We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful little place, with great environmental attitude!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours

Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours
Manuel Antonio Road KM 4, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2777 0850
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Nature Park is part of a 25-acre private wildlife refuge and protected corridor withthree primary nature exhibits, including Turtle Ponds, and several user-friendly“nature interpretive” trails located across from Si Como No Resort & Spa.The Nature Park features a unique Butterfly Atrium and Amphibian Botanical Gardens with guided “Jungle Night Walks”, plus one-of-kind Reptile Lagoons with Crocodiles,Caymans and Turtle habitats. The refuge includes a variety of Flora and Fauna, including a medicinal garden and natural habitats for three species of primates and variety of birdspecies.The primary mission of the project is to help conserve biodiversity by informing visitors ofthe importance of appreciating and in turn protecting our precious natural resources.The guided tours are in English and Spanish. Comfortable shoes & binoculars are recommended. Children under 6 are free with discounts for children 6 to 12. The six (6) tours offered are: 1) The Butterfly Botanical Gardens 2) Reptile Lagoons 3) The Butterfly Botanical Garden and Reptile lagoons 4) Combination Exhibitions and nature Walk 5) Nocturnal Jungle Walk and Tropical Aquatic Garden 6) Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge Birding Tour
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful little place, with great environmental attitude!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place is a small 'refuge' on the way to MA Park. We had a wonderful guide, who was very knowledgeable about the animals and butterflies we saw. The turtles, crocs and alligators are all rescue animals, taken in before most of them can be put back in the wild. The refuge is all about the environment, and their attitude was wonderful!!
The butterfly enclosure was so great! We were there in the afternoon, when there are supposedly not as many butterflies. But there were plenty, and we spent over an hour just enjoying the butterflies and the flowers in the enclosures. What a wonderful little place!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    26
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Interesting and good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The tour was very interesting and led by a very good guide named Michael. We just wanted to burn an hour or 2 so we simply chose to tour the butterfly farm and got a bonus croc farm tour. The value was good at $15 per person for this tour which included an open ticket for a week for repeat visits. Michael explained alot and we saw butterflies at different stages of development which is one thing we would not find in a North American butterfly area. They actually ship the various butterfly Chrysalis to other butterfly farms around the world. After seeing the butterflies, and learning alot from Michael, he took us around the croc farm and saw many of the big guys along with some turtles. All in all, a good tour and a good way to spend time close by as the Refuge was in walking distance to the hotel.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayuta Lake
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Night walk is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We took the night walk and started at dusk. The walk was a little over 2 hours and odd timing for dinner. Our guide,Roy, was able to elicit frog calls. We added several new species to our list.
Our guide, Roy, recognised my grandson, Ben, 2 days later in the National Park.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go for the butterflies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a very knowledgeable guide take us through both the combined reptile and butterfly day tours. The combined trip was probably worth the extra cost, but the enclosed butterfly area was utterly awesome. They show you how they cultivate the eggs & pupae in their lab and then go through the butterfly enclosure - quite large and teeming with beautiful butterflies all over the place. You can hang out there afterwards, or even come back later, to just watch all the colors flitter around you.
A bit inconspicuous from the road - look for the hotel and souvenir store on the right as you had south toward Manuel Antonio. There's parking on the left and a small path going into their entrance.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Night walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Recommended two hour night tour. Saw frogs, crocs, etc. Great guide. Easy to get to and informative.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Si Como No Resort Wildlife Refuge Greentique Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.