We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A friend and I stayed at this 'couples' resort. We were very comfortable, as the hotel is really for adults, not just couples. The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms are clean and the decor is very unique. The 'open' shower is not a problem. The view from our room (109) was stunning! The staff are fantastic, and could not do enough for us. The restaurant was wonderful - the food excellent, whether breakfast or dinner. All in all, I cannot say enough about this hotel. I would absolutely stay here again, and would certainly recommend it to others! Luxury amongst paradise!!

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms in this hotel. Each one is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Google Translation
Thank you!!!!

Issimo Suites
Boutique Hotel
Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    114
    45
    17
    14
See reviews for
27
414
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, british columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very peaceful and quiet. Rooms were amazing. A few of the staff made our stay very memorable. Our bartender GATO went out of his way to make our stay special and became a good friend. David the cook was amazing, as well as the girls at the front desk. The only thing the Issimo lacked was that they closed the bar at 7pm and there was absolutely no night time entertainment. Also, if you wanted to go on the many early tours you never got breakfast. I highly recommend Ronnie's Place for dinner. It's a short walk to the private beach, don't under estimate it. The snorkelling there is pretty good, same place all the tours take you, can dive for lobster and oysters. They have snorkelling rentals on the beach, but if you want a 2 way snorkel bring your own. It's about a 15 minute walk uphill to a grocery store, or a 10 minute cab ride to either quepos or manual antonio. We used Safari Tours through the hotel, did Atv, mangrove kayaking, manual antonio national park, this company is top notch and what a blast.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Carl Z,
Thank you for writing a review on our property.
We are so glad to hear that our staff made your stay - at our hotel-, friendly and comfortable.
To guarantee intimacy, elegance and relax to our guest's romantic escapes, we don't have night entertainment on site.
Just one thing we would like to point out: our breakfast is served starting at 6:30 AM, and you can choose between buffet (self service) and “a la carte” style. That's why we don't understand what you mean by “...you never got breakfast.” Probably your tour (sport fishing or bird watching) started before our breakfast time.

Again thank you for visiting our hotel, and we hope to have you back soon!

¡¡¡¡Hasta la próxima y Pura Vida!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perm, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wonderfull hotel. Staff is friendly and helpfull, room is clean, delicious variety of breakfast, bonus - coffee every morning. Even on the balcony of your room you will not be bored. Ocean view, hummingbirds, monkeys, night sounds of the jungle ... you come in Manuel Antonio to get these impressions, aren't you? There are not many hotels where the reality is better than the beautiful brochures. Of course, some people may not like that there isn't parking for cars, that it's too hard to walk in these hills, that the same menu for lunch, that the stores are too far, that you can not rest with their children in this hotel... We traveled without children, lived for 4 days, walked mostly downhill, along the scenic road to the town beach, was meeting monkeys, sloths, squirrels and birds, everyday we spent time on the beach or at the national park and returned to our hill by bus. Everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sergie S,
Thank you!
We are happy that we met your expectations!
Our entire staff is always ready to please our guests!!
We hope you come back to Manuel Antonio soon!!

¡¡¡¡Hasta la próxima!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely place. Such nice people willing to help. Good food. The rooms were very clean and each day the maid decorated our room in some very fun way with fresh flowers and towel animals, twice she filled the tub with colored water. Monkeys came to our porch in the morning and sometimes visited the pool area.Bed was great.The pillows were too big and the blanket was too heavy but we made it work. The recommended places to eat were exceptional. MA is a fun place and lots to do if you like tours and are active. If not, you can hang at the hotel and swim and read - it is very peaceful. The beach for Issimo is a hike down and then back up a mountain and it's not that great. Everything else must be reached by cab or car. You can't walk the road, it is too windy and dangerous and also all up hill to get to anything. Great restaurants in town, Agua Azul - a favorite. The park and public beach are gorgeous. Nice trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear SharonBoston,
Thank you so much! We're pleased that you enjoyed your vacations at our hotel!
Our housekeeping department is on constant training, to keep up our high standards; as you saw, this department is always trying to exceed our customers expectations.
We hope you'll travel back to our country and Manuel Antonio soon!

¡¡¡¡Hasta luego!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

While staying elsewhere in Costa Rica, we took an excursion to Manuel Antonio and stayed at Issimo one night. Friendly service, we were met with glasses of iced tea and an offer to check our bags while our room was being prepared. Breakfast was included in the rate, and we also had lunch there -- both times, the food was exceptional. The "spa" is a very small room with massage tables, but the massage was a great deal and very relaxing. The rooms are large and very clean, and a small pot of coffee was delivered to our door in the morning. VERY comfortable bed. Didn't spend enough time in the area to check out other hotels, but would recommend Issimo as a very nice option.

Room Tip: The hotel is small...but try to get a room on the upper level for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear CDNY,
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property!
Guest Service is very important to us, and it's motivating to see that all our efforts are not in vain.
We also understand that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and that is why we try to deliver – morning after morning - the very best breakfast we can make.
Thank you again and.....

¡¡¡¡Hasta Pronto!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

where do i begin..!! Me and my boyfriend stayed a week at issimo suites to celebrate our 2 year anniversary, and what an experience.. great staff including gatto who became more of a friend, what an amazing guy to the chef who was just wonderful and put T.L.C. in every dish to the receptionist who took care of every adventure or taxi we needed to relaxing couple massage and last but not least the owner timothy who we had the pleasure of meeting and after a broken bicycle incident, put it in the back of his pick up and brought us back into town to return it. very nice guy..!! such a romantic and intimate setting, rooms are beautiful and beach just a 10 min adventurous walk.. manuel antonio park as well as quepos town are a 5-7 minute taxi in oppisite directions but lots to do. saw 3 different kinds of monkeys, sloth and many reptials and birds, we got partially scuba dive certified, the atv ride through the mountains that led to a beautiful waterfall was a thrill and zip lined through the rain forest. its a safe town with many americans and tourist, we met alot of people.. what more can you ask for.. thank you for the best vacation we ever had..!! well be back..!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Carisa H,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
We always thought that the hospitality business, should be based on human relations, that is because we always try to help our visitors in all possible ways by suggesting restaurants, activities and taking care of all their needs.
We are glad that we met your expectations, and we sincerely hope that you had a wonderful vacation in our country.

Thank you again.
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having been to Manuel Antonio previously & having stayed at Arenas del Mar, we were a little reluctant to stay anywhere else but were told they were sold out. We searched on Tripadvisor and other web sites and concluded we wanted to try Issimo Suites. We found the staff to be friendly efficient and knowledgeable. The rooms were extremely spacious and kept very clean- we had a penthouse suite with panoramic views for less than the cost of Arenas del Mar. The food in the restaurant was excellent with the extra touch of Dixon who is a fantastic waiter. Monkeys visited us on the balcony 2 out of the 6 mornings. We had a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived. The location is convenient to the National Park, shopping and restaurants within a 5 minute cab ride. All in all, a great place to stay at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: 103 was near the trees if you want a visit from the monkeys- also a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Bornabrit,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to having you at our hotel in the near future!!!!

Thank you again.
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.