We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Hudson, NH
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved Issimo Suites!! Visited for 2 nights in Sept. 2013 for our 20th Anniversary and loved the experience this hotel offered. Huge room, huge private deck with view of the Pacific, had dinner & breakfasts downstairs at the restaurant and the food was great. Very quiet and private, rarely saw another guest. Nice little pool with a fantastic view is just off the restaurant. We got to see a capuchin monkey at breakfast and woke up to the haunting sound of the howler monkeys at about 4am one morning...what an unbelievable sound!! Staff was extremely helpful and nice, couldn't have been happier. 5 minute drive to Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: anything with a balcony is sure to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We hope to see you soon!!!

Pura Vida!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    120
    47
    17
    16
See reviews for
27
439
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Maybe I am a hotel snob, or maybe I just like a clean healthy place to stay when I pay 200USD+ per night. Upon arriving we were greeted nicely. We went up to our room where the hot tub was filled with blue colored water and what looked like red kool-aid in two champagne glasses. The bed had bugs..which I will justify probably came from outside but the sink was nasty and I just didnt trust that bidet. I was not very happy especially since we just spent an amazing three nights at Nayara in Arenal. Our sleep was comfortable. The next morning, we did not see any monkeys and although we were up at 7am for breakfast, the breakfast buffet was sparse and the fruit was surrounded by flies who were probably there an hour before. There was a single piece of toast.

Room Tip: The area was nice. Stay in the area but stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It's very important to know, that we always check the room just before a Check In.
That is precisely why MizzVani found – to use his/her expression - “ red kool-aid in two champagne glasses”, waiting for them. Being a hotel snob, he/she should know that those were cherries, and cherries when are fresh release their (red) juice. Also... the “blue colored water” is to give a dramatic effect to the Jacuzzi.
The first thing we check before client's arrival is the bed and immediately after the bathroom. It's impossible to keep all bug outside the room, however it's slightly impossible that clients find them in/on the bed, when they check in the room.
MizzVani forgets to mention that we have special nets over the food (to protect it from flies), and that maybe the breakfast was “sparse”, because he/she went to eat late, when breakfast hours are almost over.

Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

First, do not listen to ANY negative reviews. Either they are lying or stuck up snobs! My husband and I spent a week here on our honeymoon. The views and hotel were amazing. The food was great and the service even better. The maids set our room different every day, with exotic flowers and swan towels. Everyone spoke very good English, had great recommendations and helpful with planning our week.They went above and beyond to make every second of our stay perfect. What a wonderful group of people I would like to call friends! Thank you everyone at Issimo! Jason & Nicci

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Nicciscaff ,
Thank you for your nice review!
We actually do accept negative reviews, but only when they are written with a constructive spirit, and not with the will to discredit our property.
That is why you and many other customers had a great time with us.... because we constantly try to get better.

Thank you, and we hope to see you soon!!!
Pura Vida!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place is amazing in so many ways. Checking in they provided us with fresh fruit smoothies! Our room was decorated with rose petals and a breathtaking view. The jacuzzi was truly a great bonus to staying at this hotel! The pool is a nice experience as you can watch the monkeys and sloths that are literally 100 meters away from you. It's got that jungle/romantic vibe! I highly recommend this location and it is within walking distance to restaurants and bars that are located in Manuel Antonio!

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite Room 106 has great view with a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful week-long vacation in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. We stayed at the Issimo Suites, and had a really wonderful time. The views were amazing, the service was wonderful, as everyone was helpful and always smiling. The front desk staff, Elier and Ariel, were most helpful, and Dixon in the restaurant was always eager to serve, and Margarita's room decorations were pretty awesome. I also loved how quiet and peaceful it was compared to some of the other hotels nearby - the hotel specifically catering to couples was the main reason I had chosen the hotel.

The monkey visits were our favorite part of our stay :)

It got busy at the end of our week, and there were some lapses in the appearance of the cleaning staff, but we didn't mind all that much. Our room was nice and clean most of the time. :) We did have an issue with a roof leak on a particularly rainy night (rainy season in Costa Rica means a LOT OF RAIN!!!), but they had it fixed the next day and offered us a free dinner which we took on our last night.

Some upgrades are required for Issimo Suites, which is why I give it a three star - an electronic billing system perhaps; maybe a new roof; additional cleaning staff as they seemed to have a hard time managing with the current staff, and a better menu with better prices at the restaurant (breakfast was the best meal) would help Issimo Suites go a long way. These are really things that need to be looked to by the establishment, and not the staff. I give the staff a 5-star.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Pebblesia66,
Thank you for your review.
We will consider your suggestions, and make sure the next time you visit us, you'll rate us with a five star!

Thank you again,
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Anybody giving this hotel a 5 star is crazy! We showed up the first day, and they didn't speak good english at all. We got to our room and it was 100 degrees. We turned on the A/c and went downstairs for a drink and a massage. We paid for a couples massage, but they said they only have one employee for the spa so we had to do them at different times. While my husband got his massage I sat out on the deck alone. No waiter approached me for another drink, or asked if I needed anything. Once we were both finished with the massages which were done terrible on dirty hairy sheets, we decided to have dinner there so we could get a good nights rest. The food was AWFUL!!! One server that was so slow and didnt speak any english. When we booked the room they said we got 30% off all of the food there. We ordered dessert which came frozen, and he said dessert wasnt part of the discount. I said just take the frozen garbage off the bill, he refused to. We then went to our room and it stunk of raw sewage! It was awful. I called the front desk, and they said, "oh we will be up in a minute to fix it". They left a can of lysol at the door...REALLY??! The penthouse honeymoon suite and they bring lysol? So we called to the front desk again, and said no way were we going to sleep in a room sprayed all over with lysol. They then said they would move us to a different room. We went and looked at the rooms, which were 100 degrees, and a down grade from what we paid for. We said we weren't sleeping in any of the conditions. At that point we had all of our clothes put away, and at least the stinky room was cool. We stayed in that room with promises from the front desk they would take care of it. We ended up cleaning our own toilet, and bathroom trying to find the smell problem. When we proceeded to check out we said the front desk guy said he would take care of us because of the problem. The desk girl acted like she didn't speak great English, and just kept lieing to us saying the manager couldn't help us etc. The refused to do anything about the room chaos, and charged full price for the garbage they provided.When we finally got the number to the hotel manager, the person on the other end said the manager was out with a family emergency. The front desk woman lied straight to our face about talking to manager, and we said we wouldn't come back, and would defiantly let everybody know how awful it is there. She said they don't care! Please don't stay at this hotel..Read my other recommendations for great resorts that will blow you away! This one is over priced, and dumpy!!! Customer service is not their number one priority...in this business it needs to be!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Readers,
We are not going to get into a “Dime que te diré” (gossip with negative connotations) with this customer. But there is a thing that all of you should know, specially hotel owners.
The customer wanted a free upgrade, and threaten us to write a bad review on Tripadvisor, if they (a couple) don't get it. We follow the site's guidelines to prevent this from happening (sending customer's info, etc), and still they were allowed to write a bad review.
This is not the first time that this issue happen to us, and we feel completely helpless and defenseless against customer's blackmailing, despite Tripadvisor's blackmail policies.

Thank you,
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you like the small slices of heaven in Costa Rica, then Issimo Suites is the place for you. This get*a*way was a spontaneous decision and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. The resort is absolutely beautiful and belongs nestled on the hill side of Manuel Antonio. The open aired reception area, which leads you a beautiful open dining restaurant, has a fabulous sunset view. The suites are spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated to accent the natural settings of this resort. The wildlife and flora available just outside your balcony was amazing. The pool and deck areas are very nice and comfortable, day or night. All our meals were wonderful, so nicely prepared and served with such care. The couples massage was fantastic and an hour massage for only $69 total. A smaller private beach is within a short walk down a beautiful nature path. The far end of the main beach is a longer walk but definitely worth the effort. The staff at Issimo is its most valuable asset. The reception desk personnel assist you in any and every way possible to make your stay the best it can be. We not only look forward to our next vacation to Costa Rica but returning to Issimo Suites.

Room Tip: Stayed in #107, which is actually the least expensive room, and we loved it. The room is spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Google Translation
Thank you!!!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.