We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Manuel Antonio

Playa Manuel Antonio
Pacific side, 6 kms south of Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of Costa Rica's most popular beaches, Playa Manuel Antonio frequently hosts parties and festivals, and it is an ideal destination for avid surfers.
columbia, sc usa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great beach for sunning, surfing, and watching the world go by. It's great that the locals keep coming by selling drinks, fresh fruit, and snow cones. It's gets a bit old, when they keep pushing the other types of trinkets: towels, vases, necklaces, and cigars. The selling isn't going to keep me off of this beach though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    254
    82
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“amazing beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the guidebooks it sounds like this beach is crowded and kind of a hassle. Maybe you would think this if you are a local--for us New Englanders, it was one of the most beautiful beaches we had ever seen and absolutely fabulous. There are some vendors who come around, but they are very nice--in typical Costa Rican fashion, they are polite and not pushy! Do drive all the way to the national park entrance for parking, as I think we paid for a free lot. Do bargain on tent, surfboard and chair rentals--try to pay half what they quote! But seriously people are NICE, not threatening like in other places we have been. This beach was absolutely fantastic.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacó, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is one of the nicest beaches in Costa Rica. Great place to hang out for the day. There are nice restaurants there as well as vendors if you want to buy souvenirs. The water is clean and nice

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An absolutely beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We came here twice during our 9 day stay in the MA area. The beach was very scenic. I had my camera snapping constantly to try to find the perfect picture. The water was warm but not too warm and still refreshing. The sand it probably about as white as it gets on the pacific side of CR, but it is not the white seen in the Carribean...but nonetheless still beautiful. There are some rocks around but mostly off to one side of the beach. We had no issues swimming here. Even though we were here in the prime season and mid day and it was not really that crowded. I would come to this beach every day if it was closer....not that it was that far but the regular Playa Espadilla beach is much closer to where we were staying. I have no complaints with this beach whatsoever. This is a beautiful beach in a beautiful park in a beautiful area of a beautiful country. Can I say more....I guess I could say I enjoyed myself with my beautiful wife on a typical beautiful February day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Breathtaking! This park has a lot to offer! So many amazing animal live here and you can see them in the park. It's fun to get coconut and drink it on the beach. During high tide the locals will bring you back on a small boat! The park is also very clean I didn't see any trash in the park or on the beach. The market area to the entrance is worth checking out too. I hope you get a chance to visit this amazing park.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Manuel Antonio also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Manuel Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.