We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manuel Antonio Hotel
Save
You added Manuel Antonio Hotel to your Saves list
End of road, across from beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Last minute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We found this hotel after driving around a bit and stayed for 3 nights. If you pay cash they give you a better price. Very very good location as the entrance and exit for the park is right next to the hotel. We saw others that had to drive down the hill to get to the beaches and park and parking was just a mess.
The hotel itself seemed very clean considering the location. The hallways were mopped a couple of times a day, and we got new towels/sheets everyday.
Only downside is having to drive to the hill to go to restaurants, but other than that was great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    49
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
41
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

You cannot beat the location and value of this quaint little family owned hotel which is literally steps from the beach and the Manuel Antonio National Rain Forest. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the ceviche in the cafe is superb. Don't waste your time on a $60 "Monkey Tour". A family of monkeys visits the cafe every day between 4:30 and 5:00. Buy them some bananas and you'll have new friends for life!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the beach side have an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cariari, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location right at the exit of the National Park. Great parking in the back, clean rooms, and reasonable prices for rooms. No swimming pool was a negative, but you are across the street from the beach/ocean. The price, parking, and location are the reasons we stay here.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here back in 2010 for school and I had a blast! The hotel is located right on the beach which features tiki bars and awesome surfing! The owners of the hotel were so nice and helpful. I would most def stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My friends and I stayed here recently, and it was pretty incredible to be able to step outside our rooms and practically be right on the beach everyday. We asked for rooms with ocean views, which the hotel was happy to give us on such short notice (we had literally called the morning of to escape from a horrible hotel in another city). Our rooms were clean, had hot running water, and had A/C. The rooms weren't anything particularly spectacular, but for the price and the close walk to the beach, I would definitely stay here again. There's also wi-fi in the lobby and a restaurant next door, but I wouldn't recommend eating at the restaurant--there are plenty of better places along the beach to eat at.

The guy who worked at the front desk was awesome. We were waiting for other friends who flew in a week later than us to arrive and had some difficulties communicating with them to figure out when we should check out of the hotel. However, the guy was so nice and accommodating about what day and what time we needed to check out. He even offered to look after our bags behind the lobby desk after we checked out so we wouldn't have to carry them around with us as we waited for the rest of our friends to get to Costa Rica. As we left to go meet with them, he told us not to hesitate to call if we needed anything else while we were in Manuel Antonio.

Basically, it was a great view, great service, and a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The housekeepers were friendly and seem to do the best they can with what they have to work with. The rooms are extremely overpriced for what you get. When we arrived, we asked the sheets and bedspreads be changed due a strong odor that I am still unable to put my finger on. The bathroom was in disrepair looking as if each repair was made with whatever materials were available at the time. One of the buildings doesn't even face the ocean. The building that does face the ocean only has a view on the 2nd floor. And don't even get me started on the restaurant. We went there the night we arrived and the lighting was not optimal. The next morning, when we saw the filth, we felt lucky to have lived through dinner (which we were double charged for - and had it not been for my Costa Rican husband, I never would have noticed it). My advice for families who want to visit Manuel Antonio - pick a hotel up in the hills, shuttle down to the park everyday and go to the beaches inside the park! There are beautiful, clean, hospitable hotels and restaurants up there - don't waste your time on this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Manuel Antonio Hotel 3 times and we like it because it is right across the street from the beach at the end of the road in Manuel Antonio. It is clean, safe, has wifi and is close to the entrance to the national park too.

When driving into Manuel Antonio, watch out for a guy with a florescent vest trying to wave you in to park your car as if it's the end of the road. He acts all official but he is just what they call a "watchieman" or in English, someone who helps you park wanting money in return. They are not official, they just work off tips. Everytime we have gone to Manuel Antonio and are coming close to the Manuel Antonio Hotel, they were there. Just drive by them and carry on to the end of the road where the hotel is.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, ask for a room with a good wifi signal. West second floor rooms have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manuel Antonio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel Antonio Hotel

Address: End of road, across from beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.