We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, right next to national park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows to your Saves list
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice room, right next to national park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stayed at La Posada for one night, in the 2 bedroom La Casa apartment.

Pros: The room for La Casa was very large, bed extremely comfortable, 2 bathrooms clean, nice kitchen/bar area, and big tv screen. It's literally right next to the park entrance so it's very convenient for an early morning tour. The staff was friendly too. They lent ou kids beach toys such buckets and shovels, which was very nice.

Cons: Although there's a shortcut to the beach, the walk was not too pleasant since you pass by constructions, garbage dump (?) and the path can be flooded with rain water. Since this hotel is not on the hill or right next to the beach, you have no view of anything. Also we were looking forward to having pizza for lunch there but they only serve it at 1:30pm when Jonathan is on duty.. so we ended up going elsewhere for pizza.

We booked this hotel because of the high rating on tripadvisor and because we wanted our kids to meet the monkeys and deer during breakfast as many of the other reviewers mentioned, but were disappointed to not see any at all at the hotel. Of course this is no fault of the hotel.

They did hook us up with a good park guide. Make sure you get a guide as they will show you the animals in the park via their large telescope (some are very easily missed if you didn't hon't have a guide); definitely worth the $15/person fee!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    97
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
236
271
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We LOVED La Posada......the villa was great, contemporary, immaculate, within walking distance to the National Park. Jonathan, Estaban and their support staff were gracious, friendly, knowledgeable and more than hospitable. Everyday their breakfast spread was perfect, their pizzas some of the best we have ever eaten and their dinner and movies.......terrific. We would, if we could, return tomorrow.......we highly recommend the villa and what could be better than enjoying the stay at La Posada walking to the beach, watching White-faced Capuchin Monkeys dancing in the trees outside the villa and enjoying the company of locals who love what they call "paradise".
I could not agree more.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon, this place was the best!!!! It was literally right outside the national park and the vocals of the park could not be beat! On our first day checking in we got a visit from two different deer which was such a treat. The owner Mike was amazing, he does themes on certain nights for the guests, if I remember correctly on Wednesdays he takes the guests to a local restaurant for some good food/drinks and entertainment. I loved loved loved Manuel Antonio, the beaches were great! the park was great! and so were the people!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

You're steps from the entrance to Manuel Antonio park and you're a short walk to the beach.

Jonathan, his sister and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. Jonathan made several great suggestions (especially a little place nearby that had some great options for my vegan niece).

Breakfasts are simple and delicious with eggs cooked to order. The internet is free. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in the "Monkey Room" which was very spacious for 3 people (2 double beds and a single).

Oh, and if you get lucky you'll have the monkeys from the park entertain you during breakfast one morning. They were great to watch.

And my 19 year old niece loved the collection of very hot guys that are friends of Jonathan that pop by in the evening. (They were great to watch, too.)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed at La Posada for 3 nights. We had reserved the Monkey Room, but when we got there they offered us the villa which had just become available. It was a bit more expensive, but the upgrade was well worth it, considering we were 5 people, the extra room and bathroom was definitely a plus. The staff was very helpful, and were always responsive to our requests. The buffet style breakfast was great, lots of fruits, yummy!! The pizza they make in house was excellent and a great value.

The pool is small but great for a refreshing dip. They have boogie boards and snorkel gear for guests to use (although the snorkel gear could be cleaner) and they provide towels for the beach. You can usually book tours through them and save 10-20%. the first night we lost power for 3 hours and went down the road to eat dinner and we discovered Costa Linda. It is a backpackers hostel and it has a small restaurant. What a gem, we ate there 3 more times, $40. for 5 people, great fruit drinks, fish and fries to name a few items.

The kids really enjoyed feeding the deer that visited every morning,

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Manuel Antonio is a great park, I don't know why anyone would tell you not to go here. It may be a bit touristy compared to other Costa Rican places (which means not at all touristy in American terms), but the park is amazing, we got in late and didn't realized they were closed on Monday so we only had an hour and a half to go into the park (we wished we'd had a full day). We debated not going since we had so little time, but I'm glad we did because in that short period of time we saw three species of monkeys, a sloth, dear, a baby possum, and numerous birds. A must for anyone going to Costa Rica. We did go to Osa peninsula and they are just different even though people compare them. It is nice to have access to restaurants and a nice beach in Manuel Antonio while you are very isolated and only eating at your lodge in Osa (the isolation is part of the reason to go though). We loved both, they are just different.

As for La Posada, the staff was helpful offering trips, which is nice. We went on a Quad tour which was a lot of fun. My wife really enjoyed it, it includes a stop and a short hike to a waterfall. The rooms at Las Posada are clean with AC, the decor is a bit cheese, but it is nice having your own room without connecting walls.

Pros:
Great location right next to the park entrance
Free breakfast
Good value
Pool
Air conditioned rooms
Own room/bungalow seperate from other rooms so no noise through walls

Cons:
Decor is a little cheesy, sliding doors to get in and out.

WARNING: there is a scam (not anything to do with La Posada) on the main road outside Manuel Antonio park where independent guides will wave you down and tell you that you have to go with them to get into the park, just keep driving. The park entrance (right next to La Posada) is down a little skinny road and can be difficult to find, so just ask someone not trying to sell a tour.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pburke6887
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

My teen daughter and I just returned from La Posada. Esteban, Jonathan, Mike and team could not have been any nicer. We enjoyed the property, their breakfast and their concern for their guests.

We had a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.