We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely place. Such nice people willing to help. Good food. The rooms were very clean and each day the maid decorated our room in some very fun way with fresh flowers and towel animals, twice she filled the tub with colored water. Monkeys came to our porch in the morning and sometimes visited the pool area.Bed was great.The pillows were too big and the blanket was too heavy but we made it work. The recommended places to eat were exceptional. MA is a fun place and lots to do if you like tours and are active. If not, you can hang at the hotel and swim and read - it is very peaceful. The beach for Issimo is a hike down and then back up a mountain and it's not that great. Everything else must be reached by cab or car. You can't walk the road, it is too windy and dangerous and also all up hill to get to anything. Great restaurants in town, Agua Azul - a favorite. The park and public beach are gorgeous. Nice trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear SharonBoston,
Thank you so much! We're pleased that you enjoyed your vacations at our hotel!
Our housekeeping department is on constant training, to keep up our high standards; as you saw, this department is always trying to exceed our customers expectations.
We hope you'll travel back to our country and Manuel Antonio soon!

¡¡¡¡Hasta luego!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    119
    46
    17
    15
See reviews for
27
431
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

While staying elsewhere in Costa Rica, we took an excursion to Manuel Antonio and stayed at Issimo one night. Friendly service, we were met with glasses of iced tea and an offer to check our bags while our room was being prepared. Breakfast was included in the rate, and we also had lunch there -- both times, the food was exceptional. The "spa" is a very small room with massage tables, but the massage was a great deal and very relaxing. The rooms are large and very clean, and a small pot of coffee was delivered to our door in the morning. VERY comfortable bed. Didn't spend enough time in the area to check out other hotels, but would recommend Issimo as a very nice option.

Room Tip: The hotel is small...but try to get a room on the upper level for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear CDNY,
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property!
Guest Service is very important to us, and it's motivating to see that all our efforts are not in vain.
We also understand that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and that is why we try to deliver – morning after morning - the very best breakfast we can make.
Thank you again and.....

¡¡¡¡Hasta Pronto!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

where do i begin..!! Me and my boyfriend stayed a week at issimo suites to celebrate our 2 year anniversary, and what an experience.. great staff including gatto who became more of a friend, what an amazing guy to the chef who was just wonderful and put T.L.C. in every dish to the receptionist who took care of every adventure or taxi we needed to relaxing couple massage and last but not least the owner timothy who we had the pleasure of meeting and after a broken bicycle incident, put it in the back of his pick up and brought us back into town to return it. very nice guy..!! such a romantic and intimate setting, rooms are beautiful and beach just a 10 min adventurous walk.. manuel antonio park as well as quepos town are a 5-7 minute taxi in oppisite directions but lots to do. saw 3 different kinds of monkeys, sloth and many reptials and birds, we got partially scuba dive certified, the atv ride through the mountains that led to a beautiful waterfall was a thrill and zip lined through the rain forest. its a safe town with many americans and tourist, we met alot of people.. what more can you ask for.. thank you for the best vacation we ever had..!! well be back..!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Carisa H,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
We always thought that the hospitality business, should be based on human relations, that is because we always try to help our visitors in all possible ways by suggesting restaurants, activities and taking care of all their needs.
We are glad that we met your expectations, and we sincerely hope that you had a wonderful vacation in our country.

Thank you again.
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having been to Manuel Antonio previously & having stayed at Arenas del Mar, we were a little reluctant to stay anywhere else but were told they were sold out. We searched on Tripadvisor and other web sites and concluded we wanted to try Issimo Suites. We found the staff to be friendly efficient and knowledgeable. The rooms were extremely spacious and kept very clean- we had a penthouse suite with panoramic views for less than the cost of Arenas del Mar. The food in the restaurant was excellent with the extra touch of Dixon who is a fantastic waiter. Monkeys visited us on the balcony 2 out of the 6 mornings. We had a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived. The location is convenient to the National Park, shopping and restaurants within a 5 minute cab ride. All in all, a great place to stay at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: 103 was near the trees if you want a visit from the monkeys- also a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Bornabrit,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to having you at our hotel in the near future!!!!

Thank you again.
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Saw capuchin monkeys our first morning. Welcomed with a refreshing drink. Clean pool. Friendly staff. Great views of the ocean. Can even hear the howler monkeys in the distance. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sbswayne,
Thank you so much, for your nice review!
We sincerely hope you come visit us again!!!

¡Hasta Pronto, y Mucha Suerte!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This quaint hotel is situated on a road which has many high end hotels in Manuel Antonio. The views are magnificent and you could spend hours just sitting on your balcony taking it all in. The staff are very friendly and the best bartender in the world "Gatto". Gatto also gave us fantastic restaurant recommendations. Food is so amazingly fresh and full of flavor. We had cappucin monkeys and squirrel monkeys come right up to our balcony. Breakfast is included in your room price which is very reasonable for what you get. You can pick from the breakfast buffet or they'll make you something off the menu. They have happy hour every day (2 for 1 cocktails). The front desk can make all the arrangements for tours, but they do charge a commission (between $20-40 depending on the tour) which I think is worth it given you don't have to do anything. I would definitely stay here again. It is an adult only hotel. If you're looking for a bustling night life in the hotel this is not for you. There are much larger hotels on the same strip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Agallien, thank you for taking time to write such a nice review on our hotel.
We are a small Boutique Hotel, and that is why we focus on offering the best intimate, friendly and comfortable service, to meet all our customers expectations.
Our front desk staff arrange tours for our guest, but we do not charge a commission. We charge a deposit to make sure customers take the tour. Sometimes customers book a tour, and they cancel it at the very last minute (like at pick up time), compromising (financially) the tour operators that have operational costs. That is what the deposit is for.
We sincerely hope you had a wonderful time in our country, and thank you again!

Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are amazing, the food is very good, they have a happy hour every day. The View is gorgeous from the rooms and the pool area. We saw a sloth right outside of our room from the balcony just hanging out in the tree. Monkeys come up and play around every morning right up to the room balconies.You get what you pay for here, worth the cost. The rooms are very romantic. Only downside is the location itself, the view is great, a 10 minute walk to the beach, but.. you have to hike up and down a giant steep hill ( approx. 15 mins) to get the main strip or cab/drive it, and the cab drivers like to charge you way too much. Overall, awesome resort, the staff is very helpful and friendly. If your up for it to the ZIP LINE CANOPY TOUR :)

Room Tip: Get the Penthouse suites, they are amazing and have their own balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Tasha M,
Thank you for writing such a nice review about our hotel!
We are constantly trying to keep high standards of service. It is for this reason, that we just won the Tripadvisor Travelers' Choice® 2013 award, in the “Romance” category.
We always recommend our guest to use the public cab service, which is very good. The cost is between $ 8 and $ 10, because the cabs come from Quepos, which is 4 miles away.
Thank you again, and we hope you had a wonderful time in our country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and BookIt.com so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.