We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Espadilla

Save Saved
You added Cabinas Espadilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Espadilla
300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Customer Service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The location is excellent. A short walk to the Manuel Antonio Park. Yafat at the front desk goes over and above to accommodate your needs. Also they have a great restaurant and pool with bright coloured cabinas.

Cabinas Espadilla meets your needs, when visiting Manuel Antonio..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hello Anits!
Thanks for your nice review !
Comments and ratings like yours motivate us to keep giving an excellent service.
Hope you can come back soon!
All the best,
Yafet, Milena & All Cabinas Espadilla's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Yafat at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed talking with him. He was very accommodating and he was a great resource for information!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi Tammy!
We are pleased that Yafet offered excellent service and information. We are always attentive to the needs of our customers. It was a pleasure serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel is a bit on the modest side, but quite comfortable and the location just about cannot be beat. We stayed here two nights when we came to the park. We found the hotel as we were driving by because alot of the hotels are on the main drag and it is quite busy. This end near the part is nice because you can walk on the beach at night. The pool was very nice and warm which I love! There are some nice tourist shops across the street. Across the street closer to the entrance is a hotel that has a great breakfast! I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I picked on the beach because you just cannot get much closer. We stayed near the pool which I love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Hola! Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, our pool and our breakfast, we work every day to please our customers.
Pura Vida!
Milena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was a great little reasonably priced place to stay within walking distance of the park entrance and the restaurants near the beach. Good service, nice pool, set back from the road. Breakfast is across the street at the Espadilla Hotel. We really liked the location. Room was basic, nothing fancy. Would be good for a family. Howlers started howling about 5:30am.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Hi Snorkeler!
We are happy that you liked our cabins. We hope you visit us again. Many thanks for your nice comment, motivates us to move forward.
Greetings from the sunny Manuel Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We arrived without a reservation as we were looking for a place that fit all our needs. Close to everything, safe, clean,comfy bed,,pool,good food and price. This place has it all and more. Jasef and Mellina are long time employees and a Costa Rican family owns the business. The property is tidy and steps away from the beach but still private. All staff is friendly and the cabinas share facilities with its hotel just a minute down the street, with yet another pool with swimup bar. Restaurant is like 5 star and it served up the best fettuchini alfredo I ever ate.We left for Dominoco for a night but are right back here again and they fit us in even for just one night. Must leave heading back to San Jose and home but will for sure return right back here next trip. Best stay yet on our trip of two weeks in C.R.

Room Tip: Kitchenettes are availiable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Hello! First of all a warm greeting from all the staff working in Espadilla Cabins.
We want to thank you for your review. Your words inspire us to grow in service, facilities and hospitality.
We are very proud to be a 100% Costa Rican.
We look forward to your next visit , as it is a pleasure to serve you.
Muchas Gracias por su visita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel is well situated, near the entrance of the park. Unfortunately, the rooms are very small (2 adults, one baby), but they have a kitchenette with fridge. All the rooms are situated next to the pool. Not much privacy because the pool is not far from the main gate and the road. Very helpfull staff. Breakfast is served in the nearby situated Hotel Espadilla, and the guests from Cabinas can use the Hotels' swimmingpool. The shower was not very good, and I had to go near the swimming pool to have WIFI. But overall a good place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Hi Michelle, I want to thank you for your comment. Customer feedback help us a lot, that's why this 2012 we are in the process of renovating kitchens and showers. I'll be posting photos of such improvements.
We are delighted that the location of the cabins have been to your liking on your partner and your baby. We'll also work on site care for the noise next door with safety and maintenance staff.
Once again thank you very much for visit and your post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We spent several days at Cabinas Espadilla over New Year’s Eve. It has a basic layout but the bougainvillea, lush greenery, arches, fountain, pool, and terra cotta roof give it that Central American charm. The room was fine and even had a decent sized refrigerator. The shower wasn’t great but it was functional. Unfortunately, the windows are slotted, which means they don’t close with a seal. This means you hear what’s happening outside your room. In our case, our first few nights were across the street from a backpackers’ bar, which meant loud music all day. Much to our relief, it ended about 10 or 10:30 - Manuel Antonio is not a late-night town. It wasn’t a big deal, but it would have been nice to hear birds and nothing else. Later in the week, we changed rooms and upgraded to a kitchenette. It really wasn’t worth the extra money since the kitchen equipment was so old I was afraid to touch it. But having a kitchen sink and counter was useful. Unfortunately, that room was the corner of three walkways, which meant lots of neighbor noise as people walked to and from their rooms.

The hotel location is great. It’s tucked away behind the beach and beachfront craziness, which means we could walk to everything, including the beach and National Park, but could come back to our little oasis when the chaos got too much.

The staff was so helpful. They really made a difference. We spent hours in the office trying to arrange tours (it was high season and with a baby, we had lots of restrictions). Both the young man and the woman spent lots of time calling multiple tour companies, asking questions and trying to get me onto tours. The woman even loaned me bus money to get somewhere since I only had a $20! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 16 is near the street...and the backpackers' bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mile_Espadilla, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Michelle thanks for your comment!

Although the noise from our neighbor (backpackers place) is beyond our control. We talked with their manager and the noise of the place is much smaller. Furthermore we are working in each of the windows, to achieve them completely sealed. Thank you very much for doing so noticed.

Fortunately Espadilla Cabins was your oasis during your stay in new year' s eve, we are pleased that our facility has found a peaceful, safe environment for you and your family.

We always try to be alert to serve our customers in the best way!
Thanks and greetings from Espadilla-Manuel Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabinas Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Espadilla

Address: 300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Espadilla Cabins is a beautiful little beach hotel located just one minute from the beach in Manuel Antonio. It has 16 units surrounded by beautiful gardens, a swimming pool and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Cabinas Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Espadilla Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Cabinas Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Espadilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.