We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay right next to the park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows to your Saves list
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Oak Grove, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay right next to the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Although the rooms were a little cramped, the place was great. They were very helpful getting us a guide to the park (make sure to get a guide, we would've missed so much otherwise). We ate dinner there one night and it was wonderful. Even included dessert. Loved the free phone calls back to the U.S. The breakfasts were also really good. My kids also loved the troop of monkeys that came through one afternoon when we were there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    98
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
228
269
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I can't say enough about this hotel. We stayed in 5 different hotels during our trip around Costa Rica and this was by far, our favorite. The owner, Mike, his managers, Johnathan and Estebon, are all awesome. The ladies who clean your room are extremely thorough. Fresh breakfast is excellent. My kids enjoyed the pool every day. The grounds are kept very clean and the staff is always available for any kind of help you may need. They know the best people to book excursions with and even the best restaurants...we loved El Sol that they recommended. My kids came to adore Johnathan. He was very kind and playful with them. He worked hard at keeping the grounds clean, greeting the guests, and always being available for any advice, etc. My kids were excited when he was working and were sad to leave him.

We stayed in the bungalows by the pool. They were perfect! Very reasonable for what you get. The rooms are solid concrete, beds comfortable, and lots of room for all your belongings. The shower was hot and they provide soap and shampoo (not all do.) We loved the hammock on the patio and hung out at the patio several evenings with our friends in the bungalow next door. We loved that the pool was right out front. We could sit on the patio and relax while the kids swam.

The location is excellent. It is truly RIGHT next door to the entrance at Manuel Antonio National Park and a quick 5 minute walk to the beaches out front. We were able to walk to restaurants, the beach, the park, the grocery store, etc. Their pizza and soda deal at the hotel at lunch cannot be beat. It was $2 for a large slice of pizza and a cup of soda. My kids loved the pizza.

The staff at La Posada went out of their way when we left one of our suitcases in the parking lot!!! Yes, not good on our part!!! One of the cleaning ladies found it and put it in storage. This suitcase was VERY valuable to us. Our son has some medical issues and it was all of his medication. We realized this when we reached the next town, 6 hours away. We promptly called the hotel and Estebon reassured us that the suitcase was there. He made a few phone calls and arranged for our suitcase to come on a group shuttle the following morning. I cannot tell you how much this meant to our family!! Estebon is a hero in our eyes for taking care of this so promptly. We were so relieved when our suitcase arrived the next morning (and rest assured we accounted for all of our luggage when moving on to any other cities.)

La Posada was our first hotel in our stay and they most certainly set the bar super high. No one else could measure up. We will definitely stay there again when visiting Manuel Antonio. Thanks for the great stay, Mike, Johnathan, Esteban, and all the other La Posada staff.

Room Tip: We loved the bungalows that are by the pool . They were my kids' favorite hotel rooms. Lots of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Caught your eye didnt I? My wife and I didnt stay at this resort only bc we didnt know about it at the time we travelled down to Costa Rica. We were visiting the park and stopped in for a slice of pizza and a coke. We were greated promptly and professionally. While we were there our scuba trip was cancelled due to low numbers and Johnathan was prompt to help and made a few calls to see if he could find a solution even though he had no obligation to do so as we werent even guests at the resort. Everything was awesome and even though we didnt stay there we would do so in a heartbeat and next time we are in Costa Rica we will be booking here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great place for families to vacation. We went with 2 kids 6 & 9. The bungalows are around the pool. We stayed in the fisherman's bungalow (#2) which was great - right in front of the pool. Not noisy at all after sunset. Simply decorated, clean, unpretentious, just very basic but friendly and fun, and it didn't break our bank accnt. Nothing is perfect anywhere, but we feel like this was perfect for us. Jonathan & Esteban were really nice to us and gave us impeccable service. The location I feel can't be beaten. The MA park is litterally 35 steps away. Buy your tickets to the park at the bank about 35 steps (on your right side when you get out of la posada) 10$/pers, kids free, before you go to the park. The free beach is 3 minutes walk away, the way to go is to take the small dirt alley right IN FRONT of la posada. It will lead you to a small bridge, then to a small souvenirs shop market, once you get out of the souvenir market, you will be on the main road, you go straight ahead for the beach or turn right if you want to get to the restaurants, pizza place, thai food, bars, and the convenience store. If you turn right on the next street it will also take you back to la posada, and you will see more hotels, a hostel, and restaurants. That's the la posada-beach-main road/restaurants-la posada loop. I would not take the small dirt alley after sunset to get back to la posada because the road has no light, and there are less people walking that way after the park is closed.

The food at la posada was very decent and not expensive. Home made. The staff works very hard and we were very happy with their work. Free Breakfast was fruits, cereal, toast, coffee juices, and hot breakfast was different everyday but everything was very decent. Dinner 3 times a week for a small price.

People who are looking for something that is new and modern and fancy should not stay here. This place is not for divas. Ceramic tiles are not new, it does look a bit dated: everything can look little tired after some time, but it can still work well.

Other guests also seemed satisfied with their stay. Book your tours with them, it will cost you 10$ less per person. Count it: how much money saved for a few tours when you are a family of 4? We had 3 tours booked with them: that's 120$ more in our pockets. And the staff gets the same amount in commission which is great.

We did not rent a car, we had them arrange for a pickup in sjo with Carlos, he was very nice to us. He had a booster which I requested for my 6 yo.

Before going to the beach buy your water at la posada for 1000 colones. I think they also have sandwiches, pizzas with a drink for a very good price. I didnt think about it but I could have had that for lunch inside the ma park since there is nothing sold inside. Just a note, I think it took about 30 minutes to walk to the ma beach in the park. Flip flops are not an option if you are going to go on the trails to the miranar (viewpoint). Flip flops to the beach only is kinda ok, but I had my kids wear sneakers. The beach is beautiful. Really. Don't miss it.

I brought minimum clothes, but I would have taken even less if I had known that they had a laundry service. Our clothes were brought in the morning and were ready in the evening on the same day. Bring at least 3 bathing suits, they tend to take a long time to dry up because it's so humid. Our bathing suits seemed to dry better inside the bungalow than outside on the porch. You have a table, 4 dining chairs, 2 rocking chairs a coffee table and a hammock. You have a microwave, coffee machine, glasses, cups, soap, toilet paper, nice towels, a/c, good wifi allover the place, free phone to us/canada, free use of desktop computer. If it rains, there are umbrellas at reception. Kids have beach toys, boogie boards. I saw one "nemo" lifejacket for a 6 year old or younger. The pool is small but not shallow, water was to my chest when i stood up and it's like that in the whole pool, you might want to plan for floaters. Beach towels available which is great: towels will not dry in this humidity. Bring cheap ones if you have to, it will dry better and will be less heavy.

Hope this helps. We highly recommend this place. Our little family had a great time. This could be good for just anybody. When it rained, our party continued anyway in the pool. Kids loved it. We ordered pizza and ate in the restaurant. Free bonus are the monkeys, lizards, a bambi all over the place. Mosquitos are also a bonus, so bring insect repellent: the cream type works better. Recommendations from a mom to other moms.

Room Tip: Fisherman's bungalow right in front of the pool (room 2) Sit in the rocking chair on the porch w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in two hotels when we were in Manuel Antonio - this being the first of the two. First off, the location is great! You can't get closer to the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park (there is one more hotel close to the park but it is extremely expensive)! It seems La Posada is family owned. Two younger guys were working the front and kitchen area and were extremely nice and helpful! They make fresh pizza daily (how they do it in the heat, I dont know!) and it is very yummy and cheap! $1 for a slice and a coke.

They have a fresh breakfast every morning - fruit, yogurt, breads, sausage, and will also make eggs fresh for you if you want. The pool isnt too big, but it is deeper than it looks and is also cool, so it feels amazing to hop in after a long day in the heat and humidity. They also have a stairway up to a bar, it looked pretty cool but wasnt being used when we stayed.

Each room has it's own hammock on the rooms patio which we used often! I could tell each bungalow was decorated a bit different based off the colors I saw walking by. Our room was bright green and had a parot theme, which helped with the rainforest atmosphere. It looked like the room next to us had a sky blue color and perhaps a fish theme - either way, the rooms were bright, colorful and welcoming.

You really feel like you are in the jungle here. Especially at the pool where you will see lizards frequently and if you are lucky, some monkeys hang around the dinning area that love to eat bananas from your hand!

Overall, we had a really great experience here and we will definitly stay here again if we get the chance. Everyone that works here is so warm and welcoming and really does go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. They also will help you set up tours, such as canopy, rafting, surfing lessons, ect, and will provide a discount if you book through them, so that is great!

Another bonus to the location of these bungalows, its just a short walk (up and) down a hill to get to the beach. From there, you'll have a ton of shops, markets, and resturants to choose from (I reccomend El Sol, they have a 2 for 1 happy hour on cocktails and their food is great)!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 nights in the Villa - location was perfect right at the park entrance. The rooms facing the street are very noisy starting early in the morning before the park opens as the workers and guides all gather there so a room away from the street would be quieter. Also, the 2 futons in the Villa are not the most comfortable and wd be fine for kids. Room was very clean, pool was small but refreshing, A/C was great, food was fine, and the employees are all very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

La Posada is not luxurious by any means, but it is laid back with an awesome staff and amazing location. It is literally right next to the entrance of the park and a short 5 minute walk away from great restaurants and the beach. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The A/C works well, there is wifi, free movies to watch in your room and an amazing breakfast buffet included with the room (fruit, pastries, eggs, sausages and a rotation of pancakes, potatoes and other things - everything is made fresh). Laundry can be done cheaply and the room cleaners even bought us candy with some of the tip money we left them.

Mike wasn't there when we visited, but his staff was very attentive and willing to help us out with anything we needed. Esteban was extremely helpful with booking tours for us, including informing us that it was whale season and set us up on an awesome whale watching tour. Jonathan offered to drive us as it was pretty far away and gave us a price that was a lot less than what we had been quoted. The ride with Jonathan was fun as he is very outgoing with a great sense of humor. After the tour, he took us by a swimming hole with a rope swing. This place was amazing! Make sure you ask him about it. We could have stayed there all day.

We didn't see very many animals around, but we were usually out the door early in the morning and didn't get back until night time. The hammocks outside the rooms were great as we used them to relax and unwind. Unless you are looking to stay at a Ritz or Four Seasons quality place, La Posada provides everything you could need with the best staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.