We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely surroundings near the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Espadilla

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Espadilla
300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“lovely surroundings near the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A lovely place to stay, easy walk to the beach or the Manuel Antonio national park, a few minutes each. A good quality breakfast , sufficient food , but this was at the main hotel about 100 metres away, across a very quiet road- no problem. Helpful staff, nice small swimming pool, colourful plants all around and some iguana and geckos etc as the hotels own wildlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello DrMike!
Thanks for your kind comment, in cabinas Espadilla we´re all glad you´ve enjoyed our amenities, services and of course the sorrounding wildlife . Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights primarily for the convenient location to the park and the beach. The room (15) was small but very clean and with a large fridge and coffee maker. It is located by the pool and office so it was quite noisy during the day but all was quiet after 10 pm. Room 9 looked like it would be the quietest. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had a great guided tour through the park, arranged by the hotel. We enjoyed strolling the beach (about a 2 minute walk) and watching the beautiful sunsets. Breakfast was very good. This is a very busy touristy place (lots of children) so go with the right expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Just came back from staying in Manuel Antonio. This was a great spot with the beach to the front of us and the rain forest to the side. There was one front desk gentleman(which I forget his name ) was super helpful and made our stay even better. If your looking cheap drinks there's a small hotel that has cheap drinks and great folks. Really planning on coming back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I can't say enough about this place. We have stayed there twice, and both times loved it. The grounds are well taken care of and the staff are kind, polite, professional and go out of their way to make your time there as comfortable as possible. The rooms are comfortable, clean and housekeeping makes sure that there are always fresh flowers in your room!
Over the many years that I have travelled to MA I have witnessed unbelivable growth in tourism (and in the process has lost a lot of the charm), but Cabinas Espadilla has been able to maintain the quaint feel that MA at one time did have.
We were there during July of 2012, we stayed in room 9 which is a little corner room with a kitchen and a nice patio area. We were there for 11 days and we could have stayed for another 11 days. When I am not there, but stuck in my real life, I often reflect on the little hidden gem there in Manuel Antonio and wish I was still there.
If you are going to MA, and want to stay close to the beach, this place can't be beat. But please keep in mind, you are in the jungle, you are in a place where there are bugs and insects not common to everyone's life (such as cockroaches which does not mean filth in a latin american country). For those of you that wish to travel to paradise but stay in a place that is far removed from the costa rican culture, then stay high on the hill. But I can pretty much guarantee that no matter where you stay you will find a bug or something. (and this is coming from someone who hates bugs!)
But for those of you that want to go somewhere and enjoy the quiet tranquility amongst friendly staff, nature and a monkey or two, or want to have the option of taking a stroll to the ocean front (maybe 100 steps down the path), or just sitting by the pool or on your patio enjoying a book or the atmosphere, this place can't be beat. There isn't a restaurant here (but breakfast is included in the price of the room and is available at their sister site a short walk up the road), there is WIFI but it is a bit spotty at times (but geez, who cares anyway? You are in paradise!) then stay here! It can't be beat nor can the staff be or do any better! We will be back many more times!

Room Tip: Room 9 on the end. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place was the low point of my Costa Rica trip.
It was, by far, the worst money for value room I have ever rented.
As soon as we got there we were greeted by the cockroaches in the cabin. Yes, 94 dollars a night for a room with cockroaches. During the night we were awaken several times because of the rats between the ceiling and the roof. Unbelievable racket.
Breakfast food was ok, and the food room was pretty though. Location is good.

I strongly discourage anyone from staying there, at least while they charge such ridiculous prices.

Room Tip: stay away from the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We got a very early start to avoid the Holy Week traffic exodus from the central valley. Arrived in Quepos before 9am and stopped for breakfast at a tiny soda. Arrived at the hotel before 10am so we were too early to get the room keys as it wasn't quite ready for us. Spent the morning relaxing and lounging by the pool. A perfect start to our 3 day getaway.
This time I stayed in the standard room, so no kitchen, but did have a fridge, coffee maker & safe. Very cozy room with 3 beds for the 4 of us. Air conditioning made for very comfortable and restful sleep. Housekeeping kept the room immaculate each day. I didn't bring my laptop, but my friend said the WiFi connection speed was good. Room rate included buffet breakfast.
The open-air restaurant is about a 5 minute walk from the 'cabinas' to their 'hotel.' I have to say that breakfast was a delight - one of the best buffets I have ever seen: cold cereal, pancakes with syrup/honey/jam, a variety of fresh cut tropical fruit, salchichón, eggs, fried plantains, coffee, fruit juice and a few more things I can't quite remember. Wait staff was very attentive and the atmosphere was very relaxed and inviting.
The cabinas are ideally located about a 5 minute walk from the main road & beach, and just a few minutes from the main entrance to Manuel Antonio park. Close to everything, yet quiet and isolated enough so that noise isn't a concern. The grounds are beautifully maintained and there is a verdant wetlands area to the West of the parking lot and swimming pool. The pool has outdoor showers and public restrooms so you can easily enjoy use of the pool upon early arrival or late departure. Covered walkways outside of the rooms have wooden chairs for reading or just sitting and watching a tropical rainstorm. There are several cement tables with benches, if you wanted to picnic or barbeque with a small hibachi.
Most areas of the cabinas grounds appear to be wheelchair accessible via narrow cement ramps including the office, pool and guest rooms. I am unsure of wheelchair access to the restaurant as the main route we followed daily past the 'hotel' pool climbed several steps to the seating area.
A word of caution about walking especially near the pool. There are narrow cement drainage ditches with metal grates covering them. I noticed that a few of the metal grates were bent and did not sit completely flush with the ground - at the end of the ditch away from high traffic/walking areas.
Remember to bring your beach towel or blanket to cover the chairs or loungers by the pool. I saw someone changing a diaper on a lounger with nothing between the baby and the fabric of the chair.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had a great time here. It is very close to the beach, stores, restaurants and the national park. The rooms are small, clean and a bit cramped but they do have air conditioning. It was nice to have a small kitchen to keep snacks and water cold, and a patio area right outside our door. We had the unit on the end which was very quiet. The pool area is very nice with a banos next to it. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to help with anything you need. I got sick an hour before a tour and they were able to move my friend to another tour that would take one person and refund my money. They could have just as well told me it was too bad! Outstanding!!!!! On the day we left, they provided us with a box breakfast the night before because our van was picking us up before breakfast. Our van was an hour late because of a flat tire. They moved all our luggage inside for us and made sure we were comfortable while we waited. Very nice place to stay and highly recommended. Very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your post. We are always pleased to help and give quick solutions.
Greetings from Manuel Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabinas Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Espadilla

Address: 300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Espadilla Cabins is a beautiful little beach hotel located just one minute from the beach in Manuel Antonio. It has 16 units surrounded by beautiful gardens, a swimming pool and parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas Espadilla Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Cabinas Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Espadilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cabinas Espadilla to your Saves list