We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cost more for guys” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manuel Antonio Hotel
End of road, across from beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“cost more for guys”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

my girlfriend and i both went in 5 minutes from each other and asked how much a room would be for one night. I was in the bathroom when she asked and didn't know she asked. when i came out i went and asked, then went looking for my girlfriend. I was quoted $15 more then she was (talked to the same person)... if you book here have your wife/girlfriend book it. other then that the place was in a great location and decent rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
37
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stopped here at the very end of May on our way from Drake Bay to Monteverde. We looked around a little and this hotel was a good price and everyone was very friendly. Our patio was literally 75 yards from the beach. The next morning we were ten minutes walk from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. When we exited the park we were 5 minutes walk across the beach back to the hotel. Could not have worked out better!

Room was nice, but not fancy. Clean, A/C (nice coming out of the jungle after after about 10 days), hot shower, nice view (even from our ground floor patio), free ice if you walk over to the restaurant. Highly recommend the hotel for it's access to the park and beach! They don't have a website yet (old one is down), but drive all the way to the end of the road along the beach at the traffic circle and there they are. Stay a while, you'll be happy you did! (If you are on the beach in the evening bring bug spray. Believe it or not there were more mosquitoes on the beach here than we saw in ten days in the jungle in the Osa Penninsula!).

Room Tip: If you can get a 2nd floor room facing the beach that's great, but even ground floor is pretty g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute through tourist information in San Jose. We were looking for basic affordable getaway and were not disappointed. For the rack rate of $90 including taxes we got a spacious room with lovely private oceanview balcony. Since this was the original hotel in Manuel Antonio, it sports the chunky dark furnishings from that era which are now showing their age. The rooms are sparse with few or no accessories. Not even an alarm clock,,. I had to borrow a blowdryer from reception. The only chairs were resin chairs (brand new) found on the balcony. AC was an asset although we only used it as needed (we're from Canada and like to feel the heat!) it was great to have though as it got uncomfortably hot at times.
There was Wifi but it there was no signal in the room. However, connection was available in the reception area or restaurant. Did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on that.
We stayed three nights, enjoyed long morning walks along the beach and breathtaking sunsets each evening. When entering the park, you will be approached by guides offering their services. We took a guided tour and found it fun and informative. The tour cost $20 each and was well worth it. These guides work very hard and only have a short earning season so do practice sustainable tourism and be generous. Tip: take a notebook and write down the names of flora and fauna if you wish to identify the pictures later on.
In short, the service, cleanliness, value all up to par but location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattevillle, Wi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed her in March 2011 2rooms for a family of 4. Rooms were nice but bathrooms could have been more spacious and better vented. Very close to beach and National Park(less than 5 minutes) Free breakfast buffet was excellent and had many choices. Grounds were well maintained.Neach towels were provided but we did pay a small fee to have them exchanged daily. After checking out and spending the day on the beach it was very nice to have bathrooms available with showers to change before heading back to San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

The girlfriend and I stayed here a few weeks ago and we were looking for an amazing beach front access and a simple hotel with a view, and boy did we find it. The front desk gentlemen were very helpful; signed us up for an "interbus", spoke great English and WIFI was available, along with a computer by the front desk. AC worked great, rooms were clean, the room safe was free, no deposit like most hotels. Room 15 has the most breathe taking sunset!! We will be going bk for sure!!

Only thing we wish it had was a bar fridge!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is right by the beach and the national park, it has a nice garden and some rooms have their balcony with an amazing ocean view! Each room has a cable tv, big shower, two double beds that were very comfortable and a/c and a private big balcony.in our room the wifi signal was only in the balcony but that was fine since it was so nice to sit there. The rooms were cleaned every day by a nice lady that always left us flowers from the garden and arranged our towels in different designs. The only downside was the price 60$ a night which is very pricey even for costa rica, and we found out that another room that stayed only 2 nights (we stayed for 3) only paid 50$.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel while visiting the Manuel Antonio national park.

Location:
The location is as good as can be for he/she who plans to visit the park. The park entrance is across the street. Furthermore the hotel is at the end of the street meaning that there are few disturbances (e.g. traffic) to speak of.

The hotel has no pool but the end of the public section of beach is also across the street. There are nice and far less crowded beaches within the national park, an option to consider if you are prepared to pay the entrance fee.

The hotel has no restaurant but there are restaurants next to the hotel so this is a no-issue.

The rooms are spacious, rather basic (as is the rest of the hotel) but they are clean and functional. Sleeping comfort is OK.

During our stay there was an issue with our pre-payment not received, however the staff were helpful and sorted it out. (The issue was found caused by the travel agency who arranged the trip, not by the hotel).

For the visitor planning to visit the park and/or the beaches and not looking for luxury I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manuel Antonio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel Antonio Hotel

Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park
Address: End of road, across from beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel Antonio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manuel Antonio Hotel to your Saves list