We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall in love package $599
Certificate of Excellence
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Everything about Costa Rica is breathtaking. This area of the country is perfect! The mountains, rainforests, national parks, beaches are all within driving distance of each other. My husband and I wanted to stay away from any busy, commercial resort and Issimo suites suited our taste perfectly. After our long road trip to the hotel, we were greeted with warm smiles and cold cocktails! The hotel is small and intimate. There are gorgeous views of the ocean and forest cover. It's far enough away from the main roads to be relaxing and quiet, yet close enough to walk or taxi to the local hot spots. It's a wonderfully relaxing place to stay after a day of adventure at Manuel Antonio National Park, white water rafting, etc. All of the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We appreciated how personal the service was. Booking activities and transportation was a breeze! I must say that the food was superb!! Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all surprisingly good. You must try the guacamole!! It was fantastic. We did eat out a few times at local restaurants, but nothing was quite as good as the food we had at the hotel. The cocktails were great too, and the two for one special everyday was a nice plus. Our room, the royal suite, was perfect. I would highly recommend this room. The view from the large balcony was beautiful. We saw some amazing sunsets and wildlife. We enjoyed sunbathing and swimming in private. There’s really no reason to leave the room. The private pool was large enough and deep enough to swim in. The Jacuzzi tub was also nice for relaxing in the afternoons. The bed and sitting areas were very comfortable. The room was always clean and neat. The air conditioning worked very well also. Overall, the suite was amazing and exceeded our expectations. It was definitely worth the extra $$! One thing we loved about staying here was that there were two beaches within walking distance. The smaller beach is very close. It’s a beautiful walk during the day. However, it’s a bit strenuous up and down hill mid-day when it’s hot out. It’s not crowded, and the water and scenery is gorgeous. Everything about the hotel exceeded our expectations. Anyone would fall in love with Issimo Suites. We intend to be back soon!!!!
PURA VIDA!

Room Tip: You must stay in the royal suite!! Private sunbathing and swimming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    127
    50
    19
    16
See reviews for
28
470
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

So glad we got to experience Issimo! My hubby and I were in Manuel Antonio in January for a wedding. We opted to stay at Issimo, and we are so happy we did! Loved the quaint, quiet, laid back atmosphere there, and all of the staff made us feel like their family.

The view is stunning, and the full complimentary breakfast is the perfect accompaniment to the vista that includes both ocean and jungle! 'Gato' pampered us with freshly made drinks and snacks by the pool, always served with a smile! All of the food we ate on site was VERY good and fresh. And of course the daily visits from the monkeys and bird life were a real treat!

I must re-iterate that ALL of the staff we encountered here were top notch and so hospitable. They exercised a fine balance between giving us personal space, yet going out of their way to make our stay even more enjoyable.

When checking in we were first taken to a downstairs room, and requested different accommodations, simply because we wanted a private balcony (some of them are shared). The staff was very nice to offer us a different room, although we did have to pay a little higher rate. Our room was perfectly romantic with the Jacuzzi tub and open shower, and daily pampering of rose petals and toweligami (yes I made that word up).

As far as location, we were a short, inexpensive cab ride from town, excursions and numerous restaurants. There is also a nice little beach area just a walk down from the property. If you’re looking for a quiet, intimate, sumptuous tree house, at a great value - I think you’ve found your spot! The only drawback is we didn't want to leave.

Thank you, Issimo and Staff, for welcoming us into your beautiful ‘home’ for the week!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What an amazing place to stay. Staff was super attentive and friendly, food was amazing and simply a relaxing place place. Very recommended. Spa was amazing and very reasonable in prices. No kids resort a big huge plus.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Gdiaz1010,
THANK YOU!!!!
We sincerely hope you come visit us again!!!

¡Hasta Pronto, y mucha suerte!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I would absolutely recommend Issimo hotel to anyone. That said-- I think it's relevant to understand why that is.

To be very clear, the property itself i would rate as a 4 out of 5. The room my husband and I stayed in was moderately sized, and you should not expect a huge hotel with multiple pools and restaurants and tons of amenities. The linens and towels were definitely clean, however a little worn from use. The pool was beautiful, but not overly large. I'd classify the actual building as a homey feeling boutique hotel (as opposed to a ultra luxurious resort).

That said-- the location, surroundings , views, etc make this gem an exceptional value. You are literally sleeping among monkeys, exotic birds, and other jungle animals... Not to mention within an earshot of the ocean. Words cant properly describe the incredible ambiance. On 2 occasions we saw monkeys right outside our window or just above us while we were dining. The sound of running water from the hotel's fountain does wonders for the soul. The cabana area gets just the right amount of sunlight, with plenty of shady areas.

Beyond that, the staff is exceptionally warm and helpful and the restaurant was actually very good. A special thank you to Dixon who especially accommodating. The free breakfast in the morning was extremely convenient, and included freshly made eggs and omelettes.

During our stay my husband and I did the ziplining tour and the Manuel Antonio tour-- both well priced and booked via the hotel. Another perk-- you can walk to a small private beach which is gorgeous, and a great spot for kayaking. Take your time on the path-- lots of wildlife to see along the way.

Thanks very much, Issimo Hotel! A wonderful place to spend our honeymoon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Cmorta,
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Your detailed review says it all!
We hope you had a wonderful time in our area and country!

Waiting for your next visit...

¡¡¡¡Hasta la Próxima y Pura Vida!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a nice little hotel, quirky, but nice. Monkeys roam the grounds, nice location. Some of the staff was great, some were disinterested. Tip early and often to get good service. Food was average, but solid.

easy to get around town from there if you are driving, but the wait for taxis can be a drag, but that is not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Nickphoenix11,
Thank you for your review.
As stated on a prior response, we are surprised about your opinion on our staff.
Our staff is well and constantly trained, and we usually have great feedback on them. If you think it's the case, you can send us more info about your experience with us here: info@issimosuites.com, so we can give a follow up and see why you were disappointed.
We hope to have you here again, next time you visit our area.

Once again, thank you!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location and spacious sweets. A little cheesy for my liking but can understand why people may like it as a honey moon location. Main issues were the staff were frankly anywhere between tolerating the guests and rude and the food was very average (however, this was a bit of a trend in Costa Rica)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Akentmm,
First, thank you for the time taken to review our property.
We are surprised about your opinion on our staff.
Our staff has been with us for a long time, and they are well and constantly trained, specially on matters related to customer service.
We understand food is subjective; customers may or may not like the way we prepare our dishes, with very mild flavors.
We're sorry that we couldn't make your vacations better, and we sincerely hope you'll give us another chance, next time you visit our county.

Thank you again

Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We didn't stay at Issimo Suites but we ate at their restaurant several times as we were staying nearby. The setting was very beautiful and especially romantic at night. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Both the young man who served us at lunch and Dickson,our evening waiter, were warm and friendly. When we returned for a second evening meal Dickson greeted us as if we were dear friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you!!!!!!
We hope next time you'll stay with us!

¡¡PURA VIDA!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.