We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quaint Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Babaloo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Babaloo Inn
Manuel Antonio Hwy | in front of Mar Luna 50 mts North of school, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice Quaint Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice place especially if your planning on visiting Manuel Antonio Park. If your not in your room much and only looking for a place to refresh and sleep this is the place. The rooms were actually very clean and our view was of the rain forest. There was a local spider monkey that lived next to the Inn that would howl every night..gave the place a nice jungle feel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Continuous Globetrotter
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My Husband and I stayed at BabaLoo Inn for two nights during a four week trip around Costa Rica. We turned up looking for a room and they only had one large apartment on the top floor left. As there were only two of us and when we promised to pay cash we were given a good discount. The apartment was large with a full kitchen, wrap around balcony, two beds (sleeping 3) and a good sized bathroom. The apartment was clean. As with some other accommodation in Costa Rica we found that maintenance was not given top priority and little things like blown light bulbs had not been replaced and a strange assortment of crockery was provided. As the apartment came with a full kitchen, breakfast was not provided. This is generally not a problem in Costa Rica but the small store in Manuel Antonio was unbelievably expensive and many things were not even priced. If you need provisions buy them in Quepos as you drive through! The major problem at BabaLoo Inn is the parking. Guests are expected to park in lines one behind the other. This is fine until someone wants to go out at the front of the line and the other drivers can’t be found. We offered our car keys to the front desk as we were going out for the evening and they weren’t even interested! I am sure many people get stuck in when they were intending on going out. A good choice for middle of the road accommodation at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The location of the Babaloo Inn is great- within walking distance to the bus stop that can take you to Manuel Antonio National Park and the beaches. The bus also goes past all the restaurants on the main street.

There wasn't anything good about the rooms, but a place to sleep. There was a dead gecko outline on the bathroom door which was a little freaky-- didn't seem like anyone tried to clean it. You are in the jungle so geckos are everywhere, but they were a little too everywhere for my liking.

The pool is awful. Very small and not worth going to. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay w good location and no amenities, its ok.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Just got back from a great trip to Costa Rica with a friend . I booked this hotel based on Lonely Planet and recomendations from here. Upon entering our room it was VERY musty. Since it had A.C. I figuered it would clear up when we got back from the beach.
After the beach we came back and showered ( No hot water). O.K. it was hot and humid so a cold shower wasn't that bad. We then went to dinner. Got back around 7:30. Found the A.C. was too noisy to run, The door to the balcony had no screen so only a small wondow was available for airflow. After 15- 20 min trying to read my book under a very harsh ceiling light, with the musty smell we asked to see a different room. it was the same. When i inquired about how much the room was for the night and he said $ 69
I knew we needed to find something else. We packed up to leave and while putting our things in the car the night guy called us over. He called the owner who offered to take off $10 dollars and move us to a suite. They were better but still a bit musty. the women Fay,
I found to be very rude. We left and found another place closer to the beach that was much nicer. ( It was a $120 room we got for the same $ 70 inc. breakfast). The bar at the place had a band and pool tables. Was a much better experience.

Summary.
Room was VERY musty, loud A.C. with wires hanging off, no Hot water, Glaring overhead light.
If you go during summer, ( rainy season) there were lots of vacancies so you can go
without a reservation and look around for a good deal.

To the owner,
Tear out the carpets- they are the problem
Put in a screen door for the deck
Make sure the hot water is on
Replace ancient A.C.
Put in a small reading lamp
lower price during low season

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We were in Manuel Antonio one of the busiest weeks of the year, over Easter! We were lucky to find a room at Babloo Inn. Our room was great, I think #6. We over looked the woods and if you sat quietly on the porch you could a large amount of wildlife. We saw at least a dozen monkey eating the mangos early one morning. Iguana's throughout the day. It was great. Be careful at night the bugs will fly into your room if the lights are on in your room and it is dark outside when coming in from the porch! The refrigerators in the room are GREAT to have along with the coffee maker and Cafe Milagro coffee. Cafe Milagro is within walking distance for breakfast, hightly recommended! There is also a super market with in walking distance (Super Josef) where you can purchase drinks for the beach, etc. The restaurant across the street is very good, as is the tapas restaurant down the street near cafe milagro. All within walking distance. You can take the public bus to the beach.

While at the Babaloo Inn I left some things in a drawer, and THEY CONTACTED ME TO TELL ME!!! I have left things in other hotels and they have never been found again. They were happy to hold on to the things until I could have someone pick them up for me. THANK YOU SO MUCH! The staff is quiet friendly and helpful, but this was going out of the way. Watch out for falling mangos, they are delicious however!!!!

We went horsebackriding on the beach with iguana tours, would highly recommend this. Went on the vanilla farm tour, also very enjoyable if you like gardening or are a foodie!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

For what it was, this hotel was too expensive. The location is not great. It really isn't by anything and it's a 5 minute walk to the bus stop which comes every half hour, then a 5 minute bus ride to the beach. There is no restaurant in the hotel (the only hotel we stayed in that did not provide a complimentary breakfast) and while the room was clean, we did find a dead cockroach in the bathroom. There is a little pool I think but the hotel is surrounded by trees so no sun can shine through. The owner was very friendly and we had a nice little porch where we could see lots of cute monkeys but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

I see the negative reviews mentioning the road noise (which stopped between midnight and 7 AM) and the rooms being small. For a budget hotel, those things were not important to my friend and me, as long as we had two beds, which the Babaloo had for its basic rooms. Our top priorities were cleanliness, saftey, and good location, which we felt the Babaloo Inn offered. Also, the owner, Faye, was very knowledgeable about the area and CR in general. There were many great restaurants nearby as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Babaloo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Babaloo Inn

Address: Manuel Antonio Hwy | in front of Mar Luna 50 mts North of school, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Babaloo Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Babaloo Inn Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Babaloo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Babaloo Inn to your Saves list