We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at this cute little boutique hotel for a week during our honeymoon. The room was clean and kept cool with a/c. There was a jacuzzi in the room and a balcony to view monkeys and birds by day and enjoy the spectacular sunsets over the ocean every night. The price for our standard room was reasonable and there was a discount for staying over 5 days, plus your hot breakfast is included.
We had read review that there was a private beach you could walk to but in reality its a pretty far hike, its better just to head over to Manuel Antonio beach.
The food was alright but you do get a discount if you are staying there.
The staff were friendly and all the little touches they made to the room made for a great honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Bronwyn E,
Thank you for your review!
We're really happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon!!! And We would like to see you back, for your anniversary!!!

Thank you again,
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    114
    45
    17
    14
See reviews for
27
414
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in May, lovely suite with jacuzzi, ocean views, private balcony. Staff was friendly, attentive and helpful. After reading other reviews, were disappointed not seeing many birds or any monkeys. Saw more along the walk down to the beach ~10minutes. Second evening, suddenly got a great view of a howler monkey on a tree about 20 yards outside our balcony. After straining to see one very far off in Arenal 2 days before.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better ocean views, though sunset was blocked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Google Translation
Thank you!!!!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Issimo is a small hotel (10 rooms), very peaceful, with super attentive yet not intrusive staff. Overall the hotel grew on both me and my wife - we stayed for 4 nights and really liked it.

If we were to go back, we would probably pick one of the rooms in the upper floors - our view (#110) was nice but the rooms upstairs probably had magnificent views. it's probably fair to say that the nice views are not only Issimo's but atrademark for many Manuel Antonio venues.

Only (small) snags is that the bathroom design was kind of cumbersome and had no separation from the overall room which didn't help in terms of reducing room humidity (an overall challenge in many places in Costa Rica in Green season).

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If $300+ per night is no big deal to you, then this a perfectly fine place to stay. However, we were splurging on a "second honeymoon" and it felt mediocre. The staff wasn't very friendly, the food was unimpressive and we had an ant problem in our room. The view is great, but you can get the same view from other hotels in the area that aren't as expensive. It is nice that it is "adults only". We really thought we were going to love it, but were disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Anne Z,
Thank you for taking some of your time to write a review on our hotel.
We are sorry that you did not fulfill your expectations, and we just want you to know that we always take seriously customers criticism, and and will make the necessary corrections.

Thank you

Maday Mora
General Manager
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Issimo Suites in early April 2013 for the week for our honeymoon and had the most perfect amazing time and adventure! Every part of our trip was so perfect. Ivania and Elizabeth answered all of our questions through email so quickly during the planning process the months leading up to our honeymoon. Ivania also so helpful when we arrived in setting up our excursions, along with giving us tips and advice to make sure our time outside the hotel went smoothly too.

We loved our time at the hotel, just relaxing at the pool with the beautiful views, hanging out on our private balcony in our room, enjoying time at the spa and just hanging out at the hotel, talking with the staff and practicing our spanish!

We also enjoyed our adventures - we did the zipline canopy tour, surf lessons at MA park, and the catamaran sunset boat trip the last day we were there, which was a perfect way to end our honeymoon. Each day after we came back from our adventures, either Dixon, Ivania, David, Dayeb or Arayalee, was there to ask about our day, give us cold water to drink, fruity drink during happy hour or a towel to jump in the pool and watch the sunset. We felt like family there.

We enjoyed eating at the restaurant... loved the calamari, all the fish dishes and the rice and beans! We loved the rice and beans so much, we asked the chef one night how to make his version, for when we got back home! The complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day, with fresh fruit, pasteries, juice and items off the menu. Our favorite was the tipico breakfast.

Our room was beautiful, the perfect place to call home for the week. We loved all the flower petals and candles that were put out each day, and towel animals - it made our day! We were upgraded to a top suite for our honeymoon and had amazing views of the mountains and water. Our room had panoramic windows with beautiful views. It was so romantic and peaceful.

Make sure to bring good comfortable hiking shoes to truely see all the beautiful sites around the hotel. We did the small hike down to Playa Biesanz and it was so worth it. We also noticed there was an older path leading away from the hotel to the mountain top, in the back of the property. The staff let us go explore around sunset and the path lead us to a private lookout over the water and the beach below. It was so breath taking and we were the only ones up there.

Thank you to everyone at Issimo Suites for the most perfect honeymoon. We had just hoped for a relaxing, fun trip after our wedding and we were so blessed with so much more, because of the wonderful people of Costa Rica!

Pura Vida!
Chrissy & Earl Bersamin

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Chrissy B,

(`’·.¸ (`’·.¸*¤* ¸.·’´)¸.·’)
♥ *** THANKYOU *** ♥
(¸.·’´(¸.·’´* :* `’·.¸)`’·.)

for your fantastic review!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Issimo...perfect for our much needed intimate get-away! We stayed in room 101, the honeymoon suite, which had a spectacular 350 degree panoramic view!
We enjoyed a wonderful couples massage in our room for $69!..Without fail, at 5;30AM each morning, 2 cups of delicious Costa Rican coffee awaited us outside our door...The presentation of the meals was exotic & truly delicious. Staff was friendly; service was great., Most unforgettable, was the delightful GM Maday, who treated us like family, with such warmth & caring attention to our every request. Don't miss the opportunity to stay at this unparalleled vacation experience!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a balcony...the views are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Issimo Suites charming small hotel perched on the side of a jungle covered hill overlooking the beach. The rooms are well appointed and clean. They are also are very strange in their layout and amenities. The rooms are not small, but have an open plan filled with furniture, bathtub, washing up area and an open concept toilet area (not my wife's favourite feature). The room we were in was so crowded that banging your knee on the furniture was easy to do.

When we arrived, the room was appointed with too many decorations. Rose petals scattered everywhere (roses are cheap in CR), champagne flutes filled with red water and cherries - it all looked pretty, until the flies collected in the flute water and one had to pick up all the petals.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The quality of the food was not worth the rather high prices. And alcoholic drinks were very expensive.

There is beach access, but from our experience, it's use is not generally encouraged.

Disregard the pictures of monkeys in the hotel veranda. Since feeding them is discouraged, they don't bother to come around. My wife saw one monkey for about 10 secs early one morning. Better to go to Manuel Antonio if your desire is to see wildlife.

Finally, the map accessible through tripadvisor shows an incorrect location of Issimo. If you are driving, the best advice (for CR in general) is to rent a GPS unit.

Room Tip: You could try the rooms on the top floor. From the pictures on Issimo's web site, they look far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Phineus_Fog,
Thank you for your review.
We are truly sorry that you have the perception that our hotel is overpriced.
We understand that sometimes we can't fulfill client's expectations, even if we try hard and always do our best. We don't feel that we should lower our quality, in order to lower our rates. That is not our philosophy. We provide high standards to our clients, and that is why we've been awarded with the Travelers' Choice® 2013.
We hope you had a wonderful time in our country and in Manuel Antonio, and we wish you the best.

Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Venere so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.