We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the stunning view and good spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Save Saved
You added Gaia Hotel & Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ONLY THROUGH TRIPADVISOR
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Come for the stunning view and good spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel mostly delivered on the 'luxury' part of the Costa Rica trip and I recommend it if this is what you are looking for. I personally did not find it to be the seemingly life changing experience that others have had, experiencing inconsistency with the food - from fabulous to poor and finding the interiors cold. It needs an interior designer to add some depth and warmth to rooms currently lit by recessed neon with clumsy dimmers. Even a table lamp would have been nice, though I loved the fire-exit chic of the exteriors. But I have said I recommend it and here is why.

First - the view from the hotel is stunning. It is worth the drive, I can assure you. I guess the owners might wonder who needs table lamps when you have the scenery this hotel offers - and they'd have a point.

It has some great, friendly staff/concierge, all of whom appear to have been expertly chosen by the managers. Their English was probably better than mine, were very presentable, sorted any issues out quickly and zipped about on their golf carts ferrying guests around with smiles and enthusiasm. Well done all concerned, especially the guy who zipped me down the winding hill on the golf buggy steering with one hand while holding aloft the owners meal with the other. I prayed for you every single second of that short trip, and I don't even believe in the Almighty.

The spa treatment was extremely good - very professional and no nonsense - just an excellent massage (which you will need after your drive). I highly recommend.

The hotel has a great beach service - they'll drive you there (about 5-10 mins) and you'll be looked after by a beach company linked to the hotel offering loungers, shade, drinks and food. Again, no nonsense - it just works. Brilliantly, your bill for this can be added to your room. Nice one.

I like how the pools have been designed to mimic their environment. You will see when you get there. Be in the pool for sunset - it is stunning. You can see the ocean beyond verdant woodland and fields while the sky burns bright orange - did I tell you the views were beautiful?! There is a number to call for bar service at the pool - sadly the phone was rarely there, something raised with the barman but although he understood the English, I am not sure he got the point. There is a happy hour in the restaurant - would be more fun to have it by the pool and make it more of a focal point.

I nearly wrote a bomb just to get one of the manager's brilliantly waspish responses but that would not have been fair - with or without table lamps. So do come to this place, but make it part of a trip that ensures you see as much of this wonderful country as you can. Also, no kids allowed, so don't rock up with any and expect to get in - you won't, thank goodness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are thrilled you took the time to comment on our hotel. Your comments mean a lot to us and we are passing all of your wonderful comments onto our entire staff.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to others and sharing your thoughts on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    660
    77
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
63
534
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We made a last minute reservation at this beautiful hotel between the towns of Quepos and Manuel Antonio, near the national park bearing the same name as the latter. The reservationist, Paola, was delightful and professional. She remained in contact with us through email during the weeks that preceded our arrival and was very attentive to every detail.

We were greeted at the Quepos Airport by Alex. He was the main driver for the hotel. A very warm and hospitable individual who made an excellent 2nd impression.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Paola, and then whisked up the hill to the reception where we were greeted by several members if the concierge staff. All were very warm, personable and ready to cater to our ever need.

One of them, in particular, distinguished himself as the consummate professional. His name is Andres Vindas. He is a credit to the hotel as he was always making sure that we were well taken care of....whether it was the spa, the restaurant, housekeeping or the different guides on the 5 tours that we took. What a pleasure to work with someone who enjoyed his work pampering others.

The hotel is lovely. The room was spotless, the restaurant was excellent and the professionals in the spa were of world class caliber. I had several deep tissues massages by Anna. Both massages were done perfectly. I cannot recall ever having a better spa experience. My wife had a massage, a 90 minute facial and a foot reflexology session that were all wonderful experiences.

The bed and linens were luxurious and the bathroom, Jacuzzi and shower a true pleasure. Our room was cleaned perfectly each day by the attentive housekeeping staff.

Our room included a couples massage, a $50 dining credit, a private tour of the on site nature reserve and a full breakfast each morning, either in our room or in the restaurant. Wow!

We toured the national park with Catia, an obviously well-educated Tica who was as charming as she was knowledgeable. She had a telescope with her and expertly spotted sloths, monkeys, bats and birds for us to view. She even took pictures with out cameras through her telescopic lens. If you your the park, be sure to spend some time on the 2 beaches inside of the park. They are both magnificent and much quieter than the nearby public park beach.

We also took a white water rafting tour. Our main guide was Flippy. Don't be fooled by the name, he is funny, nice and an expert rafting guide.

The 4 wheeling tour was also very fun but the 2 tours that were the most fun were the zipline and jet skis.

If you do the zip line (it's actually 10 zip lunes plus the Superman zip line, for a total of 11), YOU MUST do the Superman zip line at the end of the tour. Some didn't and they will regret it. If you skip any part of that your, you should skip what they call the "puzzle course" offered after the first 7 of the 10 zip lines that precede the Superman zip line.

The jet ski tour was a blast. We were able to moor the jet skis near some coral rock formations and snorkel. It was only a 2 hour tour. We each had jet skis. If I were to do it again, I would ride together with my wife and share driving duty.

If possible, I recommend a direct flight to San Jose and then the 20 minute flight on Sansa Airlines from San Jose to Quepos. You can get there by car from San Jose but it costa more to drive than to fly and takes 3 hours instead of 20 minutes. To us, it was a "no brainer" even though my wife doesn't like small planes. Having said that, the flight was so short that you didn't have time to be scared!

From the Quepos Airport, the Hotel Gaia is less than 10 minutes by car. Alex will gladly pick you up and take you to paradise.

I give this place my highest rating and recommend that you go before everyone else finds out about it and you are unable to get a reservation.

Bret Gerard

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanking our recent guests for taking their personal time to write a wonderful review of our hotel.

And your comments on our staff are most welcoming. They deserve these comments as they are the very best around. Truly compassionate and genuine.

We wish you every happiness in 2013 and welcome you back to our little piece of Paradise in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel, staff, facilities and food were simply amazing. They all made our stay fun, comfortable and stress free. Meticulous attention to detail everywhere. The owner must really enjoy life to create such a resort...

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We loved having our recent guests spend time with us at Gaia. We were happy to spoil them in ways they never expected.

Attention to detail is the key along with meticulous service. And after that, more service. Our staff knows this and creates an atmosphere that is truly magical for our guests.

Thank you for sharing your time with us on the Gaia property and sharing your wonderful experience with other readers on this TripAdvisor forum.

Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I cant say enough great things about this hotel and everyone that works there... If you are planning on coming to Costa Rica, it makes no sense to stay anywhere else... The staff is extremely professional and very informative. From the front office, to the drivers, to the waitstaff, everyone feels like a friend by the time you leave.
They all take pride in the hotel and are all very excited to hear about you did that day...
Plus they also offer a shuttle service to and from town. MAJOR perks and worth it if youve ever seen the streets and how people drive there.
The rooms are amazing... the views are to die for.. Youve got to catch the sunset at dinner... Everyone around us was speechless. They have the rooms set up to where you dont feel like there are 20 full rooms on the property.. We felt like it was a resort all to us the week we were there.... except for when you go to dinner.
The pool is amazing too!
We hated to leave..... Cant wait to come back..... I couldnt have imagined a better place for a couple to get away in CR.

Room Tip: everything is a good room.... you cant see into anyone elses rooms and everyone has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We feel truly honored that you chose Gaia Hotel & Reserve to celebrate the beginning of your marriage.

As an adults property, we love to cater to honeymooners and create something truly special that they will remember for the rest of their lives. Having recently celebrated the 6th anniversary year of our opening, honeymooners that were with us over the years are now returning to celebrate their ongoing wedding anniversaries. We simply love that! And our recent guests are welcome back next year as well.

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Gaia with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Allow us to spoil you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

In brief, this was the best possible combination of high end facilities, great food, personal service, warm and freindly people, and beautiful surroundings one is likely to find while on vacation in Costa Rica. From the initial planning stages, the experience during the stay (room, spa, restaurant, pool bar, tours, transportation on and off property), the staff's (and owners) help in handling a minor medical emergency on our last night at Gaia, to our departure, everything was absolutely first class. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you many times over for your kind words.

We take pride making every guests experience here at Gaia as wonderful as possible and we appear to have succeeded here with our recent guests.

Nothing is too small or insignificant in our eyes to please our guests. The entire staff is on full alert to ensure a magical experience here at Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

Thank you for sharing your personal magical experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

From the initial reception by Pablo at the airport, to the private concierge, Carol, to the shuttle driver Alex, and on and on... This is true 5 star service at its best! If you are going to Costa Rica it is a must to stay at Gaia, I could not find anything that was not perfection. Highly recommend and truly a great value for the personal service and beautiful accommodations.

Room Tip: The hot stone therapy at Terra Spa is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Fabulous! We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time at our resort.

As Manuel Antonio's premier 5 star resort, we take a lot of pride and recognition of our guests comments on our service and staff.

We appreciate you taking the time to share with others what your impression was of Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

Please come back and let us spoil you once again.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

There is nothing not to like at the Gaia. The service is excellent, the food wonderful, the spa facility and massages are all first rate but the best part of the Gaia has to be the staff. All are helpful, knowledgeable , pleasant, eager to be of assistance and generally appear to enjoy their task of making the guest have a trouble free and relaxing visit. When you visit, take advantage of your concierge's knowledge for everything from day activities to local restaurants.

The only drawback to a Gaia visit would be that I had to go home to rest. There are too many activities that are not to be missed so that one has little time to kick back and relax. Of course you don't have to hike, fish, kayak, raft and zip line and you can just lie around the pool or beach. That is the beauty of a Gaia experience; there is something for every taste or whim and after the full day away, the wonderful bartenders will ease you into the evening.

The food at Gaia is excellent and there are good restaurants nearby. I would suggest doing both. If you are a seafood lover, every place we ate had great, fresh seafood that must have been caught that day. I had the best tuna ever at Gaia as special for dinner. The breakfast which we always had on our deck is very very good and always came right on time. There is nothing like the sights and sounds of a tropical morning while enjoying good healthy food.

Costa Rica is a lovely country for any traveler but particularly if you enjoy outdoor adventure. The people appear to genuinely welcome tourists unlike some other tropical destinations. They are educated, interesting, and fun to be with. San Jose might be a different story but we did not do anything but pass through the airport.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a delux double or better if possible because the view and patio,deck area is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I appears our recent guests did it all......and all was good! There really are so many activities to do in the surrounding area and you are so correct as to seek out the expertize of your personal concierge. They know all the local tours and activities and know the individuals operating them.
All the activities are thoroughly vetted by the owners personally or the senior staff and we insure the insurance papers and permits are all up to date.

Thank you for sharing you experience with other readers here. Costa Rica is truly a special place where tourists are genuinely welcome. And the magic we create here at Gaia for our guests is second to none in the entire Central Pacific Coast region.
Thank you very much for coming and experiencing that magic with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Hotel & Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.