We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Economy Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Espadilla

Save Saved
You added Cabinas Espadilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Espadilla
300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Economy Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had a great time here. It is very close to the beach, stores, restaurants and the national park. The rooms are small, clean and a bit cramped but they do have air conditioning. It was nice to have a small kitchen to keep snacks and water cold, and a patio area right outside our door. We had the unit on the end which was very quiet. The pool area is very nice with a banos next to it. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to help with anything you need. I got sick an hour before a tour and they were able to move my friend to another tour that would take one person and refund my money. They could have just as well told me it was too bad! Outstanding!!!!! On the day we left, they provided us with a box breakfast the night before because our van was picking us up before breakfast. Our van was an hour late because of a flat tire. They moved all our luggage inside for us and made sure we were comfortable while we waited. Very nice place to stay and highly recommended. Very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your post. We are always pleased to help and give quick solutions.
Greetings from Manuel Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We loved this place and I am so glad that I chose it. The location of this place cannot be beat if you are wanting to be near the ocean, stores, and national park. Cainas Espadilla is located close to the Manual Antonio Public Beach and Manuel Antonio National Park. It is also convientally located to catch the bus to the top of the hill and Quepos. The rooms are nice size, contain a safe and refrigerator, and the air conditioning is strong. The grounds are great and the swimming pool has a temperature almost like a thermal springs. I can't believe how much time we spent at the pool talking to other people. A plus for this hotel has to be the staff. They are friendly and helpful. My only issue was missing meat (sausage or bacon) when the buffet was not open for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello! Thanks a lot for your kind comment.

We are glad you liked the property's location, our pool and gardens. We'll make sure to serve some meat on our breakfast buffet more often.

It's always nice to know that our guests will not forget our smile and desire to be helpful.

Pura Vida,
Milena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helens, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I loved this place and really enjoyed my stay. Beautiful location, quiet and relaxing, easy walk to everything, great service. While traveling in Costa Rica, I stayed in four different hotels in this price range, and this was the best. Highly recommended...definitely a bargain.

Room Tip: I had a room right across from the office, close to the pool and the road, but it was still very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hello Rick!
Thanks for your good comments and punctuation in service and quality. We are flattered and happy to continue working to provide quality service in the midst of this natural paradise. Without neglecting our beautiful natural resources. Thanks also for posting the beautiful photos. The frog is fantastic! A big hello from all the staff of Espadilla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

stayed at Cabinas Espadilla with small children for 2 weeks, accomodation is very good, rooms are not big but clean everytime, staffs at front desk are very helpful and care for all things you ask especially finding the best excursions for your needs. And you can save a certain money by spending a little time on asking for prices and discounts.

Cabinas don't offer food - for breakfast you'll have a 2 min walk to Hotel Espadilla where you get an actually good and rich breakfast. For dinner and lunch you can go there too but you have other possibilities around the Cabinas so everyone should find the right place according to his needs and money.

The Manuel Antonio National Park is very near (5 min to walk, at night you definitely will hear the howler monkeys ;-) additionally the hotel has it's own hiking trail close to the park that (when we were there) unfortunately was closed because of damages caused by a storm.

There are a lot of standard excursions (canopying, snorkeling, diving, hikes through the NP... ) I recommend a trip driving 90 min south to next National Park Marina Balleno for snorkeling and watching dolphins and maybe whales ;-)
But even relaxing at the pool (watching the lizzards) or at the beach without any special activity makes a great vacation!
There is free WiFi in the rooms and the pool is very clean, and: when paying your balance check the exchange rate they use to charge your credit card...

The Manuel Antonio area is a touristic hot spot - there are crowds of tourists!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hello SteffanDD!
Greetings from Espadilla Staff to you and your family
and thank you very much for your good comments!
We are pleased you found a convenient location on Cabinas Espadilla.
A part of the private trail is now open, for your future visit :)
Exchange rate on costarican central bank changes every day and we have to adjust it, every time.
Pura vida and we hope you can come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The location is excellent. A short walk to the Manuel Antonio Park. Yafat at the front desk goes over and above to accommodate your needs. Also they have a great restaurant and pool with bright coloured cabinas.

Cabinas Espadilla meets your needs, when visiting Manuel Antonio..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hello Anits!
Thanks for your nice review !
Comments and ratings like yours motivate us to keep giving an excellent service.
Hope you can come back soon!
All the best,
Yafet, Milena & All Cabinas Espadilla's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Yafat at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed talking with him. He was very accommodating and he was a great resource for information!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi Tammy!
We are pleased that Yafet offered excellent service and information. We are always attentive to the needs of our customers. It was a pleasure serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel is a bit on the modest side, but quite comfortable and the location just about cannot be beat. We stayed here two nights when we came to the park. We found the hotel as we were driving by because alot of the hotels are on the main drag and it is quite busy. This end near the part is nice because you can walk on the beach at night. The pool was very nice and warm which I love! There are some nice tourist shops across the street. Across the street closer to the entrance is a hotel that has a great breakfast! I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I picked on the beach because you just cannot get much closer. We stayed near the pool which I love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Hola! Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, our pool and our breakfast, we work every day to please our customers.
Pura Vida!
Milena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabinas Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Espadilla

Address: 300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Espadilla Cabins is a beautiful little beach hotel located just one minute from the beach in Manuel Antonio. It has 16 units surrounded by beautiful gardens, a swimming pool and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Cabinas Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Espadilla Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Cabinas Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Espadilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.