We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice view, close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manuel Antonio Hotel
Save Saved
You added Manuel Antonio Hotel to your Saves list
End of road, across from beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“nice view, close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

we planned on staying in the hotel for 2 nights and extended our stay to 5 nights.
the hotel consists of the relatively more expensive rooms and the cheaper ones (above the restaurant). we stayed in the cheaper rooms. the room was very clean - the cleaning woman was extra nice and came every day to clean the room, change the towels and make the beds.our requests were complied positively with a smile and a nice attitude. the hotel and restaurant are managed by an old nice couple who are always at the restaurant area and available if you need anything. we insisted on having the only room with seaview, which was a very good decision indeed.

Room Tip: room 28 has seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    48
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
40
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here two nights after escaping a hotel with cockroaches. Was not so happy with the reviews here, but had little option...

And SURPRISE!

Hotel located across street from the beach, ocean view rooms, inexpensive, clean - WHAT MORE CAN YOU WANT?? Really, comparing some of the other places in the area, I am surprised that people are so picky. Everything was perfect, located at the beach and next to the entrance to the national park.

Food in the restaurant not that great...but there are pleanty of places around where you can enjoy food and drinks - this is good about the hotel that it is located at the beach, centrally in Manuel Antonio, so no need to walk up and down the hills from town to hotel!

I agree with people, that this hotel has so much more potential. With THIS LOCATION, they could upgrade the rooms and charge twice the price. So be happy that you can enjoy for this low price, while the rooms are really decent and location perfect.

Staff really friendly and helpful during the stay. Free parking at the hotel !

Don't think about it, just choose this place over the others in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I agree with other reviewers, the Manuel Antonio Hotel has wonderful location right across the street from the ocean. Step out and enjoy the incredible sunsets. The owners plan to make improvements to the place including new bedding (desperately needed) and a pool. Just watch, when those improvements are made, you won't be able to get a double room for $98/night. The proximity to the national park is wonderful. We were not impressed with food at the restaurant so we walked down the street to the Marlin Restaurant and others. Very handy location

Room Tip: Ask for a street/ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Setting is amazing. View and bird watching superb and restful after travelling a lot throughout Costa Rica. Staff very helpful, food great. Good shuttle service to Manuel Antonio Nature reserve and beach.
Tastefully designed interior. Altogether a good advert for ecology principles.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is right across the road from the beach with fantastic views from some of the rooms. Manuel Antonio national park is right behind the hotel. Many shops and restaurants in walking distance. Only a short cab ride to more restaurants or into Quepos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I found a fantastic taxi driver who had tremendous knowledge of history and tourism who took me to the Manuel Antonio Hotel at the entrance of the Manuel Antonio National Park. The hotel is exactly across from the beach, so no auto is necessary after checking in. Each room has 2 double beds and a lanai. The owners plan to build a swimming pool soon, but there is no pool at this time. The restaurant has an interesting menu and is very reasonably priced. I enjoyed it very much. You might call Alex at 60-12-17-73 to pick you up from the airport. If you don't speak Spanish, Alex does speak perfect English. Not all taxi drivers in Costa Rica speak English, but I never had a bad experience with taxi drivers either. Manuel Antonio Hotel is not a luxury hotel and seems a bit run down, but the location is perfect for the beach and the value is excellent for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms are identical. The only difference is that some rooms on the first floor and others on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

After a day touring the park we stopped at the Manuel Antonio Hotel's restaurant and the food was great and cheap!! Definitely would eat here again! I had the nachos and my friend had the casado! Nice place to stop and eat while people watching!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manuel Antonio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel Antonio Hotel

Address: End of road, across from beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.