We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic with amazing views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very romantic with amazing views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Issimo for 6 days for our honeymoon. The first 3 nights we stayed in room 106, which had the best view! The last 3 nights we stayed in the royal suite, which had a massive terrace with a swimming pool and a hot tub! The room and terrace was amazing! The only reason I did not rate this hotel as 5 stars is due to the bug situation. The royal suite had two glass doors with large gaps leading to the terrace. These gaps allowed for bugs to entire the room. Normally, I would not complain about this since bugs come with the price of staying in a rainforest; however, the gap in the door is obvious and can easily be rectified.

The food was good, the staff is very friendly and helpful (we, especially liked our waiter Dickson), views are incredible, and rooms are very romantic. Each room has a hot tub and you receive a bottle of sparkling wine upon arrival. Coffee is brought to the door each morning. Couple's massage is great and super relaxing. It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach. The walk is down a mountain so it feels like a mild hike. We enjoyed the walk although it was a bit steep and uphill on the way back up. We went on the ATV tour and the horseback riding tour - both were great! Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear ElinalG,
Thank you for taking some of your time to write this nice review on our property.
We are fixing the gaps between the glass doors, so the bugs will not be an issue anymore.
We want to thank you again, and we sincerely hope to have you back!

Saludos y Mucha Suerte!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    120
    47
    17
    16
See reviews for
27
438
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in several hours before their check in time. We were greeted with a refreshing drink. We were shocked at how large the room was. It was very clean had plenty of space. When we walked into the room there were rose petals on the bed and around the hot tub. It was very romantic. The view of the ocean was incredible. The beach just down the hill was very private and beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Google Translation
Dear Laura E,
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

¡¡¡Saludos y Pura Vida!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked 5 nights at Issimo Suites as part of a longer CR holiday. Our room on the top floor was nicely furnished, nice views (although the balcony had no cover so it want possible to sit out there for long or you baked). However several hours after our arrival we were told there was no water. Which meant no shower after a long days travelling and no possibility to flush the toilet. Not so 5 star. The water was back on by the next morning but later that day there was a power cut - which also meant no water again because they use an electric pump to get the water to the top floor rooms. We decided at this point we wanted to leave. We walked to the hotel next door to enquire about availability. On their reception desk there was a note from the local electricty authority warning of the power cut in advance, so at least the guests were forwarned. Issimo suites denied any knowledge of advance suites, clearly they did know but chose not to let the guests know in advance. We left the next day and after several weeks wrangling with the hotel we got our money refunded for the unused nights. Frankly I would have also expected a refund for the 2 nights we did stay but they would not consider that. In my book a flushing toilet and running water for a shower are a core part of offering when you rent a hotel room. Maybe I am just too demanding.......... Of course we nver got to use the beautiful hot tub in the room either since that needed both water and power.

Other issues:
- the pool is small and lacks privacy
- the restaurant food was terrible. My pasta was from a packet. The sauce was thin and watery
- cleaning ladies always left the door between room and balcony open after they cleaned. Unfortunately this meant that floor was wet and slippery when you got back in as the afternoon showers flooded the room

There was nothing I liked about this place. We moved up the road to the hotel Maripossa from the 3rd day and things recovered. We just wish we had gone there in the first place and given Issimo Suites a big miss.

Room Tip: Try a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
MR/MRS Tabitha 22,
Power cut, it happens all the time, without warning, and the local electricity company does not warn for power suspensions. Actually, since our opening date, it never happen. The only period Manuel Antonio (the entire area) had no power and/or water for more than two hours was in Nov 2010, when the tropical storm Thomas hit us.
We would like you to contact us (maday@issimosuites.com), to discuss more about this issue.

Maday Mora
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a nice little hotel in Manuel Antonio. The room we were in had a good view from the balcony.

(Positives):
- The room was spacious and good. We weren't big fans of the bathroom/toilet layout; doesn't make for a very comfortable environment when one has to use the toilet!
- The view from the balcony and restaurant is good.
- There is a nice quiet beach just down the road. There were hardly any people there and clean.

(Negatives):
These are not so much negatives as pointing out minor points.
- Location. The hotel is off the main road going to Espadilla beach. It is quite a walk to go to the main road/restaurants. There is a small quiet beach down the road but is a steep walk back. This might not be an issue if you have a car but something to consider if you want a central location.

(Others):
- The hotel is clean and the staff friendly but I wouldn't term it luxurious.
- The food is o.k. We had better food elsewhere. I will however give them kudos for making something off the menu as my wife was not feeling well.
- They have a shuttle that goes to the beach once or twice a day, that was helpful.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear The TravellingG,
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our property.
We hope you had a wonderful vacation in our area!

¡¡¡¡Pura Vida!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a week and I'm so sad we had to leave. :(

The drive from San Jose airport to the resort was so beautiful.
When we got there, we were greeted with a refreshing watermelon cocktail - which was a nice way to start our vacation.

The view from the resort is breathtaking, I woke up every morning at 4am just to watch the sun rise and listen to the howler monkeys - what an experience!

Breakfast was simple, fresh fruits, croissants, eggs, - just enough to start the day. The lunch and dinner menu was nice (a little overpriced) - but still good. The staff also prepared my coffee every morning and left it in front of our suite which was nice.


We stayed in the junior suite, didn't really need the upgrade since we did a lot of exploring during the week. All our basic needs were provided by the room.

The pool was wonderful to end our hot days, and honestly - I could've spend all day just staring at the scenery from the pool. We even took a little hike (there's a path you can follow by the resort), saw a few lizards and horses which was neat. The beach is also just as beautiful. Be sure to bring lots of water and go early in the morning so its not TOO hot. Monkeys hang out around the resort and it was fun to watch them from our balcony.

We traveled to Quepos occasionally to eat dinner, and walked around town. The residents of the town were friendly and helped us navigate throughout. We took a taxi to quite a few places and the taxi fare was the same all around MA ($8). Ronnie's is also a wonderful place to eat authentic Costa Rican food. I had a WHOLE red snapper to myself and it was DELICIOUS.

We did the ADR Adventure excursion, and loved every minute of it. The rainforest is just gorgeous, I really did feel like I was in Jurassic Park. It was enough to satisfy my adrenaline and took up most of our day. Be sure to bring watershoes or hiking sandals.

The MA National Park tour was nice, but our guide was late for our pick up. When we got there it was very busy, but still got to see a lot of animals. I would recommend to take the 8:30am tour, as the animals are more active during the morning.

I squished in a Spa Day for myself and my boyfriend for a good deal at Issimo. I enjoyed it but my boyfriend didn't feel like the massage was deep enough. I think it really depends on who you end up with. If you want a stronger massage - asking never hurts. I loved it and was asleep the whole time.

We ended our vacation on the catamaran tour, a great way to unwind and enjoy the sights of Costa Rica.

I really wish I could have stayed longer. Costa Rica is such a beautiful country, and already miss it so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If your goal is to escape the busy, commercial, chain hotel experience and really immerse yourself in the nature and experience true peace, this is the place to go. Now, be aware that this hotel is very small and intimate. You will have spectacular views, a very unique room design, delicious food, and excellent service. Note that some of the rooms share a balcony, which is one downfall. But, I really cannot think of another negative to the less expensive junior suites. The upper suites do have their own private pool area, but the main pool at most had 4 or 5 people there during peak times and we always had several options of lounges.

The room design is very unique! Every room features a jacuzzi tub. And the shower and tub is completely open to the rest of the room. The toilet area is only separated by swing doors. But, the air conditioning worked excellent and the decor was really lovely. Huge windows in our junior suite overlooked the jungle and the ocean beyond. There were constant appearances of monkeys, birds, and even a sloth or two. Yes, the towels are a little worn, but the hotel offers so much ambiance, I really cannot complain.


The food was really excellent. We ate most meals in the dining room. The wait staff was very kind and attentive. They are very careful to give you your space during your meal and drinks and not harass. I think some fellow Americans may misinterpret this as being inattentive. We found it very pleasant. I overheard some guests also be surprised that there is no indoor dining area. It can be a little warm sometimes, but there was usually a nice breeze.

The hotel is high up on the mountain, thus it's amazing views. However, if you plan to walk in this area, be aware that the walk is very steep. There is a small beach a short walk away, but the hike back can be a challenge in the heat. Just be careful! The beach is rustic - lots of crabs around and rocky on one side. But, it's also very private.

We took a tour of the Manual Antonio Park and it was amazing! Literally saw tons of monkeys! We regret that we did not stay at the beautiful, less crowded beaches at the end of the park a little longer. I would highly recommend that - you will only need to grab a cab back to the hotel when you are finished. Be aware that although we were advised we could pay the tour by credit card, this was not the case. In general, have cash for the majority of your trip.

Oh, and I must point out the hotel policy of not allowing children. Sweet!

I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat if you want a peaceful, immersed retreat!

Room Tip: The junior suites are lower and may share a balcony with one other room. If you seek absolute privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Everything about Costa Rica is breathtaking. This area of the country is perfect! The mountains, rainforests, national parks, beaches are all within driving distance of each other. My husband and I wanted to stay away from any busy, commercial resort and Issimo suites suited our taste perfectly. After our long road trip to the hotel, we were greeted with warm smiles and cold cocktails! The hotel is small and intimate. There are gorgeous views of the ocean and forest cover. It's far enough away from the main roads to be relaxing and quiet, yet close enough to walk or taxi to the local hot spots. It's a wonderfully relaxing place to stay after a day of adventure at Manuel Antonio National Park, white water rafting, etc. All of the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We appreciated how personal the service was. Booking activities and transportation was a breeze! I must say that the food was superb!! Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all surprisingly good. You must try the guacamole!! It was fantastic. We did eat out a few times at local restaurants, but nothing was quite as good as the food we had at the hotel. The cocktails were great too, and the two for one special everyday was a nice plus. Our room, the royal suite, was perfect. I would highly recommend this room. The view from the large balcony was beautiful. We saw some amazing sunsets and wildlife. We enjoyed sunbathing and swimming in private. There’s really no reason to leave the room. The private pool was large enough and deep enough to swim in. The Jacuzzi tub was also nice for relaxing in the afternoons. The bed and sitting areas were very comfortable. The room was always clean and neat. The air conditioning worked very well also. Overall, the suite was amazing and exceeded our expectations. It was definitely worth the extra $$! One thing we loved about staying here was that there were two beaches within walking distance. The smaller beach is very close. It’s a beautiful walk during the day. However, it’s a bit strenuous up and down hill mid-day when it’s hot out. It’s not crowded, and the water and scenery is gorgeous. Everything about the hotel exceeded our expectations. Anyone would fall in love with Issimo Suites. We intend to be back soon!!!!
PURA VIDA!

Room Tip: You must stay in the royal suite!! Private sunbathing and swimming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.