We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, great value :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Inn on the Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Inn on the Park to your Saves list
Hotel Inn on the Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 metros antes de la entrada del parque Nacional., Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent location, great value :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel has a total of 6 rooms, 2 per floor.

We travelled in a group of five and stayed in the two rooms on the first floor. Yep. the whole first floor... It was nice... :) One room had the standard two beds (plus a pull-out couch) and the other room (the suite) had a fully equipped kitchen, a master bedroom, a dining room, living room with pull-out couch, and a twin bed.

There was also a connecting door between the two rooms which made it feel like we were staying in a big apartment, which was nice.


the good:

The distance between the hotel and Manuel Antonio National Park is probably shorter than the distance from your place to your mailbox :)

The public beach is about double that distance in the opposite direction (although I ONLY/STRONGLY recommend that you stick to the beach inside the park)

the staff is composed of incredibly kind people who are mostly made up of one family who runs the place; they'll recommend all sorts of stuff and give you sincere opinions

the rooms are s-p-a-c-i-o-u-s

ground-level perk: you step out of your room and the pool is literally four feet away :)

the master suites are great for families and people travelling on a budget (you can load up on groceries at the grocery store down the street and make some of your meals there)

free continental breakfast (coffee, fresh fruit, and pastries)

the not-so-good:

The vibe of the rooms and hotel exterior is family comfort, not luxury. If you're looking for something with a modern, up-to-date feel, this is probably not the place for you. The furniture is a bit dated, and I see from the reviews that it did bug quite a few travelers who didn't know what to expect.

The hotel is walking distance from the beach; it's not a beach-front property. (Although, the walk so short, I can't imagine it being bothersome to anyone who knows this before booking a room.)

Wi-Fi is on the weak side. Spend a few minutes finding the best spot in your room for signal.

bottom line:

Our stay was great, location flat-out gives you your money's worth, I'd stay again and make sure I'd get the master suite (but I wouldn't be disappointed if I'd stay in a junior suite either!)

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor have the best access to the pool and best WI-FI signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    16
    12
    4
See reviews for
18
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our visit to Manuel Antonio in one of the larger suites. The unit had a good sized kitchen, dining area, and living room with a desk with its own air conditioner unit, as well as one bath and a bedroom with its own AC. The rooms were clean and in good repair, but were noticeably dated with 1980s furnishings. The Wifi didn't quite work from inside our third flood guest room, but my neighbor and I were able to pick it up standing on the third floor porch. Breakfast was a little limited, some fruit, cereal, and pastries, but there were several restaurants and a grocery store a few hundred feet down the road. The hotel was less than a quarter mile from the entrance to Manuel Antonio Park. The location was good but there were quite a few other hotels nearby to choose from. I'm still undecided if I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent one night here after being spoiled by staying at laposada right down the street, spent much more for the room, for one night then we did at Laposada with alot less amenties. Room was clean but breakfast was terrible. No Beach towels, no free calls to the U.S., very little parking and when we did get ready to leave we had a very tight squeeze to get out when a member of the staff could have moved there vehicle for us to get by, instead we were told we could make it. Just not a good atmosphere. Probably would not do this again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I enjoy this Hotel it´s really beautifull nearby from the beach which is a great one, and nearby from the National park the best of this place are thier apartments our was with full kitchen excelent.

it doesn´t need any restaurant with those facilities we love it and want to stay again there..

Room Tip: Beach Front Apartments...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel and the service is great. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and the national park. We stayed on the third floor and the accommodations were good. The room we stayed in had a fully equipped kitchen, who great for the long stay traveler. The pool is small...but with the beaches so close...not a show stopper. If I have a complaint it would be the breakfast area and breakfast. Breakfast was basic...toast, fruits and cereal. Only a couple of tables in the small area make it a bit cramped...but the plus is only 6 rooms and if you have the kitchen...you can make your own.

If I stayed longer, I would definitely consider staying here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Inn on the Park for 5 nights in December of 2012 while traveling through Costa Rica, and enjoyed our stay there.

Our room was on the first floor (not the most private room) BUT it was very clean and you couldn't find a better location if you're in Manuel Antonio for the National Park; the hotel is about a 3 minute walk from the park's entrance. Plus, there's a door that leads right to the hotel's pool, so you can literally just drop your stuff at the door and hop in the pool after a long day.

The breakfast in the morning was basic and consisted of fruits, white/brown bread for toast, cereals, juice and coffee.

Our maid was AWESOME!!! We left her about a $5 tip / day on the room and at the end of the week, she made us this stunning piece of towel art, complete with fresh-picked flowers.

Overall, as basic as this hotel is, we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I had stayed for a week at the La Posada Jungle Bungalows down the street and so I was pleasantly spoiled from my experience.
The last night in Manuel Antionio we needed room as we hadn't booked an extra night, so the Inn on the Park had a junior suite available. It was reasonably clean and roomy but musty smelling, the little couch bed I slept on was very uncomfortable as the middle of the mattress sank right down to the metal underpinnings. There was a cute little rear balcony overlooking the pool area but there was a heavy wooden door without a screen to get to it and sliding glass doors in the front of the room without screens as well. The air conditioning worked fine thankfully. The staff was friendly enough and the location was certainly close to the park and the beach. Although the cleaning staff make delightful little elephants out of the towels- the towels are small and worn. Tiny soaps are provided but no shampoo. Decent but you can do better for the same amount of money.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms- the 3 junior suites are good for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karahe Hotel
Karahe Hotel
#33 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#15 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#23 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#17 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#26 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inn on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inn on the Park

Address: 100 metros antes de la entrada del parque Nacional., Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Inn on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Inn on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Park
Hotel Inn On The Park Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Inn on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.