We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Affordable, Great Views of the Jungle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Babaloo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Babaloo Inn
Save Saved
You added Hotel Babaloo Inn to your Saves list
Manuel Antonio Hwy | in front of Mar Luna 50 mts North of school, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Affordable, Great Views of the Jungle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I originally was at the hostel across the street but moved to Hotel Babaloo after discovering our hostel was infested with cockroaches the size of my hand! My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay. Our room was spotless, and I enjoyed spending the mornings on the balcony watching the monkeys climb through the jungle. Also, Babaloo's staff was very helpful and friendly. Overall, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: As for a balcony overlooking the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a terrific stay at the Babaloo Inn! Our room was on the second floor overlooking the jungle, which gave us a terrific "canopy" vantage point. While sitting on our balcony, we saw iguanas, squirrel and howler monkeys, geckos, toucans, and other tropical birds. The room and bathroom were clean, fairly large (by Costa Rican standards) and included free wifi. The location was within walking distance of a half a dozen restaurants and a short drive from Manuel Antonio National Park. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I will say that the customer service was absolutely excellent. The staff was VERY friendly, helpful and flexible. They even showed concern for safety (i.e. don't let non-guests go to your door, they must come get you themselves), hence two stars. However, if I could do it all over again, I'd save more and book with La Mansion or Sí Como No. The photos looked promising on TripAdvisor and surprisingly, so were the good reviews.

The rooms were absolutely filthy and wreaked of mold/mildew. Yes, I know it is a tropical country, but this was pretty bad. Cobb webs, bugs (dead/alive), hair still in the shower, used bars of soap still in the shower/sink. The coffee maker had coffee that was molding in the pot AND filter, fridge was moldy. I stayed in two different rooms and both were the same. The beds? Absolutely uncomfortable and hard as a rock.

Bonuses are walking across the street to Mar Luna for drinks/dinner/Happy Hour, short walk to the bus stop, Super Josepth market or Emilios Café which was delicious! If you can, buy your groceries at Palí or Super Más in Quepos (7 min bus ride) rather than Joseth's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Highlight: free wi-fi, size of room, comfortable bed

Downside: temperamental hot water, distance to beach and no breakfast

We stayed here in Room 3 (the Penthouse!) in December 2011.

Our room was large, clean and comfortable with a full sized kitchen and balcony (although all the rooms don’t have these). The downside is the rooms do have a bit of a musty smell and the hot water is hard to use as there are no instructions but we did figure it out (Tip – pull out the tap and turn to get the hot water). Our room also had ocean views and it was lovely to sit on the balcony in the afternoon and have a drink and watch life go by (not a spectacular view but still nice enough).

The owner and staff that we met were friendly and helpful and there is free wi-fi in the hotel and English television.

It advertises as having a pool which is a bit of stretch as you can practically stand in the middle and touch all sides at once but there are gardens to explore with the occasional iguana or sloth visitor (we didn’t see any).

There is no breakfast at the hotel and nowhere close to get breakfast. There is however a great bakery for breakfast a 10-15 minute walk back towards Manuel Antonio (ie up the hill). The supermarket is about a 20 minute walk in the same direction.

The Inn is not close to the beach and it is a 5 minute walk to the bus stop followed by a 20 – 40 minute bus ride (this depends upon time of day as the road can get quite busy). The buses to Quepos and Antonio Manuel run every half hour and are 250 colones each way. The buses aren’t a hassle but this is important to note if you’re going to Quepos to spend all your time at the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms 1, 2 or 3 as these have large windows, balconies and are fully self-contained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We liked our stay here very much. They have two types of rooms and we decided to take the suite room because it looked much nicer and had a kitchen. We stayed in the low season and the price was great value for the money. The owner and the staff were all very nice and helpful. They helped us with booking a tour and with our reservations for our stay in Corcovado NP later during our trip. The room was very nice, large and clean with a comfortable bed. There was a large balcony. We cooked in the kitchen and enjoyed our diner on the balcony. The view was ok but not spectacular. The only downside was that there was no breakfast.The restaurant on the other side of the street had a karaoke evening on Saturday until 11pm and we were a bit scared of the noise, but we didn't have any problems at all sleeping that night. The place was really close to the national park and there were many restaurants along the road. There was a small pool and we liked to cool down here for a few moments when returning from our day trips.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Small room, but nicely decorated and lots of shelves for luggage. There's a small refrigerator and AC, although the AC was more like a fan. It didn't cool the room enough. I had a wonderful view of the jungle. My room was quiet, but my friends complained of being awakened by jungle animal sounds. I anticipated bugs in the room, but there weren't any. Yay! There is a great bar/restaurant right across the street, a nice grocery store and bakery up the hill, but otherwise you can't walk to anything. The hotel is half way between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. You'll want to spend time in both places. The "pool" at the hotel is big enough for three people.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Hello, The Hotel is really basic, but it has a good location and good service (recepcionist).

The room was really clean, and it is a good option if you going to Manuel Antonio, beacuse is really close, and the Hotel is only for sleeping!

If you stay here, go to Mar Luna, the bar just in front, great service, and really fun talking with the chef and bartender!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Babaloo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Babaloo Inn

Address: Manuel Antonio Hwy | in front of Mar Luna 50 mts North of school, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Babaloo Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Babaloo Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Babaloo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.