service, friendly atmosphere, quite ambiance, breathtaking views, brilliant food and uncompromising dedication to making our guests feel like they are very special.

Many of our guests leave never wanting to stay in anything more than a small luxury boutique hotel again. That is what Gaia provides. A level of service unmatched in a large impersonal hotel. Our highly trained concierges are all dedicated to our guests needs.

While at Gaia Hotel & Reserve our guests are given more than they expect and all that they deserve.

Thank you for sharing your AMAZING experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    669
    77
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
63
537
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The second part of our vacation was at the Gaia Hotel & Reserve; this hotel was very good on some items and not so good on others.

Lets do the good items first; the welcome to the Gaia was very good with a tour of the hotel to show the amenities.

The grounds are excellent with an occasional sighting of a Sloth and Iguana.

The amenities were first class with a spa available which we took advantage of with a couples massage. Very, very relaxing and great karma. The staff at the Spa were Outstanding!!!!

The multi level pool with a bar was fantastic. Georgette serves at the bar and she is an angel without wings. She is very attentive and makes sure you are happy and have everything you need. And she serves awesome drinks.

The restaurant for evening meal was exceptional with live local musicians.
Menu has a great choice and caters to all. The staff at the restaurant are all superb.

Now for the mid range items: the Gaia is not for the person who finds stairs and ramps difficult. It does not really cater to the disabled, although there is a disabled ramp to the terraced suites and you have more ramps and elevator to the Restaurant.

The Reserve tour is good but when we were left to carry on our own, the pathways were not all that well marked and had to double back in a few places. We had some great exercise that morning before breakfast.

Now, for the not so good items. Our personal concierge was introduced when we arrived, he took us to our room and could not figure out why the lights were not working and the surround sound was new and apparently he did not know how it worked and after pressing every button I told him to just leave it. That was the last time we saw our personal concierge and not even to say goodbye.

Housekeeping never left coffee one morning and instead of leaving 4 towels we only had 2, anyone knows women always use 2 towels after a shower.

Some of the room outlets and light switches were loose, we had trouble with the security safe as it apparently ran out of battery power but after a hour they managed to free our valuables. The phone was worn and the buttons functioned poorly making even calls to the front desk difficult. There are no vending machines and to get a can of coke to the room is a hefty price.

The reception when you go in made us feel like we were an inconvenience to them. As soon as we walked through the door they just kept staring at the computer screens.

At breakfast it would be nice just to have some quite background music and listen to the water sounds and listen to the gentle breeze rustling through the Fauna, look at the fantastic view while you sip your excellent cup of fresh Costa Rican Coffee, instead we though we were at a very loud Rock Concert and wanted to finish our breakfast fast so we could leave to the peaceful haven of our room.

I am giving the grade a Very Good because it would not be fair to the staff who do a great Job and being let down by others.

By the way the monkeys were also on vacation as we did not see any.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thanking our recent guest for having chosen Gaia Hotel & Reserve for their holiday.

As you can only imagine, we are concerned about several points you made in your review of us and you can rest assured that they will be addressed.
As Manuel Antonio's only 5 star resort, we pride ourselves on having the highest of standards and your observations will be met with immediate effect.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our pools and bar staff. They are fun! And Thank you for your wonderful comments on our restaurant and surrounding grounds.

Our spa is indeed a refuge from the outside world with exceptional therapists trained in the absolute finest of techniques to provide a once in a lifetime experience.

Thank you for using this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Gaia offers five star service, food, and location. One thing travelers with mobility concerns should be aware of is there are lots of stairs and steps around the buildings and in the suites. Our suite had a shower tub combo where I had to step up on a tall step and then over and around a faucet to step into the inclined tub to take a shower. This felt even more perilous stepping out with wet feet and hands. The studio rooms have no steps, just a walk in shower, no tub. There are three levels to the pool, all with narrow flights of stairs, and one spot where you walk through a running waterfall. All the stairs are necessary due to the gorgeous cliffside location of the hotel and there is an elevator to the restaurant. Overall very nice service and loved happy hour at the pool watching the sunset.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are most thankful for your recent visit to our 5 star boutique hotel.

Indeed, we are very unique in our architectural design and have won numerous accolades for this.

Many of our rooms do not have any stairs required and we encourage guests to make mention of any mobility issues during the reservation process. This is another reason we are an adults and teens only property.

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful 5 star experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I love this hotel. It defines Pura Vida. I am an avid traveler and rarely return to the same country - let alone the same hotel, but I have stayed at this hotel three separate times during three separate years. First of all, it is a very beautiful hotel. It sits up on a mountain top with views of the jungle and sea. Second, it is surrounded by jungle and set way off the road so you won't get any road traffic noise. They have a free shuttle to the beach (10 minutes down the road). The jungle tour around the grounds is nice. The rooms are really top notch. If you can afford to upgrade to the large multi-floor suite - it is quite amazing with a private roof deck. My one complaint is that they used to include free yoga in a communal lodge area which was awesome - now you have to pay to have a yoga instructor come to your room - which is not optimal. The restaurant is excellent and Manuel Antonio is one of the best places to visit in Costa Rica. The jungle that comes up to the beach is incredible. Take a day tour through there and get up close to sloth, monkeys etc.. You can also take surfing lessons on the beach (the ocean has a really excellent break for beginners but also for advanced surfers). DO NOT go during Easter. I made that mistake once. The usually empty beach was absolutely packed with locals who are all on vacation that week. So, we retreated and spent almost the entire vacation at the Gaia pool (which is awesome - with its infinity pool...and you can even eat lunch at a pool bar (sitting in the water). The staff is professional and courteous. When they ask how you are - reply "Twanis" - that means "cool" - they get a kick out of that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you once again for your very king review of our hotel and restaurant. Others on this TripAdvisor forum as well as our entire staff welcome your very personal input.

And Welcome Back. We are so very honored that you have come back to us now three times. You, like so many of our return guests, totally get what Gaia is all about and feel the magic we have created here.

We look forward to your return to us again giving us the opportunity to spoil you as you so much deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. I can echo the other reviews - it is a lovely place to stay.

The rooms were great and the staff universally charming and keen to help. The food in the restaurant was excellent - so good that we ended up eating here each day (which we never normally do).

Overall a great place to stay in the Manuel Antonio area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Your review of our boutique hotel is most welcoming to our staff.

Thank you for taking your personal time to make your lovely comments about our staff. And you obviously thoroughly enjoyed our restaurant cuisine........ you like so many of our guests do indeed take most of their meals at our La Luna restaurant as there is so many choices and the quality is second to no other in the local region.

We look forward to the possibility of hosting you once again and thank you for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Gaia for four nights with my nineteen year old son. It is a really exceptionally wonderful hotel. The grounds are very beautiful as was our room.We had a suite The staff were excellent, friendly professional and made one feel like a VIP at every turn. They are extremely hard working. The food as well as the decor in the restaurant was amazing. We ate there two nights and had lunch as well. Each time the service, presentation and quality was impeccable. The breakfasts were amazing - a huge selection of delicious foods with waiter service. We ate at two other restaurants in Manuel Antonio but they werent nearly as good at the restaurant in the hotel. Another great time was the happy hour which we went to each day to watch the sunset and snack on very reasonably priced and delicious tapas. The reserve on the grounds are really nice to walk around and our guide gave us a good tour. I am very impressed at how they took farmland and turned it into a reserve. We all loved the pool and the views from the pool. I dont usually swim in public pools but this one was irresistable. The hotel was immaculately clean. We met two of the owners and Thomas was friendly and extremely helpful. I told him that our sneakers were wet and we had only had sandals for the next day when we wanted to go hiking. He suggested I call housekeeping. This was at about 8.00pm. They picked up our wet muddy shoes and when I called at 6.30am to see if they were ready they were delivered immediately all warm and clean. That was great service. The other wonderful service that is offered is the car pick up and drop off. We used it often to go into town or the beach. We just told the driver what time we wanted to be picked up and the driver arrived punctually each time. When we left for the beach the driver would have towels in the van for us. We used Mary's on the public beach for chairs and umbrellas which the hotel called ahead for- what an amazing service. The drivers who zipped us up and down on golfcarts were really friendly and happy to stop for us to look for sloths and frogs- they invariably spotted them before we did. All in all it was a wonderful stay and one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The only issues we had and why unfortunately I couldnt give it five stars was that my son slept on a sofa bed which was extremely uncomfortable and noisy. Everytime he turned the bed creaked very loudly and woke him up.We could hear it from our room even with the door closed. Consequently he was a bit grumpy. It is hard to give a hotel five stars if you dont get a good night's sleep. I know that sleeper sofas arent the best for sleep, but this one was really bad. My other peeve was that there werent always available loungers at the pool. It was a bit annoying sometimes when we wanted to sit at the pool and there was nowhere to sit. Maybe it was because it was peak season and the hotel was full. There were probably only twelve loungers scattered around the pool. We have had this problem at bigger and busier hotels and resorts, but it was disappointing to have had it at Gaia as well where attention to detail is so obvious. The areas around the pool are small and secluded which is great if you get a spot, but there were not enough for everyone who wanted to be at the pool almost everytime I was there. There isnt even space on the ground to put a towel to lay on. However, if you did manage to get the loungers and especially the ones at the top behind the waterfall the view was simply stunning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
WE are so very happy our guests felt like VIP's.....since that was the objective all along.

Your comprehensive review was welcoming and we thank you for taking your personal time to make your wonderful comments on our staff, food, decor and overall surroundings.

Your comment on the sofa bed is taken seriously and I wish we had known of this during your stay as we have extra bedding available that would have been much more comfortable.

Thank you so very much for having spent your holiday with us and we look forward to your return visit......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, the place is beautiful and the food awesome! One of the owners picked us up from the airport, which was very nice and convenient. Although modern, you never forget that you are in the middle of beautiful nature given the hotel's location, and views from the room, restaurant, pool, etc. Really cool, romantic place. Quiet, serene, simply lovely!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Wonderful...!! Marvelous...!! Thank you for coming to Gaia Hotel & Reserve and allowing us to have you in our home for the short period you were here in Costa Rica.

Our staff from the front desk to our restaurant staff to our pool attendants still speak of your kind words and meaningful understanding of what we have created here at our 5 star resort.

Thank you for sharing your most memorable experience with others here on this TripAdivsor forum.

You are welcome back with open arms......anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.