We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and plenty of monkeys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel and plenty of monkeys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Issimo Suites is beautiful. Hotel is really small and nice, pool is neat and is frequented by monkeys daily (when there is no rain). Bring plenty of bananas and you will get a good show. No outside jacuzzi but the one in the room was really nice, used it every night. Rooms were really nice and they did a excellent job cleaning them and making them feel cozy and romantic with rose petals. Would stay again. If you dont have a rental car then it could be a problem, we found it very easy to go into town via a our rental, or go over to the many hotels that have bars on the way to Manuel Antonio. The park is a must visit as well, it was amazing. Breakfast was good, never ate in the restaurant because we went kept going to El Avion up the road which is a great place to get drinks and dinner. Manuel Antonio area is a bit touristy so beware of people trying to sell you tours, you really dont need one. The park is self explanatory, just look up and you will see plenty of wildlife.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    115
    45
    17
    15
See reviews for
27
420
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Very intimate hotel with only 13 rooms, we stayed there 8 nights and the longer we stayed the more we loved it. Everyone was so friendly. From the two brothers that own it, Timothy and Dave, to Elizabeth and Alex who helped us setup all of our events, to the morning and evening wait staff. The room we stayed in was awesome, 2 levels with a spectacular view. The pool is small, but there are only 13 rooms so it was never overly crowded. Great location to walk to Manuel Antonio, it is a longer walk but great for a lazy workout, about 45 minutes on the main road but there is short cut that takes about 25, there are always cabs and shuttles run 4 times a day. We loved Costa Rica, especially the vibe of Manuel Antonio and Issimo Suites, highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Often vacations are remembered for one moment, something that might define the true significance of a journey. For my wife and I, Issimo's views were unforgettable.We would sit on our balcony and look out in peace and tranquility drawn to the rain forest amidst the ocean. Every morning we would enjoy a breakfast served by the most delightful waiters, and look out at the beauty of of the Pacific Ocean. After a long day of hiking we would dunk into the refreshing pool and enjoy a cocktail/imperial looking out at the sea. This hotel is awesome, and we highly recommend it. Service was excellent, people were friendly, and the view will never be forgotten. This was truly an authentic Costa Rican experience, the local sloth even visited, and the beach down the block is a long walk but certainly worth it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Issimo Suites was a great place to stay in Manuel Antonio. The staff was all very nice, we especially loved Alex, he made us laugh and told us great stories all the time! We stayed in two different rooms during our stay, a jr. suite and a penthouse suite. Both rooms were very clean and very spacious. The views from this hotel are great, it is almost like you are staying in a tree house.
We did eat breakfast there each morning, which was average, but we never ate there for lunch or dinner.
The best part of our stay at Issimo was the monkeys! The first day we only saw one or two, but our last day by the pool was amazing! We counted 50 at one time. Some of them even came up to us. It was unbelieveable! We stayed out by the pool and watched them all for probably about two hours before they moved on.
We did have some problems one day with not having hot water in our room, but we called the front desk and they fixed it right away.
Good hotel for a good price with good service. I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We got the Honeymoon suite and the view was the best of any hotel we've ever stayed at. Just gorgeous. The food was also very good, and the service excellent. They took care of everything we needed, or wanted to know...and we had LOTS of questions! They gave us an upgrade when we found out it was our honeymoon! The road getting there is tough, but if you're going to be in Manuel Antonio for a few days, it's a great place to stay. Not walking distance to much, but pretty close to lots of things.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

OK. This was my first trip to Costa Rica. I did my research. It was a long, hard ride to the hotel, but once there.... absolute paradise. Alex at the front desk is the BEST. He goes out of his way to help with everything and he's ALWAYS pleasant. My boyfriend and I were booked for a regular room with a balcony. When talking to Alex at the front desk, we asked if the honeymoon suite was available. Within minutes, he got back to us to let us know that it was for 3 days of our stay. So, we upgraded! BEAUTIFUL! The suite is gorgeous. We barely left our room! I don't want to go on and on, although I could but if anyone reading this is like me, I can't make it through the long winded reviews whether they are good, bad or otherwise. If you are going to Costa Rica and will be in this area and are looking for a romantic getaway...STAY AT ISSIMO and upgrade if you can. You will NOT be disappointed. I know that there is plenty to do in Costa Rica and we had all intentions of zip lining but once we got to the hotel, we never left. So go and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilton connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Issimo Suites is a beautiful little boutique hotel that has extremely nice, spacious rooms with fabulous views. Everyone at the hotel was so helpful and so gracious. The breakfast was fabulous and would fill you up for the day practically. There is a shuttle that runs into town from the hotel twice a day for convenience. There is also a very nice pool that sometimes invites the monkeys as well! Not to mention a little private beach down the road that is quite nice. It is a bit of a hike to the main road, but it is not unpleasant at all...which gives you other options for eating... I highly recommend this hotel to anyone deciding to visit this area of CR. Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Venere so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.