We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours

Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours
Manuel Antonio Road KM 4, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2777 0850
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nature Park is part of a 25-acre private wildlife refuge and protected corridor withthree primary nature exhibits, including Turtle Ponds, and several user-friendly“nature interpretive” trails located across from Si Como No Resort & Spa.The Nature Park features a unique Butterfly Atrium and Amphibian Botanical Gardens with guided “Jungle Night Walks”, plus one-of-kind Reptile Lagoons with Crocodiles,Caymans and Turtle habitats. The refuge includes a variety of Flora and Fauna, including a medicinal garden and natural habitats for three species of primates and variety of birdspecies.The primary mission of the project is to help conserve biodiversity by informing visitors ofthe importance of appreciating and in turn protecting our precious natural resources.The guided tours are in English and Spanish. Comfortable shoes & binoculars are recommended. Children under 6 are free with discounts for children 6 to 12. The six (6) tours offered are: 1) The Butterfly Botanical Gardens 2) Reptile Lagoons 3) The Butterfly Botanical Garden and Reptile lagoons 4) Combination Exhibitions and nature Walk 5) Nocturnal Jungle Walk and Tropical Aquatic Garden 6) Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge Birding Tour
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited it when a local suggested it. And the visit made for a really great experience. The best was the butterfly farm. It was a treat for the eyes. We never knew that so many butterflies even existed and so many colors could be found in nature. It was a great experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    28
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Froggy nighttour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The night tour guide was very nice and competent. We have learned much about nature and reptils. Actually the tour was very good, but we were not that interested in frogs. Thats the problem, te most important theme was frogs :) Anyway we can recommend it very much.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Amazing experience with Johnny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We saw so many frogs, insects, and crocodiles during this nocturnal excursion! Johnny was a fantastic guide. He was not only knowledgeable, but also friendly and comfortable with the creatures. He encouraged us not to take flash photography directly into the eyes of the frogs, but alternatively, helped adjust the camera settings because he is also photography connoisseur on the side!

He also helped me take beautiful shots of the frogs. I'm embarrassed to say that he was more proficient with my camera than I was.

Take this tour and you'll see why I enjoyed it so much. Johnny was such a wonderful guide and I could definitely tell he was a biologist from his detailed explanations. I can also tell that he truly loves what he does as we have a video of him communicating with a frog.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a great time walking through the nature reserve with flashlights surrounded by the sounds of frogs and other wildlife. The guide was very entertaining and respectful of the animals which we liked - he encouraged you not to take photos directly in the faces of the frogs so the flash didn't harm their eyes. Of course not all visitors seemed to hear this which was sad!

We saw so many frogs that after a while they were pretty easy to spot! They also have crockadiles, aligators and a few snakes in class enclosures which they have rescued.

Support this tour! Its a worthy cause and great fun. you won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The tour was just too great ! , go in the jungle with flashlight, listening the sound of many animals and what makes the tour more exciting is that it is at night, so it puts more flavor ! The guides are too experienced and respond to each of the questions, they know too much, and each of the species, it shows that they know what they are talking about , they are very helpful, and even the smallest insect in the ground they show it to you! I loved to go there, breathe fresh air, I The butterfly is the most perfect place I've visited .. There are many species of butterflies and each one is magical, The place is set with a very peaceful music that gives it a very relaxed environment .. It's really like being in a fairy tale, full of nymphs and butterflies ! I recommend bringing a good camera because the pictures you can take are indescribable .. You can see so many species and so much natural wealth, you just wish not to get out of there !!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.