We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Room, Dirty Food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Dirty Room, Dirty Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Maybe I am a hotel snob, or maybe I just like a clean healthy place to stay when I pay 200USD+ per night. Upon arriving we were greeted nicely. We went up to our room where the hot tub was filled with blue colored water and what looked like red kool-aid in two champagne glasses. The bed had bugs..which I will justify probably came from outside but the sink was nasty and I just didnt trust that bidet. I was not very happy especially since we just spent an amazing three nights at Nayara in Arenal. Our sleep was comfortable. The next morning, we did not see any monkeys and although we were up at 7am for breakfast, the breakfast buffet was sparse and the fruit was surrounded by flies who were probably there an hour before. There was a single piece of toast.

Room Tip: The area was nice. Stay in the area but stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It's very important to know, that we always check the room just before a Check In.
That is precisely why MizzVani found – to use his/her expression - “ red kool-aid in two champagne glasses”, waiting for them. Being a hotel snob, he/she should know that those were cherries, and cherries when are fresh release their (red) juice. Also... the “blue colored water” is to give a dramatic effect to the Jacuzzi.
The first thing we check before client's arrival is the bed and immediately after the bathroom. It's impossible to keep all bug outside the room, however it's slightly impossible that clients find them in/on the bed, when they check in the room.
MizzVani forgets to mention that we have special nets over the food (to protect it from flies), and that maybe the breakfast was “sparse”, because he/she went to eat late, when breakfast hours are almost over.

Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    129
    51
    19
    16
See reviews for
28
474
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

First, do not listen to ANY negative reviews. Either they are lying or stuck up snobs! My husband and I spent a week here on our honeymoon. The views and hotel were amazing. The food was great and the service even better. The maids set our room different every day, with exotic flowers and swan towels. Everyone spoke very good English, had great recommendations and helpful with planning our week.They went above and beyond to make every second of our stay perfect. What a wonderful group of people I would like to call friends! Thank you everyone at Issimo! Jason & Nicci

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Nicciscaff ,
Thank you for your nice review!
We actually do accept negative reviews, but only when they are written with a constructive spirit, and not with the will to discredit our property.
That is why you and many other customers had a great time with us.... because we constantly try to get better.

Thank you, and we hope to see you soon!!!
Pura Vida!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place is amazing in so many ways. Checking in they provided us with fresh fruit smoothies! Our room was decorated with rose petals and a breathtaking view. The jacuzzi was truly a great bonus to staying at this hotel! The pool is a nice experience as you can watch the monkeys and sloths that are literally 100 meters away from you. It's got that jungle/romantic vibe! I highly recommend this location and it is within walking distance to restaurants and bars that are located in Manuel Antonio!

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite Room 106 has great view with a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful week-long vacation in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. We stayed at the Issimo Suites, and had a really wonderful time. The views were amazing, the service was wonderful, as everyone was helpful and always smiling. The front desk staff, Elier and Ariel, were most helpful, and Dixon in the restaurant was always eager to serve, and Margarita's room decorations were pretty awesome. I also loved how quiet and peaceful it was compared to some of the other hotels nearby - the hotel specifically catering to couples was the main reason I had chosen the hotel.

The monkey visits were our favorite part of our stay :)

It got busy at the end of our week, and there were some lapses in the appearance of the cleaning staff, but we didn't mind all that much. Our room was nice and clean most of the time. :) We did have an issue with a roof leak on a particularly rainy night (rainy season in Costa Rica means a LOT OF RAIN!!!), but they had it fixed the next day and offered us a free dinner which we took on our last night.

Some upgrades are required for Issimo Suites, which is why I give it a three star - an electronic billing system perhaps; maybe a new roof; additional cleaning staff as they seemed to have a hard time managing with the current staff, and a better menu with better prices at the restaurant (breakfast was the best meal) would help Issimo Suites go a long way. These are really things that need to be looked to by the establishment, and not the staff. I give the staff a 5-star.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Pebblesia66,
Thank you for your review.
We will consider your suggestions, and make sure the next time you visit us, you'll rate us with a five star!

Thank you again,
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Anybody giving this hotel a 5 star is crazy! We showed up the first day, and they didn't speak good english at all. We got to our room and it was 100 degrees. We turned on the A/c and went downstairs for a drink and a massage. We paid for a couples massage, but they said they only have one employee for the spa so we had to do them at different times. While my husband got his massage I sat out on the deck alone. No waiter approached me for another drink, or asked if I needed anything. Once we were both finished with the massages which were done terrible on dirty hairy sheets, we decided to have dinner there so we could get a good nights rest. The food was AWFUL!!! One server that was so slow and didnt speak any english. When we booked the room they said we got 30% off all of the food there. We ordered dessert which came frozen, and he said dessert wasnt part of the discount. I said just take the frozen garbage off the bill, he refused to. We then went to our room and it stunk of raw sewage! It was awful. I called the front desk, and they said, "oh we will be up in a minute to fix it". They left a can of lysol at the door...REALLY??! The penthouse honeymoon suite and they bring lysol? So we called to the front desk again, and said no way were we going to sleep in a room sprayed all over with lysol. They then said they would move us to a different room. We went and looked at the rooms, which were 100 degrees, and a down grade from what we paid for. We said we weren't sleeping in any of the conditions. At that point we had all of our clothes put away, and at least the stinky room was cool. We stayed in that room with promises from the front desk they would take care of it. We ended up cleaning our own toilet, and bathroom trying to find the smell problem. When we proceeded to check out we said the front desk guy said he would take care of us because of the problem. The desk girl acted like she didn't speak great English, and just kept lieing to us saying the manager couldn't help us etc. The refused to do anything about the room chaos, and charged full price for the garbage they provided.When we finally got the number to the hotel manager, the person on the other end said the manager was out with a family emergency. The front desk woman lied straight to our face about talking to manager, and we said we wouldn't come back, and would defiantly let everybody know how awful it is there. She said they don't care! Please don't stay at this hotel..Read my other recommendations for great resorts that will blow you away! This one is over priced, and dumpy!!! Customer service is not their number one priority...in this business it needs to be!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Readers,
We are not going to get into a “Dime que te diré” (gossip with negative connotations) with this customer. But there is a thing that all of you should know, specially hotel owners.
The customer wanted a free upgrade, and threaten us to write a bad review on Tripadvisor, if they (a couple) don't get it. We follow the site's guidelines to prevent this from happening (sending customer's info, etc), and still they were allowed to write a bad review.
This is not the first time that this issue happen to us, and we feel completely helpless and defenseless against customer's blackmailing, despite Tripadvisor's blackmail policies.

Thank you,
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you like the small slices of heaven in Costa Rica, then Issimo Suites is the place for you. This get*a*way was a spontaneous decision and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. The resort is absolutely beautiful and belongs nestled on the hill side of Manuel Antonio. The open aired reception area, which leads you a beautiful open dining restaurant, has a fabulous sunset view. The suites are spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated to accent the natural settings of this resort. The wildlife and flora available just outside your balcony was amazing. The pool and deck areas are very nice and comfortable, day or night. All our meals were wonderful, so nicely prepared and served with such care. The couples massage was fantastic and an hour massage for only $69 total. A smaller private beach is within a short walk down a beautiful nature path. The far end of the main beach is a longer walk but definitely worth the effort. The staff at Issimo is its most valuable asset. The reception desk personnel assist you in any and every way possible to make your stay the best it can be. We not only look forward to our next vacation to Costa Rica but returning to Issimo Suites.

Room Tip: Stayed in #107, which is actually the least expensive room, and we loved it. The room is spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Google Translation
Thank you!!!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piscataway, nj
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in penthouse suite 102. I requested them balcony room before but they gave 102 which doesn't have balcony but very nice views as it's on the top floor-duplex style. We saw beautiful sunset on pacific from our room. The problem was with the shower faucet. Hot and cold water flow was not maintained and if someone else uses water at the same time in hotel, you can hardly get any water and it became annoying so we asked for change in room. Service was very nice and everyone who worked there were very helpful. They gave us room 103 which is in the middle floor and that was with balcony. Water flow was much much better and view was still spectacular. Trees partially blocked view of ocean but I am glad they are not allowed to cut trees and destroy nature for better views. Jacuzzi are good but dont stay at issimo for that coz it's not worth it. Their linens smell bad and we used perfumes all over them to get rid of that smell. We also found scorpion on our wall and when we called they took care of it immediately but that was really scary. We are vegetarians and hotel chef was very nice to make fettuccine with veggies, burrito and quesadilla and all were fantastic. Every morning we had nice breakfast also. You will definitely see Capuchin monkeys visiting and we also saw sloth. There is a small beach 10 min far and it was secluded and nice but there is no transport available from hotel unlike many others in the same area. Beaches in national park are much better in view and you will definitely see more wildlife there. The only reason why I gave 3 stars is because of staff and spectacular views and of corse monkeys.

Room Tip: Don't go for 102 (top floor) unless they promise you proper water flow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Shreya s
We are sorry about your disappointment, and that we did not fulfill your expectations.
Water flow is usually not an issue, as we have an electric pump that pushes up the water to the top of the building. We are going to have a deeper look into this matter, to see why you did not get good water flow.
We use a third party laundry service for basically two reasons: first to protect the environment, as we don't have the capacity to treat large amounts of residual waters, and second because they are professional in industrial hotel laundry cleaning. Our linens don't smell, an probably you didn't like the scent of the detergent they use; we spoke with the laundry company, and they told us that one person out of one thousand have this reaction.
We understand the fear of the scorpion, however there is nothing we can do about it. Our hotel is basically located in the jungle, and there is no way that keeps out bugs/critters. What we do is keep our rooms as clean as we can, and constantly check them. We also encourage customers not to feed monkeys, as bugs are part of their diet. We DO NOT use any kind of chemical to control bugs, to not harm the environment.
We sincerely hope that you give us another chance the next time you'll visit our country.

Thank you,
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#10 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Mariposa
Hotel La Mariposa
#12 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana Hotel & Spa
Shana Hotel & Spa
#18 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#17 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.