We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice affordable room in Manuel Antonio region” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Babaloo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Babaloo Inn
Manuel Antonio Hwy | in front of Mar Luna 50 mts North of school, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice affordable room in Manuel Antonio region”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We liked our stay here very much. They have two types of rooms and we decided to take the suite room because it looked much nicer and had a kitchen. We stayed in the low season and the price was great value for the money. The owner and the staff were all very nice and helpful. They helped us with booking a tour and with our reservations for our stay in Corcovado NP later during our trip. The room was very nice, large and clean with a comfortable bed. There was a large balcony. We cooked in the kitchen and enjoyed our diner on the balcony. The view was ok but not spectacular. The only downside was that there was no breakfast.The restaurant on the other side of the street had a karaoke evening on Saturday until 11pm and we were a bit scared of the noise, but we didn't have any problems at all sleeping that night. The place was really close to the national park and there were many restaurants along the road. There was a small pool and we liked to cool down here for a few moments when returning from our day trips.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Small room, but nicely decorated and lots of shelves for luggage. There's a small refrigerator and AC, although the AC was more like a fan. It didn't cool the room enough. I had a wonderful view of the jungle. My room was quiet, but my friends complained of being awakened by jungle animal sounds. I anticipated bugs in the room, but there weren't any. Yay! There is a great bar/restaurant right across the street, a nice grocery store and bakery up the hill, but otherwise you can't walk to anything. The hotel is half way between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. You'll want to spend time in both places. The "pool" at the hotel is big enough for three people.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Hello, The Hotel is really basic, but it has a good location and good service (recepcionist).

The room was really clean, and it is a good option if you going to Manuel Antonio, beacuse is really close, and the Hotel is only for sleeping!

If you stay here, go to Mar Luna, the bar just in front, great service, and really fun talking with the chef and bartender!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice place especially if your planning on visiting Manuel Antonio Park. If your not in your room much and only looking for a place to refresh and sleep this is the place. The rooms were actually very clean and our view was of the rain forest. There was a local spider monkey that lived next to the Inn that would howl every night..gave the place a nice jungle feel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Continuous Globetrotter
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My Husband and I stayed at BabaLoo Inn for two nights during a four week trip around Costa Rica. We turned up looking for a room and they only had one large apartment on the top floor left. As there were only two of us and when we promised to pay cash we were given a good discount. The apartment was large with a full kitchen, wrap around balcony, two beds (sleeping 3) and a good sized bathroom. The apartment was clean. As with some other accommodation in Costa Rica we found that maintenance was not given top priority and little things like blown light bulbs had not been replaced and a strange assortment of crockery was provided. As the apartment came with a full kitchen, breakfast was not provided. This is generally not a problem in Costa Rica but the small store in Manuel Antonio was unbelievably expensive and many things were not even priced. If you need provisions buy them in Quepos as you drive through! The major problem at BabaLoo Inn is the parking. Guests are expected to park in lines one behind the other. This is fine until someone wants to go out at the front of the line and the other drivers can’t be found. We offered our car keys to the front desk as we were going out for the evening and they weren’t even interested! I am sure many people get stuck in when they were intending on going out. A good choice for middle of the road accommodation at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The location of the Babaloo Inn is great- within walking distance to the bus stop that can take you to Manuel Antonio National Park and the beaches. The bus also goes past all the restaurants on the main street.

There wasn't anything good about the rooms, but a place to sleep. There was a dead gecko outline on the bathroom door which was a little freaky-- didn't seem like anyone tried to clean it. You are in the jungle so geckos are everywhere, but they were a little too everywhere for my liking.

The pool is awful. Very small and not worth going to. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay w good location and no amenities, its ok.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Just got back from a great trip to Costa Rica with a friend . I booked this hotel based on Lonely Planet and recomendations from here. Upon entering our room it was VERY musty. Since it had A.C. I figuered it would clear up when we got back from the beach.
After the beach we came back and showered ( No hot water). O.K. it was hot and humid so a cold shower wasn't that bad. We then went to dinner. Got back around 7:30. Found the A.C. was too noisy to run, The door to the balcony had no screen so only a small wondow was available for airflow. After 15- 20 min trying to read my book under a very harsh ceiling light, with the musty smell we asked to see a different room. it was the same. When i inquired about how much the room was for the night and he said $ 69
I knew we needed to find something else. We packed up to leave and while putting our things in the car the night guy called us over. He called the owner who offered to take off $10 dollars and move us to a suite. They were better but still a bit musty. the women Fay,
I found to be very rude. We left and found another place closer to the beach that was much nicer. ( It was a $120 room we got for the same $ 70 inc. breakfast). The bar at the place had a band and pool tables. Was a much better experience.

Summary.
Room was VERY musty, loud A.C. with wires hanging off, no Hot water, Glaring overhead light.
If you go during summer, ( rainy season) there were lots of vacancies so you can go
without a reservation and look around for a good deal.

To the owner,
Tear out the carpets- they are the problem
Put in a screen door for the deck
Make sure the hot water is on
Replace ancient A.C.
Put in a small reading lamp
lower price during low season

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Babaloo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Babaloo Inn

Address: Manuel Antonio Hwy | in front of Mar Luna 50 mts North of school, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Babaloo Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Babaloo Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Babaloo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Babaloo Inn to your Saves list