We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place . . . Better Than Staying in Manuel Antonio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Condotel Las Cascadas

Save Saved
You added Condotel Las Cascadas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Condotel Las Cascadas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zona Americana, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place . . . Better Than Staying in Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Three of us stayed here for 3 nights, March 23 - 25, and really enjoyed our stay.
Room - We stayed in the same room that is right off the parking area, and all of the things that the other reviewer complained about, I felt gave the room character. The room was big enough for the three of us, it was clean (no scorpions, or pests of any kind!!), and the bathroom/shower area was perfectly fine. There is a small fridge and coffee machine, not really much of a sitting area, but not sure why you need it because you can sit on the bed, or GO OUTSIDE! The bed was huge and quite comfortable. Two minor things are that the room could have used a bit more light, and a safe in the room is always good, but we were able to use the one in the office, so no problem. There are a variety of rooms if ours doesn't sound like it would meet your needs.
Staff/Owners - Very nice and friendly. Gary (owner) had lots of tips for us about restaurants and places to explore. He booked a tour for us, and helped another girl book her flight. His wife and sons are often around, and are also friendly and helpful, gives the place a nice feel. Other staff were always working hard and smiling.
Grounds - Top notch!! Lots of flowers and greenery. Great pool area, with a deep end, and nice lounge beds. Beautiful birds flying around, and best of all, a sloth, who hung out in the tree by the pool the whole time we were there. People in the rooms higher up saw monkeys as well. Nice little breakfast area by the pool with good food, a full breakfast for $7 each, reasonable.
Price - I did lots of research before choosing this place, and our room, at about $120/night is a moderate price, and totally worth it for what we got. (CR is not cheap, unless you are staying at a hostel type place.)
Location - In the town of Quepos, a 15 minute bus ride to MA Park (we did not have a car, no problem, less than 60 cents for bus each way, and so easy). The walk to town takes less than 10 minutes, you walk through a lane with Costa Rican homes on each side, sometimes kids are out playing, or dogs are out lounging, past a school where where they always seem to be playing soccer, down a short hill (a tiny bit of a climb on the way back), and go for a couple of blocks and there you are. Nice town, you get a bit of a feel for the culture when you walk around, some nice beaches, was told you can swim there, but rarely saw people in the water. Some nice restaurants.
Things to do - Manuel Antonio Park is a must , get a guide, and barter with them for a lower price (they ask $20/person), you will see lots of animals and they will put your camera on a telescope for great pictures. Villa Vanilla was worth the $50 each, good for all ages.
Restaurants - El Grande Escape for good food like home, a bit expensive, but big portions. Banana Club for an interesting Costa Rican experience, good food friendly service. El Avion for an amazing view and okay food.
If interested check review of place we stayed before this in Santa Teresa (Canaima Chill House), and place after this in San Jose (Hotel Aranjunez).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    44
    14
    20
    6
See reviews for
49
94
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hosts are very nice.
The hotel and the rooms are nice but it was way too expensive for what it's worth.

We had a bad experience as a scorpion came to visit our room at night.
But as the all of this area is located close to the jungle- I guess it can happen anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las-cascadas, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the critique but since you took the time to write a review and comment on the wild life why did you not mention the cute little sloth that was living in the tree right by your bedroom window.
I also want to mention that we never were able to establish what it was you saw as your first description was a crab , then a Geco, and then a guest put the idea in your head it might have been a scorpion. What ever it was it has never been seen again. But the sloth is still here .
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were a little disappointed with this property. Located in a neighborhood tucked back above the marina which is under construction, its a bit difficult to initially find. The owners were very friendly and nicely arranged for tours for us that were top notch. The room we were in was right off the parking area. It was very dark and with only one bedside lamp, a very high overhead light and an overhead light in the bathroom. To get to the bathroom you had to climb 5 or 6 irregular steps. Got to be a pain after a day, especially at night. The bathroom had a large tub, but I wouldn't take a bath in it. (I'd rip this out and just have a nice shower.) The shower in the tub, perpendicular, wasn't the greatest.
There was one chair in the room. On the patio, 2 chairs where we read in the evening. The poolCould be a nice prper area was above us, and nicely done. Breakfast was available(good food), for an additional cost.
If you want to stay somewhere that you are in the action, this is not for you. This could be a nice property, and it probably was a few years ago, just needs a little more money invested in little fixes.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms off the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las-cascadas, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for your candid review. We many times take reviews to help us improve on the property and have since added new reading lights above the bed and will have a safe put in in May. Thanks for your input , it just makes us better. Sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Gary and Catalina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the condotel las cascades and it will be a must return spot on our next trip back to the Quepos/Manuel Antonio area.This place is located perfectly to enjoy the entire area a short walk to marina and Quepos and a quick taxi ride to the restaurants and beach.Our room was spotless and well looked after during our trip the hosts spoke english and looked after our every need.We had the opportunity to see a sloth up close and monkeys in the trees breakfest was great and the mohitos were better.We will return again.

Room Tip: each room has different things to offer depending on what you are looking for in your holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great spot just outside of downtown Quepos and close to Manuel Antonio. Grounds were very relaxing for being so close to the city. Pool was great and we saw some wildlife right at our hotel. Gary and Catalina are wonderful hosts who cook up a great meal. It's a good place to relax and get advice from other guests on activities in and around the area. Highly recommend it for anyone staying in the Manuel Antonio area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I found this place after doing a lot of research on hotels in the manuel antonio area and reading other trip advisor reviews. I wouldn't normally write a review but our experience here was just so fantastic and I felt obligated to get the word out.


A 10$ cab ride to the national park and some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Its just out side of the tourist zone in quepos. I really enjoyed quepos over manuel antonio because I felt like i got to experience the culture better. While there we were able to walk around the downtown area (like 6 square blocs, 2$ cab ride and 5 minute walk) and get to meet locals and see how they live.


The owners were great and you could tell that they really enjoyed helping the guests. They would bend over backward to make sure you were having a good time.

The hotel was built into the side of the mountain and most of the rooms have a view of the ocean. The reason the hotel is called las cascadas is because a short walk down a path you will find a waterfall. You very much feel like you are in the jungle with all of the wild life. Tons of birds, lizards, frogs, and a few times a week they get monkeys passing through. If your looking for a cookie cutter hotel experience, this is not it. But that is exactly what I loved. the people the location and the Price.

Room Tip: we origionall had the room high up int he canopy but were able to get one closer down. Its a hike t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the condotel las cascades at the end of our honeymoon. This hotel is family run and really makes you feel like home.
If you are a fishermen it's in a great location, walking distance to the marina. You are able to bring whatever you catch back to the hotel and cook it up on the BBQ.
The property is absolutely beautiful! Small, quaint very private. We stayed in the honeymoon dome and it was well worth the hike. We saw monkeys on our balcony the first day we were there, lots of wildlife.
However if you are looking for a large resort feel of a hotel this may not be for you. You really get to experience the local culture on this property. This property is very safe with safes in each room cameras and a security guard at night.
I would recommend this hotel to any one of my family or friends

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Condotel Las Cascadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condotel Las Cascadas

Address: Zona Americana, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Condotel Las Cascadas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful family-owned vacation rentals with several options to suit your group's needs. We offer 1,2 or 3 bedroom suites with A/C, WiFi and access to our pool with terrace and waterfall. Some units are available with kitchen, living room, cable TV, living room, ocean view, and outdoor terrace with lounging area, mini-bar and ocean view. A ten minute walk to town, oceanfront, and a snorkeling cove. Peaceful location on the edge of the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Condotel Las Cascadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condotel Las Cascadas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Condotel Las Cascadas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condotel Las Cascadas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.