We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to La Posada Jungle Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Save Saved
You added La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thanks to La Posada Jungle Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

These small, cozy jungle bungalow hotel is an absolute delight. We stayed in the casa and it was spacious, so well equiped, beautifully decorated, wonderful sheets and maid service. The monkeys came right to pool area. Best part had to be the personable, friendly owner.
My daughter had a bad sunburn and Mike got his own oinment for her. He advised us where to eat. We felt we had made a friend it just 3 days.

  • Liked — The owner is so friendly.
  • Disliked — Maid service in late afternoon.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    520
    94
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
217
266
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

Mike, the owner, goes out of his way to help his guests; especially helpful in recommending restaurants with good value. The rooms are immaculate and the staff is friendly and helpful. We've stayed at approx. 15-20 hotels in Costa Rica and this hotel is one of the best values. A terrific location--it literally abuts the National Park. We saw monkeys and a sloth right from the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice.

  • Liked — Owner's helpfulness & quality of accommodations re value
  • Tips/Secrets — The Tico food cooked on the beach is good and very inexpensive.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

La Posada is a wonderful place to stay in Manuel Antonio. Our family would highly recommend it to families and people who are looking for comfortable accommodations with excellent staff.

Mike, who owns the cabinas, operates an absolutely first-class operation. The staff, including Jonathan, Francine, Carol, Elvis and others, are friendly, helpful and kind. They made our family's stay an absolute delight. They were playful and accommodating of our two boys--ages 4 1/2 and 21 months--and made our experience there fantastic. Our boys felt completely at home the five nights we were there.

The cabina we stayed in was comfortable and Francine and Carol went out of their way to make sure it was clean and tidy each day. The hammock on our porch was the perfect spot for a siesta.

La Posada is less than a five minute walk to the beach and we tried a couple of good family-friendly restaurants nearby. The bus stop to go into the "town" of Manuel Antonio or into Quepos was an easy walk and we took the opportunity to sample an array of other restaurants.

Of course, the iguanas, lizards, squirrel monkeys and white-faced capuchins who visited the property from next door Manuel Antonio Park were a hit with all of us.

Mike has beverages and a snack menu (pizza, hot dogs) on-site. Jonathan makes a delicious pizza--thin crust and all.

Prices for everything--from the cabina with a yummy breakfast included to the drinks/pizza and laundry--is absolutely reasonable. We'll be back--in fact, La Posada will be our first stop next time!

A huge thank you to Mike and his crew for creating a really special place.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

I spent two nights at La Posada in Mid December. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and I would recommend it to anyone who travels to Manuel Antonio (Especially if you plan to visit the park, which is literally right next door to the hotel.)

La Posada is not a resort. It is not a luxury destination, and it does not feature one of those, million dollar, Manuel Antonio views. It is a small hotel located somewhat off the beaten path (at the end of a small gravel side street. away from the beach and nightlife).

However, what it may lack in pedigree, La Posada more than makes up for in personality, service, and atmosphere.

The combination of great prices, attractive, comfortable, and very clean rooms, with fun and friendly ownership and staff, make this hotel a real gem. It is a great base of operations for anyone touring the Manuel Antonio area.

  • Liked — Great ownership and staff. Very friendly and helpful.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2006

My wife and I stayed at La Posada in December during our 10th anniversary trip to Costa Rica. It was awesome. My wife is a neat freak and she was even impressed with how clean the rooms were. We stayed in the parrot bungalow.

The welcome packet detailed recommendations in plain English for everything from dining to ATMs to nightlife and tours. The staff (Johnathan, Elvis, Carol, and Francini) were extremely friendly and helpful. All of the services were reasonably priced. They don’t gouge you for drinks, laundry, lunch, etc.

The location is amazing. Walking distance to two beaches, the park entrance, and many restaurants. The proximity to the park makes for wildlife visits. We were there three nights and had multiple visits from a dozen squirrel monkey, deer, and lizards.

It is a very relaxed atmosphere with a dining area for breakfast. The pizzas in the afternoon are fantastic. The bungalows are comfortable and clean, but what really puts this place so far above the others is the service. From the owner down, they made a huge difference in how much we enjoyed our stay. They are committed to doing whatever they need to do to help you have a great trip, not merely provide you a bed in which to sleep.

Thanks again, La Posada. We will certainly stay here again next time we’re in Costa Rica.

  • Liked — The people that work there.
  • Disliked — none
  • Tips/Secrets — The pizza is awesome. Arrange a guide for NP through la posada. Go on a canopy tour.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama city, florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

First time to Costa Rica. The staff was unbelievable. The bungalows were so clean and very roomy. Don't be afraid to drink the water. The water was clean and VERY good. Breakfast was served every morning and delicious. The owner was very involved with our visit. Fantastic host. Monkey's and other wildlife visited our private paradise. Can't wait to go back for a slice of heaven. Thank you La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows team for our wonderful stay.

  • Liked — clean, great food and fantastic hotel host!
  • Disliked — none I can think of!
  • Tips/Secrets — during rainy season, bring bug spray
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

My wife, our 2 year old daughter, and myself visited Manuel Antonio and stayed at La Posada from 11/25 - 11/29. I booked this hotel strictly based off of the glowing reviews I read here. All I can say is it was the best vacation decision of my life. Not even Clark Griswald could mess this one up ;-).

Mike, the owner, treats his guest in a manner in which you feel like family. The hotel grounds are immaculate, the staff is attentive and friendly, you get served a wonderful Tico breakfast every morning and the property is right next to the beach and park.

Mike helped us with whatever we needed whether it was restaurant recommendations or what tours are the best in the area. The second part of our stay in Manuel Antonio we stayed at a "fancier" hotel up on the hill that had the postcard view of the ocean. It was nice but nothing compared to our stay at La Posada.

I can't recommend La Posada highly enough. Book it if you are in the Manuel Antonio area and you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — The location, the owner and the staff
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.