We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Manuel Antonio

Playa Manuel Antonio
Pacific side, 6 kms south of Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Costa Rica's most popular beaches, Playa Manuel Antonio frequently hosts parties and festivals, and it is an ideal destination for avid surfers.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Relaxing Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Manuel Antonio Beach is extremely clean and very relaxing. There are several friendly vendors providing beach chairs and umbrellas. We had a very nice meal and cold drinks at an outdoor restaurant on the beach. We saw a couple of monkeys and a big lizard.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    326
    106
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“beautiful beach, more lively than tranquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Warm water, stunning ocean, so comfortable I didn't want to leave. The nice thing about this are is that it is just lively enough, great restaurants and music locally and plenty of activity. At the same time, it is not too crowded or congested.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“unforgetable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

i love this place. I am costa rican, but never visited this place before and i was happy that i visited, quiet, clean beaches, lots of things to do, people is friendly and helpful. i will love to go again. Highly recommended this place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Gorgeous beach, pretty, warm water, great views....
I also recommend hiring a local to take you thru the Park on a tour, it is amazing, their are monkeys, sloths, ants that pick up 4' long branches and carry them, spiders..... So much beauty and wildlife! Chill on the beach, hike thru the park....spend 2 days, you won't be sorry!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park for Tourists and Resort guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We drove to Manuel Antonio to see the beauty that this national park has to offer. The beaches are so beautiful; the water blue and clean... everything Costa Rica would love for you to see. The park offers much wildlife and the smell of monkey can over-come you, but if you've never seen the beauty that is offered to the tourists; it's worth a trip. You can stay here, eat here, visit the park but know that this area is made for tourists and is not by any means a true experience of the Tico life of the natives. English is spoken here so you can go to Costa Rica without knowing their language. The hotels offer tours from Zip Line to horse back riding. If you love resort vacations; Manuel Antonio will exceed your expectations. I would not recommend that you visit the park during the weekend, the Tico's live life to the fullest and many families will be there; it's very crowded during a weekend. I would not recommend buying the Pipa de Fria (cold coconut water in the coconuts) because you never know if you are getting the real deal. Same with the shaved flavored ice.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Manuel Antonio also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Manuel Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.