We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours

Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours
Manuel Antonio Road KM 4, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2777 0850
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Nature Park is part of a 25-acre private wildlife refuge and protected corridor withthree primary nature exhibits, including Turtle Ponds, and several user-friendly“nature interpretive” trails located across from Si Como No Resort & Spa.The Nature Park features a unique Butterfly Atrium and Amphibian Botanical Gardens with guided “Jungle Night Walks”, plus one-of-kind Reptile Lagoons with Crocodiles,Caymans and Turtle habitats. The refuge includes a variety of Flora and Fauna, including a medicinal garden and natural habitats for three species of primates and variety of birdspecies.The primary mission of the project is to help conserve biodiversity by informing visitors ofthe importance of appreciating and in turn protecting our precious natural resources.The guided tours are in English and Spanish. Comfortable shoes & binoculars are recommended. Children under 6 are free with discounts for children 6 to 12. The six (6) tours offered are: 1) The Butterfly Botanical Gardens 2) Reptile Lagoons 3) The Butterfly Botanical Garden and Reptile lagoons 4) Combination Exhibitions and nature Walk 5) Nocturnal Jungle Walk and Tropical Aquatic Garden 6) Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge Birding Tour
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We loved our visit with the butterflies and crocodiles. It was a short walk for kids, and the butterfly reserve was positively magical. The kids spent at least 2 hours in there. We also loved our guide and the reptile reserve! Thanks for a great tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    23
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This park has so much nature and the most beautiful, clean and pristine beaches. Go there early to see all the animals and take a guide. Also bring a camera!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Frogs and Snakes and Spiders at night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were staying across the street at Si Como no, so we decided on a whim to take the night tour -- which begins before dusk. We have taken several nature tours in several countries, so we thought we'd see a few frogs and toads at a distance and that would be that. Boy were we surprised.

The abundance of tree frogs, toads, snakes, tarantulas and other spiders was astounding. Our group consisted of our family ("kids" are 20 and 17) and another family with three kids under 12. It was a highlight for both of us. Our guide obviously loved what he does, and had a great rapport with the younger kids while still presenting an informative experience to the adults.

Truly a cool experience, and well worth the small fee for the tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our Boys Had A Blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our guide, Michael, really made this a fun adventure. It's so nice when you know the person who's guiding you truly loves what they're doing. Michael was sincere, sweet, patient, fun, and super knowledgeable. You could tell this is his passion and I think that added a great deal to the authenticity and fun of the tour. Our boys, ages 7 & 9, had an awesome time going through the black jungle with flashlights in hand. Michael helped them catch all kinds of frogs, from dry and rough to slick and slimy. Then, we finally got to see the famous (and adorable) red-eyed tree frog up close and personal when Michael put them on the boys' hands and noses. They even got to pull tarantulas out of little caves with sticks - scary! We saw bugs, beetles, spiders, and flowers that we'd never seen before. Michael also let us see what happens when the croc thinks he's found lunch and that was eye-opening to say the least: the snap of those jaws would have instantly cut a grown man in half. One really important note is that there were no mosquitoes or biting bugs of any kind (weird, right??) and if you are wearing any bug repellent, Michael won't let you touch the frogs. Luckily we had our spray with us but hadn't put it on yet. If you have kids, I would absolutely recommend this tour; They (and therefore, you) will have a fabulous, unforgettable time. Thanks, Michael!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great night tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went on the night tour of the park. Our guide was very informative and we saw tons of frogs and toads. The location can be a bit tricky to find as it is not well marked.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours to your Saves list