We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous First Stay in CR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Condotel Las Cascadas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Condotel Las Cascadas to your Saves list
Condotel Las Cascadas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road to the Marina Pez Vela, 250 Mts West, Zona Americana, Tipo H | Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous First Stay in CR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Spent the first three days of our Costa Rican sojourn at Las Cascadas and could not recommend it more highly. It is tucked away on the hills around Quepos, an authentic CR town, and a short drive to Manuel Antonio. Gary and Catalina were the most wonderful hosts, hospitable, knowledgeable about the area, accommodating, and simply nice to be around. They set up all the tours we took while in Manuel Antonio and recommended some parks that were off the beaten path and well worth the trip.The breakfasts by the pool were fresh and delicious (The coconut/banana pancakes are to die for.). The rooms were attractively appointed, clean, and bug-free. I personally don't understand the negative reviews. Gary and Catalina have spent a lot of time renovating the hotel and it was a joy. Don't hesitate.

Louis

Room Tip: Gary gave us a tour and all the rooms seemed wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condotel L, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
It was a pleasure meeting the both of you as well Louis. Thanks for the great review , Yes our recent investment in remodeling is paying off. Money well spent . I am glad you could spend some time with us here and hope you have the chance to return . You had a well rounded trip but there is still so much more to do here .
Happy Trails
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    49
    14
    20
    7
See reviews for
56
101
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were so fortunate to stay at Las Cascadas in Quepos, on our first stay in Costa Rica. This artful, relaxed, gentle place is welcoming and very beautiful. Gary and Catalina, the owners are wonderful, as were their boys, and their adorable dogs. Las Cascadas is a special place. If you are looking for the sterility and glitz of a corporate hotel this is not the place for you. Las Cascada is not cookie cutter; it is unique, a labor of love and creativity. Each room is well conceived and appointed. They are embedded carefully into the landscape often with split levels to honor the vertical mountain layout. Each room is tasteful, elegant and feels homey at the same time.

We enjoyed every minute at Las Cascadas. The staff were kind and friendly. Gary and Catalina gave us excellent advice on tours and sights to see, and arranged our tours to make things even easier.

The food was great. THE BEST PINA COLADAS I ever had!

I will never forget the sunset views from the hotel, the amazing three toed sloth that now calls Las Cascadas home, the shy iguana that greeted us tentatively each morning.

The lush greenery, interesting architecture, overall serenity of the place made our trip very special. I would love to return here someday.

As for the town, it was mellow. People were friendly and helpful. This is an out of the way place, off the beaten track...which for us only made it feel more authentic, interesting, and relaxing.

I love Las Cascadas, everything about it worked perfectly for us. Thank you Gary and Catalina.

Love and blessings to all of you! I hope we meet again. Give the dogs a belly rub for me!

Sincerely,

Susan Acampora

Room Tip: Room are all unique and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condotel L, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Its so nice to get a review from someone that really appreciates what went into making Las Cascadas what it is. It really is a special place and hard to understand the few that just don[t see it .
We feel we have our property just about where we have always dreamed of going with it, after being in a state of metamorphasis for the past 18 years . We enjoy having people like your selves here to share it with us. Thats what its all about . Everyday we meet new and interesting people share stories and experiances --- even a few Pina coladas once in awhile
Take care my friends and hope to see you here again some day.
Gary ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After staying in San Antonio de Belen, Heredia for five days for a conference, we decided to head to the coast and chose Condotel Las Cascadas because of its close proximity to Manuel Antonio Park and because of its great reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is set back from the road and nestled in the hills. There is a wide variety of plant an animal life on the grounds and each room has a wonderful view. We stayed in the King ocean view room. The room was very spacious and the newly-renovated bathroom was very luxurious! The room has access to a large open-air balcony/sitting area with a refrigerator and bar, so if you choose to bring back drinks or food, you can enjoy them with a nice ocean view. The owners, Gary and Catalina, are very nice and helpful in ensuring that your stay is comfortable and lives up to your expectations. Gary greeted us with cold beers and later fronted us Colones for a taxi. They recommended an excellent snorkeling sunset cruise that left from the marina, a short walk from the hotel. On the second night of our stay, we accompanied him and his sons on a night tour of the forest with an expert naturalist. Our time here in Quepos was really the highlight of our trip. We hope to return! P.S. I left two of my dresses in the room and Gary graciously agreed to send them to me in the States!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condotel L, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our little paradise here. We finally have it to where we always dreamed of, with most of our bathrooms recently remodeled and our new restaurant . It has taken almost 20 years but we have arrived. As you mentioned we are the closest Hotel to the Marina , about 2.5 blocks. There are 2 very nice restaurants in the marina now and several other shops are on the way. Thanks for staying with us and do hope you can return . We enjoyed your company .
By the way your package is on the way.
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We spent 4 nights in Las Cascadas and had a lovely time. Breakfast was fantastic, the room was comfortable, and the staff were wonderful. It's close enough to Quepos that you can walk in town to shop or visit the market (or have a few beers at the local Marina), but far enough that we still saw monkeys in the trees surrounding the hotel. There's even a sloth living in the garden. :)

It's a short 10-minute drive to the beaches of Manuel Antonio. We loved the local market in Quepos on Fri & Sat, and having our own kitchen was a big plus as well as the free, fast internet. It's apparent the owners make every effort to keep the grounds beautiful and well-maintained. Being from Florida, we tend to avoid the "touristy" areas so this was a perfect place for us to stay.

Room Tip: You need to climb a lot of steps to reach some of the rooms, so keep that in mind when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condotel L, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for your inspiring review and I have to say it was a good time had by all. We enjoyed sharing time with your group and would be fun if you could make it back some day. We have even more wild life in here since you left. We now have a Toucan that visits daily and a sloth living up behind the penthouse .
Hasta Pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A great place to stay, Las Cascades is nestled beside a hill with only wildlife sounds rather than road noise yet close enough to Quepos and the Manuel Antonio National Park. The rooms are well designed and comfortable to stay in. The pool is very pleasant and well maintained. We enjoyed ourselves and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condotel L, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
It was nice having you both back again this year. , Lots of changes since you last trip . Truely hope you can make it back . We are constantly making efforts to improve our customer satisfaction and service. Hasta Pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrucken
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you have a car, this place is behind a calm local neighborhood, 5 minutes walk from Quepos downtown, with its fair prices restaurants and shops (market in Fri-Sat) and from the Marina.
The staff was very warm and helpful.
Nice pool to refresh in the evenings.
Well maintained room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condotel L, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
One of our best assets is our hidden location. We are tucked into the hillside on a dead end street making this a very rare find for this area. We are also the closest hotel to the marina and that makes for some great dinning options. Next time come and stay a bit longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel was amazing. The staff were incredibly helpful. I felt like I had my own apartment! It was a little expensive, but this was my splurge hotel for Costa Rica. Everything seemed new, I especially liked the bathroom! The air conditioner was a small window unit, but it was sufficient. My internet worked well, but it was better just outside my door, which for me was not a problem. Quepos is really close (6 miles) to Manuel Antonio, which is where I spent a lot of time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las-cascadas, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you had a great time here and can make it back sometime.
Gary Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Condotel Las Cascadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condotel Las Cascadas

Address: Road to the Marina Pez Vela, 250 Mts West, Zona Americana, Tipo H | Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Condotel Las Cascadas 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful family-owned vacation rentals with several options to suit your group's needs. We offer 1,2 or 3 bedroom suites with A/C, WiFi and access to our pool with terrace and waterfall. Some units are available with kitchen, living room, cable TV, living room, ocean view, and outdoor terrace with lounging area, mini-bar and ocean view. A ten minute walk to town, oceanfront, and a snorkeling cove. Peaceful location on the edge of the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Condotel Las Cascadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condotel Las Cascadas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Condotel Las Cascadas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condotel Las Cascadas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.