We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% discount
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary here for 6 nights in Dec 2012, room 105. We were extremely pleased with our stay. EVERYONE WAS SO FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL! The huge picture window and balcony over looking the cliff and ocean was beautiful. White face monkeys greeted us on our balcony 3 mornings. There was a pot of coffee at the door every morning, but if you want more than 2 small cups, you have to ask for more. The food was very good. Drinks were expensive at the bar but they had a long happy hour. The spa and massage does need some improvement. It was more of an oil rubdown than a massage. Elizabeth at the front desk was amazing! She was exceptionally helpful and we felt that it was "her" hotel and she was there to take care of US. My wife does want me to suggest a golfcart ride to the beach. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    127
    50
    19
    16
See reviews for
28
470
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here with my sister for 3 nights in November 2012. Although this was more of a couples resort, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was very accomodating by helping to arrange many of our tours, cab pick-ups, spa apointments, etc. The room was beautiful and clean. I read a few reviews prior about this place being under construction, however we did not experience any construction while we were there and honestly didn't even see any signs of construction on or around the property. The pool is quite large and the hotel is realxing and quiet. It's a great location - close to the beach, near the National Park, and close to Quepos. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights here in penthouse 104. the hotel is older as compared to the pictures on the website but is clean and well kept. Pool area get a great amount of son and is great for tanning. pool is large and fun to cool off. The vibe of the hotel places you in a very relaxing mood. We did not have any insect or lizard issues in our room as others mentioned. Our room had a beautiful side few of the ocean and I loved the large balcony and high ceilings. The bed/mattress was very very soft and comfortable. Staff was amazing!! Always genuinely wanting to make your stay better (Alex at the bar and Dixon at the restaurant). Drinks were 1/2 off at happy hour ($5) from 12-6pm, although not very strong. Breakfast selection was not very large but plenty to satisfy your hunger. Coffee pot was left at our front door every morning at 6AM, which was a nice. We had a car so drove to the beach (the one up the road and then down the unpaved road- needs 4x4 for this); we did not like the one where you walk down the road, as the bay has a lot of rocks as you walk into the ocean. We also did not eat dinners at the hotel and drove out for local cuisine- less than 5 min drive (highly recommend The Garden Falls and Agua Azul).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in november 2012. It was a very good hotel with very friendly personell, nice clean rooms with a perfect view on the rainforest near the beaches. The dining in the evening is also very good, very nice open restaurant with view on the rainforest, good service and DELICIOUS food. Every evening was a joy with perfect service of Mr. Dixon. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed there 3 nights, the view of the room 108 was beautiful! But I heard that the rooms all have a beautiful view. This is a hotel worth visiting. The rooms are very romantic and its great to not have children around. There are no loud group parties and there is no sound that we can hear from other rooms.

The hotel brought coffee to your room door early in the morning, and everyday, the hotel does something different in your room or bring you complimentary fruits.

It is romantic and the staff are friendly. The only problem is the couple's massage for $69 may sound like a deal, but it's not a good massage. It is just paying someone to put oil on your body, there was no technique. The other downfall is the hot water. There isn't enough for the bath and a shower.

Overall this is wonderful hotel to visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher rather than lower because you wil get a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This property didn't live up to our expectations. The pictures appear to have been taken quite awhile ago as the property just doesn't "sparkle" as it does in the pictures.

Our major gripe was the beach access being so far away. You walk about 15+ minutes to reach the beach. You walk first down the road (with a large hill) and then there's a tiny opening with a sign pointing to an access. You then take quite the journey down a muddy, wooded area that leads to the beach. No one told us we probably shouldn't attempt it in flip flops. It was definitely not private as others stated. There was a company down there renting kayaks and such. There were a lot of people down there with very little sand space. It was more of an inlet or lagoon I'd say. We were able to stay about 30 minutes before the tide came in and took every bit of sand space away. I feel it should be made much more clear on the website as to where the beach actually is and definitely not advertised as being private. If you want to go to a nice beach, visit Manuel Antonio National Park.

The spa left a lot to be desired as well. While they were able to fit me in immediately, it was an extremely small space and wasn't sufficiently ventilated making it really stuffy. It was more of a room than an actual spa. Like someone else mentioned, it was extremely light pressure and a rather poor technique. It didn't feel anything like massages I receive in the states and certainly wouldn't relieve any muscle tension since it was more a gentle rubbing along surface of the skin only.

The rooms weren't what I hoped for either. In the pictures, they look very nice. In real life, they're dated. The pillows are literally the hardest I've ever felt in my life. We ended up using our travel pillows from the plane instead.

The best thing this place has going for it are the people, especially a waiter named Dixon. He was the happiest, hardest worker I've ever seen. He was so excited to cook and serve our food. We could see the genuine satisfaction he felt when we said we enjoyed it. He was by far the highlight of this location.

Overall the hotel isn't terrible, but we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights during our honeymoon in Costa Rica at the Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel. While we enjoyed the luxurious and romantic room, the rest of the hotel, especially the "spa," did not match up with the quality of the room itself.

The room - we stayed in one of the "honeymoon suites" on the very top floor - was incredible and among the nicest we stayed at while in Costa Rica. While it did not include a balcony, it came well equipped with a seating area, a fridge, jacuzzi tub, incredibly comfortable bed, great shower, etc. The entire presentation was exquisite. Also of note was that they gave us a complementary bottle of (very good!) champagne during the first night of your stay. My only complaint about the room itself was that there were ants near the jacuzzi and some other areas. We are in the jungle after all, and the alternative would be to spray smelly insecticide all over the room.

However, the facilities left something to be desired. The cleanliness of the pool area was lacking -- e.g. the "noodles" they provided for the pool were dirty. It was annoying how we had to go to the front desk for towels and sometimes they were out of them, leaving us all wet. The drinks weren't the best we had, and expensive aside from the two for one happy hour promotion from noon to 6pm. The restaurant food was expensive, and only decent. Breakfast was the worst we had in Costa Rica, though it was edible and nice to have fresh fruit complementary. Sometimes, they launch into a buffet system instead of seated without rhyme or reason, but whatever. It's quite a long walk to the beach, but the beach itself is very beautiful, if a bit rocky.

The staff was friendly, but didn't speak English very well - which was a challenge because we didn't speak Spanish. It was great that they bring coffee up to your room every morning -- however, be warned: one of the days our coffee tray was entirely infested with termites! Again, a consequence of being directly in the rain forest.

The hotel would score higher than 3 stars if it weren't for the spa, the worst part of the experience. During our stay, they were running a special for a "couple's massage" for $69 dollars. The massage was the worst that my wife and I ever experienced. It was extremely hot and smelly in the spa. Further, I felt like I was choking on the head rest the way they had it set up. And worst of all, there was almost no pressure applied, despite both of us requesting that the massage be harder. It was more of a "rub down" than a massage. Do not waste your money here. They bill it as a professional spa, but it is anything but. It also isn't a couple's massage. It's in 2 separate rooms. You have been warned regarding what they bill as the "Body-Life Spa.".

Finally, we recommend the tour of Manuel Antonio park offered through the hotel. The guide was very good. Other recommendations for Manuel Antonio would be beaches 2 and 3 within the park itself (less crowded), and the restaurants Kapi-Kapi (expensive but excellent fish and seafood), Soda-Angel (typical Costa Rican plates) and Ngo (surprisingly good Vietnamese/Chinese fusion cuisine for a cheap price),

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.