We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Condotel Las Cascadas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Condotel Las Cascadas to your Saves list
Condotel Las Cascadas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road to the Marina Pez Vela, 250 Mts West, Zona Americana, Tipo H | Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
University Place, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is the place to experience real Costa Rican life. The owners Gary and Catalina are the most gracious host. They will direct you to the authenic food and local attractions, including the fish market that the locals go too. The place is nesteld in a community near a private school and a real Costa Rican neiborhood. The rooms are clean and the pool is awesome. You will see monkeys around the grounds as well as many different birds. Just a ten minute walk to the town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las_cascadas, Front Office Manager at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of our family hotel. We always try to provide for our guests a glimpse of Costa Rican life. We are happy to make suggestions to help our guests get to experience the real Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    61
    17
    23
    10
See reviews for
65
127
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our last stop on our Costa Rican adventure and Las Cascadas was the perfect way to end it. It was right in between Manuel Antonio and Quepos. We were able to walk down into town or catch the bus to Manuel Antonio. Gary was very helpful and friendly, gave us recommendations and helped with transportation. We stayed in the gorgeous honeymoon dome. We had a gorgeous view of the hotel, and quite a workout every time we got home! Make sure you're in shape if you stay in the dome, its definitely a hike up!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las_cascadas, Front Office Manager at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am happy that we were able to play a part in a memorable vacation. The Dome location isn't for everyone, because of the hike up, but it is a very private and unique suite for those who are up to the challenge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had a great time at Las Cascadas in early September.
We felt so welcomed by Gary and Catalina. The hotel is located in a great little city called Quepos and everything was perfect and very relaxing. Gary and his wife arranged all of our tours and made it very safe and simple for us as foreigns,and best of all was to see the attention and dedication they give out to guests. It was perfect!!! I would definitely come back and recommend this hotel to friends and family.
Thank you for the amazing time we had.
Vanessa Witte

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las_cascadas, Front Office Manager at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a comment on your stay. It was a pleasure to be a part of your vacation. We do our best to look after the little details so that our guests can truly enjoy a slice of Costa Rican life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Las Cascadas during the first few days of September of 2012, and from the moment the car dropped us off, I was in awe... Gary (the hotel owner) and his family have a done an absolutely beautiful job decorating, running, and creating a comfortable, 'homey' feeling at Las Cascadas. The entire place sits beautifully on top of a hill. Many of the rooms have spectacular views, little bunnies run around, and there were days that we even saw monkeys swinging about. Every room was tastefully decorated, and felt authentically Costa Rican. It truly is beautiful, and I can't even count how many pictures I took of the place alone.

As for our experience with the staff... There is not a single negative thing that can be said. It is a family run place, and Gary and his family really made us feel like we were long lost relatives. They helped us with everything we needed, deterred us from shady situations, and took a personal interest to make sure that we all had a great and safe time. They were truly generous and king hearted people that we all feel in love with.

The hotel was also excellently located. We were walking distance from the city of Quapos, (literally down the hill and to the right) where there were great restaurant and little stores, street vendors, and one of the days we were there, there was a great outside farmer's market with some delicious fruits that I have never even seen before. Prices for food and shopping were definitely a little better in Quapos then in the heart of Manuel Antonio. But on the days that we preferred to hang out in the more touristy Manuel Antonio, cab rides were only $8-$10 and it generally did not take more than 10 minutes to get to our desired destination.

I can honestly say, without any reservations, that I would stay at Condotel Las Cascadas again the next time I visit Costa Rica... The hotel was amazing, the owners were fantastic, and the experience was deeply memorable. Thank you for everything Gary! You and your family helped make our trip everything we were hoping that it would be and more.

Room Tip: There's a renovated room, a bit higher up than the others, that is absolutely breathtaking. It e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las_cascadas, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. You have expressed exactly what we try to accomplish here at Las Cascadas , that our visitors feel right at home . What a great group you were, and beleive me when I say I think we had as much fun as you all did . We truly feel we have made some new friends and we hope to see you all again soon.
Gary & Catalina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

After staying in hostels for our whole trek, my fiancee and I wanted a little luxury for our last night in Costa Rica. The night before we wanted to arrive, I had emailed Gary, the owner, asking about availability and he responded right away. Once you find it, and we definitely would not have found it on our own - even our cab driver had to ask around a bit - you realize the location is perfect. Despite being hidden away, up a hill, it's easy walking distance both to the heart of Quepos, and to the road connecting Quepos and Manuel Antonio, where you can catch a bus to take you to Manuel Antonio.

The grounds are beautiful - including a pool - and two cute bunnies who hop around the property! Our room was stunning. Beautifully decorated. When the afternoon rain hit, I could not think of a cozier, more romantic place to be. We had the terrace outside our room all to ourselves, and made good use of the bar/sink/fridge area. Comforts of home. This terrace generally would be shared with another room. This would be ideal for families or groups travelling together. One of the highlights of my entire trip was the monkey show I witnessed at 6 am the following morning. From our terrace, I could watch the monkeys swinging in the trees below, and running across the roof of the school nearby. Priceless.

Breakfast was great! Beautiful presentation. Gary chatted with us while we ate, and as we were curious about the rest of the property, he took the time to show us around, even highlighting the medicinal value of some of the plants. He very kindly allowed us a super late check-out that day, as we did not need to head to San Jose until late evening. Throughout our stay, everyone was super helpful, and helped us figure out other bookings we needed, like our transportation to San Jose. All in all, a fantastic end to our vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean-view king was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las_cascadas, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for staying with us, Its been a good year and closing the year on a positive , with guests like you makes it all worth while. The fact that you proposed to your lady here at Las Cascadas made me feel proud that our guests feel the magic of our little hidaway, God Bless your relationship and if you do decide, as you mentioned, to have the wedding here that would make it even more special. We look forward to it.
Gary $ Catalina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here with my best friend for an impromptu trip to Costa Rica. I loved the feel of this resort, it felt very authentic. Gary, the owner was great. He was incredibly helpful and a pleasure to shoot the breeze with. He helped us plan the second leg of our trip to La Fortuna, advised us on restaurants and places to see.
Our room was a two level apartment with the "living area"/kitchen on the lower floor then up the few stairs are the bathroom and bedroom. It was a cute bungalow type room complete with little lizards here and there climbing the walls (which I loved).
The pool was pretty cool, not huge but it was clean and there was also an honor bar stocked with Gatorade, water and beer.
The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the A/C didn't really work in our room and the lock on our door was broken. It's not a fancy place but there are good people that genuinely care about your stay working there and that counts for a lot.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las_cascadas, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you! I hope you had a great time on the second portion of your vacation, I am thrilled to know that our authenticity and customer service were able to compensate for the A/C problem.
Please come back, we have the little lizards waiting for you!
Gary & Catalina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Las Cascadas is a hidden gem just outside Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. My girlfriend and I stayed in a one-bedroom suite for three nights. Gary and his family were very helpful during our entire stay. Gary even used his own vehicle to provide transportation for us to the meet the bus on our last day. The breakfasts were delicious each morning. the view of the ocean is spectacular. The rooms are clean, cozy, and well decorated. The pool is very nice. We enjoyed the three nights we stayed here and wish we'd stayed longer. It was a very peaceful, relaxing stay. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Can be set up as one bedroom, two bedroom or three bedroom suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las_cascadas, Owner at Condotel Las Cascadas, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you! Certainly we appreciate your recommendation to others.
We look forward to your next stay at Las Cascadas.
Gary & Catalina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Condotel Las Cascadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condotel Las Cascadas

Address: Road to the Marina Pez Vela, 250 Mts West, Zona Americana, Tipo H | Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Condotel Las Cascadas 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful family-owned vacation rentals with several options to suit your group's needs. We offer 1,2 or 3 bedroom suites with A/C, WiFi and access to our pool with terrace and waterfall. Some units are available with kitchen, living room, cable TV, living room, ocean view, and outdoor terrace with lounging area, mini-bar and ocean view. A ten minute walk to town, oceanfront, and a snorkeling cove. Peaceful location on the edge of the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Condotel Las Cascadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condotel Las Cascadas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Condotel Las Cascadas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condotel Las Cascadas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.