We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been a better honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Condotel Las Cascadas

Save Saved
You added Condotel Las Cascadas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Condotel Las Cascadas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zona Americana, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
''Fill in the Gap'' Sale
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Could not have been a better honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had rented the one bedroom suite, but when we arrived, Gary offered us the bridal suite because we were the only occupants for the whole week! The view was incredible! He and his wife were super helpful and always available for our questions and directions, etc.
The grounds are beautiful and lush. We drove around and saw other hotels, but none like this one. It private, close to downtown, unique, and quiet.
Twenty stars to this place!

Room Tip: Get the bridal suite - floor to ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las-cascadas, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We have had over 35 honeymooners here this year and its such a pleasure to be host to such a special event. Many blessings on your new adventure and hope you return to celebrate one of your many aniversaries.
Gary and Catalina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    42
    13
    19
    6
See reviews for
47
89
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pasadena california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I came to Las Cascadas last year on our honeymoon and had such a wonderful time we came back this year with my husband's daughter. What a great decision! We had, if possible, an even better time. Gary and Catalina are wonderfully gracious hosts, as are their children. We felt truly welcome and their help in setting up tours was invaluable. The property is truly lovely and looks even better this year. The local people are very welcoming as well and we felt safe walking back and forth to town at all hours of the night. Gary is right, this is not an all inclusive - thank goodness! I've been to all inclusives (i.e. Club Med in
Punta Cana) and was ill through much of it, had limited food choices and spent alot more money. Some advise, however, stay hydrated. We didn't realize how much water we were losing in the humidity and felt a little lethargic the first day. Gary told us to make sure we were drinking enough water and, voila, we were off and running. We drank he water from the tap and did just fine.
We would like to make this a yearly trip - It truly felt home-like and exotic at the same time. Excellent food and sights! Not to mention the wonderful family that will serve as your hosts!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las-cascadas, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Its been a great year for honeymooners and anniversaries . Love is in the air.
Great seeing you again and Cali was a hoot to be arround. I hope you can make it a yearly event, and bring Cali !
Gary and Catalina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Even though it is a little bit off the beaten path, tucked up on a hill away from the action and vendors on the road to Manuel Antonio, this place is truly magical and worth a second look. On our very first night we watched a young two- toed sloth slowly climb down the railing just steps from our door! The colorful birds, lizards, tropical flowers, and did i mention monkeys, were truly at home here. We stayed our last two nights in the dome honeymoon suite, a magical "hobbit" house with beautiful views, and privacy. The owner and his wife were so helpful, making this last stop on our Costa Rican vacation feel like it was meant to be!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in March of 2013 and we couldn't have had a better experience! We were treated like family from day one. Gary gave us a map of the area, as well as a variety of information about what to do, where to eat, and what to see. The resort is tucked away and feels very remote even though it is only minutes from the beach and town. Our room was simple but extremely clean and comfy. I can't say enough about the service we received. Gary and his wife even took us hiking one afternoon to one of their favorite outlooks. This is not a busy resort style establishment. If you are looking to experience the culture and wildlife of Costa Rica, while receiving one-of-kind personal service, stay here at Las Cascadas.

Tony & Michelle

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las-cascadas, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Congratulations on your new and exciting adventure in life. You both have great partners and I am sure you will do well together. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you and your family back some day. Thanks for helping us get out of here for an afternoon. We needed it.
Gary and Catalina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and another family we were traveling with stayed here for two nights last week. We were supposed to stay three and wound up leaving after two nights even though we'd already paid for the third night. The owner, Gary, couldn't have been nicer but the place is in a very out of the way location and the surrounding area and town is a little too "authentic" for our tastes. The property is also in serious need of an overhaul. Walking to town is not really an option from a distance and safety perspective. Frankly it's also very expensive given the condition of the property and the location. If you drive two more miles towards Manuel Antonio there are a whole lot more options that are closer to restaurants and the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las-cascadas, Manager at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
There is no doubt , some people should just go to all inclusive resorts. I love that he called the area a little too authentic. Thats what people normally come for. If you want to escape from reality go to Disneyland. Sorry we were not what you had expected. ------not really!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We enjoyed being at this location which was like being in the National Park with the beautiful flowers, birds and trees. The rooms had a unique character that added to the ambiance of being in an area near a jungle. It is a family owned and there was a great deal of attention to our needs - booking tours, travel to and from the Park. There was a wonderful breakfast for purchase each morning that included fruit grown on the property. At this time we met other guests and enjoyed
learning of their experiences.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling to Costa Rica by myself, and a little nervous, but Gary and his family took good care of me. They helped me book tours, transportation, and find good places to eat. They even gave me a ride to the dock my cruise disembarked from.

The hotel itself is pretty cute. My room was high up and I had a wonderful view. The sounds of the jungle lulled me to sleep at night and I got to hear tropical birds singing in the morning. I was also lucky enough to see some white faced monkeys hanging on the tree outside my room. The sloth on the grounds is the cutest and I snapped dome awesome pics of it.

Anyway, the customer service is what really makes this hotel worth it. I highly recommend if you are staying in Quepos or Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Condotel Las Cascadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condotel Las Cascadas

Also Known As:
Condotel Las Cascadas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Condotel Las Cascadas Hotel
Condotel Las Cascadas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park
Address: Zona Americana, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Condotel Las Cascadas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful family-owned vacation rentals with several options to suit your group's needs. We offer 1,2 or 3 bedroom suites with A/C, WiFi and access to our pool with terrace and waterfall. Some units are available with kitchen, living room, cable TV, living room, ocean view, and outdoor terrace with lounging area, mini-bar and ocean view. A ten minute walk to town, oceanfront, and a snorkeling cove. Peaceful location on the edge of the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Condotel Las Cascadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condotel Las Cascadas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.