We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Mymosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Mymosa to your Saves list
Villas Mymosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Apdo. 271-6350, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed at this place on room 10 from November 23 to November 27 2011. The place is great, a bit noisy as it's closed to the main road but over all the place is good for the price. The staff is helpful and very pleasant, always willing to help. The beach is five minutes away by bus ( bus stop is right in front of the place) you can drive and pay for parking too. Be sure to bring cash as there's no bank machine in Manuel Antonio there's one half way to the beach closed to Barba roja.
The pool is nice and the grounds are clean, the place is cleaned every day. They could use some new pillows but that's just minimals issues. It's perfect for families with kids although the pool is quite deep and you must keep an eye on little ones if they don't know how to swim.
There's many restaurants within walking distance, even one in the villas. Or you can stop in quepos and buy your food and cook in the villas full equipped kitchen.
I liked this place. It was good for the price.

Room Tip: The front room by the pool are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Mymosa. Ron, Julie and Carlos were great. My kids loved the pool and the food...what more could you ask for. We parked our rental in the lot and didn't use it, instead opted for the bus system. Our excursions were planned by the staff and were everything we asked for. As for the ants...you are in the tropics. We kept all our food sealed up. Having a kitchen was key.
When we travel back to the Quepos area, we will definitly stay at Villa Mymosa.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We were getting ready to book our vacation for next year and as we always stay at Villas Mymosa, I wanted to read the latest reviews. We will again book at Villas Mymosa and will again book a Jr Villa as they are the most economical for our family. There are nicer Villas but they are more expensive. We also had an ant problem our first year there until we learned about keeping all food products put away and the counters clean, after all, this is the tropics. Finally, in response to the previous writer, on our return to Canada our final credit card bill always matched the current exchange rate on the check out date. As we are on a budget, I always check this for accuracy. The staff at Villas Mymosa have always been very helpful and accommodating to our entire family which is one of the main reasons we continue to return there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We were initially shown room #3, garden view, when we checked in, but after seeing the room decided we could not stay in there - same reasons as a previous review. When I inquired at the front desk if there was a poolside room available, we were immediately given a poolside room which was lovely, except for all the ants in the rooms.

What I don't understand is why would they show us the lesser quality room when a better room was indeed available and could have been given to us initially upon check in? It was time consuming and frustrating to change rooms and we were extremely tired after driving 5 or more hours to get to Quepos.

We decided to leave one day early (we had booked for 5 nights and stayed 4 nights) and were not penalized for leaving early, so we complement the management on this.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

room swarming with ants resulted in raid attack to no avail; management blamed it on food left out (in a unit with a kitchen), but didnt explain ants in bathroom

only dining area was outside, but stench of sewage made that area unusable

Of greatest concern was manipulation of currency exchange. Credit card was billed on date of reservation (six weeks prior to visit), using an exchange rate that was higher than existed on that day. With the dollar falling over 10% in the intervening six weeks, actual charge was more than 10% higher than it should have been.

When asked about it, they said they would recalculate and credit my card. Still waiting for that to happen....

The falling value of the dollar affects tourists as well as hoteliers, and there is no excuse for taking advantage of foreign tourists in this way. If rates are quoted in dollars, they should be charged in dollars, not using an inflated and dishonest exchange rate

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

This is the tale of two hotels. The rooms facing the pool above grade look bright and pleasant. These must be the ones getting good reviews. But, like the another negative reviewer, we had the misfortune of booking garden view junior villa #3. It's around back, a walk-out basement essentially. And it was musty, moldy, dreary and dingy. Plus we were greeted by a large roach in the bathroom.

We decided immediately to bail on Villas Mymosa, the first time ever in my travels that I've refused to stay in a hotel.

To his credit, the owner granted a refund, albeit a bit grudgingly, saying he'd never had a complaint about the room. Well, there was a barely working A/C unit, a dehumidifier with a full tank, and another "air ionizer" appliance all in that one unit. I don't think one installs all that in a room that if all's well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

This is a great little place with a friendly staff. We spent 10-days at the Villas Mymosa and the staff was always accomodating and pleasant. The food was top notch and the rooms are well maintained and clean. When we go back to CR, we will definitely visit the Villas Mymosa again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villas Mymosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Mymosa

Address: | Apdo. 271-6350, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Mymosa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Villas Mymosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Mymosa Hotel Quepos
Mymosa Hotel Quepos
Villas Mymosa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Mymosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.