We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Plantacion (Big Ruby's)

La Plantacion (Big Ruby's)
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Plantacion (Big Ruby's)
Save Saved
You added La Plantacion (Big Ruby's) to your Saves list
Apto 94-6350, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York
1 review
“Best holiday ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

The best gay holiday we've ever had, La Plantacion is the perfect destination in Costa Rica. The property is absolutely beautiful, with immaculately manicured grounds surrounding the pool area, and the rooms themselves are superb. The staff are amazing, all of them accommodating, even though we don't speak Spanish, making our stay incredible. Leslie is so passionate and lovely, he made our stay absolutely perfect - he should definitely get a raise! I can't stop thinking about our vacation, and can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Absolutely perfect GAY destination
  • Disliked — nothing, it was perfect
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

Terrible experience.
We didn`t find a place to stay.....we arrived very late at night......at the morning the "big surprise".............
Definetly....if you are not gay....simply don`t stay there !!!

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — just for gays
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

I would come back and stay here again. It was absolutely a great place to stay. Staff was friendly, helpful, and went beyond the normal for me.

  • Liked — Great gay hotel, felt very welcome
  • Disliked — No Ocean view
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

When considering booking a gay hotel near Quepos and Manuel Antonio, I was torn between the ones with ocean views, vs. the ones on the other side of the street more in the "jungle". The websites made them all seem similar. Here's what we learned when we got there: None of the hotels are on the beach in this immediate area. There are several miles between the ones with an ocean view, and the actual ocean. The ocean side hotels are on much more of a slope, so you have to deal with ALOT of stairs at those properties. The view at Casa Blanca is not worth climbing the Washington Monument to get to your room, neither was the room itself.

After one night we moved over to Big Ruby's for the rest of the week. When we walked in and saw the place, we were floored. It's gorgeous, and the website doe NOT do it justice! Yes it was more expensive, but not double as previously stated. We had a deluxe room on the first floor (so, no, their not all on the second floor). We liked the first floor better because other guests stopped to meet/say hi when you're sitting on your patio. No bug or critter problems. The staff is wonderful. Bill the manager asked everyday if everything was OK and could he get us anything. Leslie at the front desk is the most accomodating you'll ever meet. Paulo at the bar is a sweetheart, and no he doesn't make his own hours. The hotel bar closes at 9PM.

I would stay at La Plantacion before Villa Roca or Casa Blanca even if the rates got higher. It's that much nicer. My only regret is not checking the bar bill long before we checked out. No idea the bar drink prices were so high.

  • Liked — It's design, service and location are wonderful!
  • Disliked — Bar drink prices surprisingly high
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHMike
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the hotel property was. It's not much to write home about from the street, but once you step out of the office it's paradise. Although there's no ocean view from the rooms the view of the pool and gardens are amazing. The room we had was spacious and very clean. The linens were top notch and the small touches like fresh flowers and bathrobes were nice.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Paulo, the bartender was a hoot and makes a delicious mango margarita!
I definitely recommend the zip line tour with Jose. That was the best $65 I've ever spent. The tour lasted 5 hours including transporation to and from the canopy and the meal that is served at the end of the tour was delicious!
I highly recommend renting a car and driving to Quepos if flying into San Jose....but make sure you rent a GPS Navigation system if it's offered...the roads are not well marked so finding your way around can be difficult without one. National rents them along with their rentals for $8/day...well worth the money.
I'm already planning a group trip back to this hotel with friends. It's well worth the cost!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

I had a truly wonderful time at Big Ruby's-La Plantacion. I had been to the Big Ruby's in Key West and based upon that experience, booked a room here.

The hotel is not on the beach and there are no ocean views. If you want that, go accross the street to other gay guest house.

What you have at Big Ruby's is a self contained, lush tropical garden. The property consists of a main house, with an open air salon, bar area and a lovely pool, which is clothing optional. There are about six or so bungalows and two other larger buildings with suites in them. All have private terraces. The grounds are gated and entry is restricted to guests. Once you check in, there are no worries about theft and you can drink the tap water!

When I was there, the guest mix was great. All gay men, about 70% from the US and the rest from Europe. All were friendly and there was a refreshing lack of attitude from both the guests and the staff.

I stayed in bungalow #4 which is in the back and has it's own and secluded view.

  • Liked — Location, luxury, all-gay guesthouse
  • Disliked — No ocean view
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

from the moment we checked in we loved it! The room was perfect with our own private patio. The staff was great and knew how to answer our questions. The pool/hot tub and other guests were perfect and hot!

  • Liked — pool area and gardens
  • Disliked — had to leave too soon
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Plantacion (Big Ruby's)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plantacion (Big Ruby's)

Address: Apto 94-6350, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
La Plantacion (Big Ruby`s) Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Plantacion (Big Ruby's) Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plantacion (Big Ruby's), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.