We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Espadilla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabinas Espadilla to your Saves list
Cabinas Espadilla
300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Helens, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I loved this place and really enjoyed my stay. Beautiful location, quiet and relaxing, easy walk to everything, great service. While traveling in Costa Rica, I stayed in four different hotels in this price range, and this was the best. Highly recommended...definitely a bargain.

Room Tip: I had a room right across from the office, close to the pool and the road, but it was still very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hello Rick!
Thanks for your good comments and punctuation in service and quality. We are flattered and happy to continue working to provide quality service in the midst of this natural paradise. Without neglecting our beautiful natural resources. Thanks also for posting the beautiful photos. The frog is fantastic! A big hello from all the staff of Espadilla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

stayed at Cabinas Espadilla with small children for 2 weeks, accomodation is very good, rooms are not big but clean everytime, staffs at front desk are very helpful and care for all things you ask especially finding the best excursions for your needs. And you can save a certain money by spending a little time on asking for prices and discounts.

Cabinas don't offer food - for breakfast you'll have a 2 min walk to Hotel Espadilla where you get an actually good and rich breakfast. For dinner and lunch you can go there too but you have other possibilities around the Cabinas so everyone should find the right place according to his needs and money.

The Manuel Antonio National Park is very near (5 min to walk, at night you definitely will hear the howler monkeys ;-) additionally the hotel has it's own hiking trail close to the park that (when we were there) unfortunately was closed because of damages caused by a storm.

There are a lot of standard excursions (canopying, snorkeling, diving, hikes through the NP... ) I recommend a trip driving 90 min south to next National Park Marina Balleno for snorkeling and watching dolphins and maybe whales ;-)
But even relaxing at the pool (watching the lizzards) or at the beach without any special activity makes a great vacation!
There is free WiFi in the rooms and the pool is very clean, and: when paying your balance check the exchange rate they use to charge your credit card...

The Manuel Antonio area is a touristic hot spot - there are crowds of tourists!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hello SteffanDD!
Greetings from Espadilla Staff to you and your family
and thank you very much for your good comments!
We are pleased you found a convenient location on Cabinas Espadilla.
A part of the private trail is now open, for your future visit :)
Exchange rate on costarican central bank changes every day and we have to adjust it, every time.
Pura vida and we hope you can come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The location is excellent. A short walk to the Manuel Antonio Park. Yafat at the front desk goes over and above to accommodate your needs. Also they have a great restaurant and pool with bright coloured cabinas.

Cabinas Espadilla meets your needs, when visiting Manuel Antonio..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hello Anits!
Thanks for your nice review !
Comments and ratings like yours motivate us to keep giving an excellent service.
Hope you can come back soon!
All the best,
Yafet, Milena & All Cabinas Espadilla's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Yafat at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed talking with him. He was very accommodating and he was a great resource for information!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi Tammy!
We are pleased that Yafet offered excellent service and information. We are always attentive to the needs of our customers. It was a pleasure serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel is a bit on the modest side, but quite comfortable and the location just about cannot be beat. We stayed here two nights when we came to the park. We found the hotel as we were driving by because alot of the hotels are on the main drag and it is quite busy. This end near the part is nice because you can walk on the beach at night. The pool was very nice and warm which I love! There are some nice tourist shops across the street. Across the street closer to the entrance is a hotel that has a great breakfast! I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I picked on the beach because you just cannot get much closer. We stayed near the pool which I love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Hola! Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, our pool and our breakfast, we work every day to please our customers.
Pura Vida!
Milena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was a great little reasonably priced place to stay within walking distance of the park entrance and the restaurants near the beach. Good service, nice pool, set back from the road. Breakfast is across the street at the Espadilla Hotel. We really liked the location. Room was basic, nothing fancy. Would be good for a family. Howlers started howling about 5:30am.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Hi Snorkeler!
We are happy that you liked our cabins. We hope you visit us again. Many thanks for your nice comment, motivates us to move forward.
Greetings from the sunny Manuel Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We arrived without a reservation as we were looking for a place that fit all our needs. Close to everything, safe, clean,comfy bed,,pool,good food and price. This place has it all and more. Jasef and Mellina are long time employees and a Costa Rican family owns the business. The property is tidy and steps away from the beach but still private. All staff is friendly and the cabinas share facilities with its hotel just a minute down the street, with yet another pool with swimup bar. Restaurant is like 5 star and it served up the best fettuchini alfredo I ever ate.We left for Dominoco for a night but are right back here again and they fit us in even for just one night. Must leave heading back to San Jose and home but will for sure return right back here next trip. Best stay yet on our trip of two weeks in C.R.

Room Tip: Kitchenettes are availiable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Hello! First of all a warm greeting from all the staff working in Espadilla Cabins.
We want to thank you for your review. Your words inspire us to grow in service, facilities and hospitality.
We are very proud to be a 100% Costa Rican.
We look forward to your next visit , as it is a pleasure to serve you.
Muchas Gracias por su visita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#23 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Inn on the Park
Hotel Inn on the Park
#41 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Hotel Playa Espadilla
#22 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#25 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karahe Hotel
Karahe Hotel
#33 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#24 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Espadilla

Address: 300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Espadilla Cabins is a beautiful little beach hotel located just one minute from the beach in Manuel Antonio. It has 16 units surrounded by beautiful gardens, a swimming pool and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Espadilla Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Cabinas Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Espadilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.