We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big thumbs Up for La Posada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows to your Saves list
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Escazu by way of New Orleans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Big thumbs Up for La Posada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2006

My wife and I are transplanted New Orleanians teaching in Costa Rica. For Thanksgiving, with visiting in-laws and an uncle in tow, we shopped online for a place that could handle the five of us in one space. La Posada's owner, Mike (a U.S. expat who came to Costa Rica and never left), had just recently moved out of his onsite apartment for the express purpose of accommodating groups such as ours.

For $150 a night (off season, high season goes to $225) we enjoyed a spotless two bedroom, two full bath (with good water pressure and plenty of hot water) apartment with an enormous living area complete with two couches, two foutons, a 55-inch TV and a full kitchen. Then there was the screened in porch from which we spotted any number of birds, deer, coatimundi (sp?), and, of course, monkeys from the national park that borders the property. And, oh yeah, that included five breakfasts daily.

We joked with Mike that we suspected he wrote his own TripAdvisor reviews; now we can vouch for the place personally. A short walk gets you to the beach or the park, and the staff is remarkably friendly and helpful with recommendations for area dining and attractions. If you're not up to venturing out for dinner, do like we did one night and stay in for the hotel's homemade pizzas.

We never even ventured into the private jungle bungalows, so we can't vouch for those. But the apartment is a great value.

A final note: Mike had accidentally booked us at high season rates. We didn't even think to question, figuring that our three-night stay over the Thanksgiving weekend, though technically still the rainy season, must have merited the bump in price. Mike volunteered his mistake upon our arrival, putting $225 back in our pockets that we never would have missed otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    103
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
252
283
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orlando, fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2006

We love La Posada so much we are already looking forward to returning. We cancelled our Arenal portion to stay there longer! The hotel is nice and small, with the Tico staff making it authentic. They are so eager to serve and please; they even straightened our bathroom items and folded our dirty laundry! Breakfast was delicious and we looked forward to it evey morning (except the coffee). Carol and Francini are incredible, as is Mike. He took us out with some other guests one night, and would frequently converse with us about different things. It felt like we were guests of honor, and the location of the hotel is unmatched as the best in MA Park. The new 2/2 apt upstairs is the cat's meow! It is great.
Hotels may advertise as beachfront, but none really are. They are oceanfront and you have to walk to the beach. Well, Posada is among the closest of walks, but its right next to the park/ rainforest so you often see wildlife right there on property. We saw monkeys, deer, and giant iguanas throughout our stay there.
If you want non-corporate, clean, safe, affordable, and personal, this is it! No complaints; pura vida!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — Hot tub wasn't hot.
  • Tips/Secrets — bring cash and Visa; no Mastercard in most of the area!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

This is, without a doubt, THE best place to stay in Costa Rica. I only wish I had spent more time here. Mike is the ultimate in a host, always wanting to do more to make your stay better. The rooms were fantastic, roomy, comfortable, etc., etc., you get the idea.
You have got to try the pizza, I was astounded as to how good it was, a truly unexpected pleasure.
The visit from the monkeys was priceless, they are so fascinating, you get totally caught up in the experience.
I simply cannot say enough good things about this place and/or Mike. Keep trying, but I just don't see how it can be any better!!

  • Liked — Clean, roomy, and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Pizza, pizza, pizza!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2006

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in November. We absolutely adored this place. The bungalows are really nice and spascious. The rates cannot be beat and even include a very nice breakfast. Mike, the owner, is the most welcoming host who went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. The bungalows are located right by the exit of the Manuel Antonio National Park and about a 3 min. walk from the beach. During our trip to Costa Rica, we have stayed in 3 different hotels, but this one is by far our favourite one.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

We really enjoyed staying at La Posada! At La Posada, we felt like we were really staying in the rainforest. On the hotel grounds, we saw Jesus Christ lizards, Cane toads, snakes, monkeys and fed crackers to "Bambi," their resident deer. Manuel Antonio Park was just a few minutes away on foot. In addition, the complimentary breakfast was delicious!!
Best of all, though, was the owner, Mike, and his amazing staff! They really made us feel welcome and took good care of us. Mike had excellent recommendations for restaurants and tours.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

Based upon TripAdvisor reviews, on my 3rd trip back to Manuel Antonio, we decided to stay at La Posada and we could not have made a better choice! The bungalows are charming, comfortable and spotless. The staff could not be more welcoming. Even the sheets are top notch! The grounds are beautiful and I can think of nothing I enjoyed more than taking an afternoon snooze on the hammock while the rain fell in the jungle all around me. Mike is a warm and welcoming host, full of great suggestions for activities and nightlife. When Mike tells you not to miss Fuzzy at the Gato Negro restaurant..take him at his word! She is fabulous and the Italian food is the best I've had since I was in Italy. And then there is Bambi, the pet deer and the monkeys, all of whom have come to consider La Posada their home as well. La Posada is everything we love about Costa Rica. We may arrived as guests, but left as friends. Thank you Mike and everyone at La Posada for making our vacation the best ever!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

My wife and I just got back from celebrating part of our Costa Rican honeymoon at La Posada... we can't imagine having stayed anywhere else. It was perfect!

Mike was an incredible host, offering a very clean and welcoming accomodation. He was great at making recommendations for places to eat, and activities. He truly made our stay incredible. Great breakfasts. The best part is the proximity of La Posada to the park (right beside), and only 2 minutes to the beach (no matter what other hotels try to say, there are no actual waterfront accomodations in Manuel Antonio - so La Posada is definately one of the closest).

The wildlife that comes onto La Posada's grounds was unbelievable, and was far more incredible than what we saw in Monteverde, Arenal, and in the park itself! Within 5 minutes of being there on the first day, of group of 20 squirrel monkeys came onto the property playing in the trees. We also saw a couple deer, and many birds and lizards right outside our door. Amazing!

So with a great host, beautiful grounds, loads of wildlife, proximity to the park and beach - all for an amazing rate per night - we would highly recommend staying here!

  • Liked — The proximity to the park and beach. And of course Mike the host - great guy!
  • Disliked — The view from the outside as you're approaching for the first time - just give it a few minutes!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.