We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Inn on the Park

Save Saved
You added Hotel Inn on the Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Inn on the Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 metros antes de la entrada del parque Nacional., Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close to the park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our visit to Manuel Antonio in one of the larger suites. The unit had a good sized kitchen, dining area, and living room with a desk with its own air conditioner unit, as well as one bath and a bedroom with its own AC. The rooms were clean and in good repair, but were noticeably dated with 1980s furnishings. The Wifi didn't quite work from inside our third flood guest room, but my neighbor and I were able to pick it up standing on the third floor porch. Breakfast was a little limited, some fruit, cereal, and pastries, but there were several restaurants and a grocery store a few hundred feet down the road. The hotel was less than a quarter mile from the entrance to Manuel Antonio Park. The location was good but there were quite a few other hotels nearby to choose from. I'm still undecided if I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    15
    11
    2
See reviews for
15
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toccoa, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent one night here after being spoiled by staying at laposada right down the street, spent much more for the room, for one night then we did at Laposada with alot less amenties. Room was clean but breakfast was terrible. No Beach towels, no free calls to the U.S., very little parking and when we did get ready to leave we had a very tight squeeze to get out when a member of the staff could have moved there vehicle for us to get by, instead we were told we could make it. Just not a good atmosphere. Probably would not do this again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I enjoy this Hotel it´s really beautifull nearby from the beach which is a great one, and nearby from the National park the best of this place are thier apartments our was with full kitchen excelent.

it doesn´t need any restaurant with those facilities we love it and want to stay again there..

Room Tip: Beach Front Apartments...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel and the service is great. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and the national park. We stayed on the third floor and the accommodations were good. The room we stayed in had a fully equipped kitchen, who great for the long stay traveler. The pool is small...but with the beaches so close...not a show stopper. If I have a complaint it would be the breakfast area and breakfast. Breakfast was basic...toast, fruits and cereal. Only a couple of tables in the small area make it a bit cramped...but the plus is only 6 rooms and if you have the kitchen...you can make your own.

If I stayed longer, I would definitely consider staying here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Inn on the Park for 5 nights in December of 2012 while traveling through Costa Rica, and enjoyed our stay there.

Our room was on the first floor (not the most private room) BUT it was very clean and you couldn't find a better location if you're in Manuel Antonio for the National Park; the hotel is about a 3 minute walk from the park's entrance. Plus, there's a door that leads right to the hotel's pool, so you can literally just drop your stuff at the door and hop in the pool after a long day.

The breakfast in the morning was basic and consisted of fruits, white/brown bread for toast, cereals, juice and coffee.

Our maid was AWESOME!!! We left her about a $5 tip / day on the room and at the end of the week, she made us this stunning piece of towel art, complete with fresh-picked flowers.

Overall, as basic as this hotel is, we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I had stayed for a week at the La Posada Jungle Bungalows down the street and so I was pleasantly spoiled from my experience.
The last night in Manuel Antionio we needed room as we hadn't booked an extra night, so the Inn on the Park had a junior suite available. It was reasonably clean and roomy but musty smelling, the little couch bed I slept on was very uncomfortable as the middle of the mattress sank right down to the metal underpinnings. There was a cute little rear balcony overlooking the pool area but there was a heavy wooden door without a screen to get to it and sliding glass doors in the front of the room without screens as well. The air conditioning worked fine thankfully. The staff was friendly enough and the location was certainly close to the park and the beach. Although the cleaning staff make delightful little elephants out of the towels- the towels are small and worn. Tiny soaps are provided but no shampoo. Decent but you can do better for the same amount of money.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms- the 3 junior suites are good for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a small (6 room) hotel located near the entrance to the Manual Antonio National Park. A basic breakfast (juice, coffee, fruit, toast, cereal) is available each morning starting around 730AM. The rooms (junior suite and master suites) are clean and neat.

Pros - the location is very good for visiting the park, rooms are clean, staff very helpful, quiet location. Master suites have a full kitchen, junior suites have a full size refrigerator. Always interesting to see what animals the cleaning staff had shaped the towels into. Small pool to cool on in.

Cons - no view of the ocean, the walk wasn't too far (beaches in the park are much better than the public beach - only issue is there is no food available in the park). Wi-Fi on the 3rd floor ranged from poor to fair - access point is located in the office almost directly below the rooms - adding an additional wireless AP on the third floor would help. In the first room (J3), had issues with the AC moved into the M3 suite. First room (J3) shower water temperature was constantly "wandering around" - cold one minute, hot the next - after moving into M3 shower water temperature remained constant. Sofabeds were beginning to show their age a bit - very soft - you didn't sit on them so much as were swallowed alive by them.

All in all - for a basic hotel that's clean, convenient to lunch/dinner restaurants, the national park, and a short walk to the public beaches, it's a good value for the price. A few minor "tweaks" to the property and it would be an excellent value.

Room Tip: If you want to use Wi-Fi, stay in J2/M2, signal fades quickly on third floor (J3/M3). Third floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Inn on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inn on the Park

Address: 100 metros antes de la entrada del parque Nacional., Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Inn on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Hotel Inn on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Park
Hotel Inn On The Park Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Inn on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.