We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Save Saved
You added La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We are a family of 5 that visited Costa Rica for the first time. We stayed our first week at La Posada Bungalows. The location was great right next to the National park, however we went in the green season so it was fairly quiet there. I don't know if we would have liked it as much had it been a busy time of year but that's only our opinion as we're not too keen on crowds. The location was also great because it was a short walk to a gorgeous beach, vendors, shops, bus stop and restaurants. The hotel was exactly what we had expected from looking at pictures before we arrived and reading reviews. The Monkey Room was a little smaller than we had hoped but it did have a nice sized bathroom. It had a nice outdoor patio with hammock. We really enjoyed sitting in front of our room but only because the Villa next door wasn't rented out. Had it been it may not have been as nice for us but once again, that's only because we like our privacy and other guests may have enjoyed having someone next door. Also, one other complaint was that there is a window above where we would sit at night which belongs to another unit and one evening my husband and I were sitting outside and could here a couple "getting it on" as clear as a bell from the window. I'm just glad our kids weren't sitting with us and it did make us shorten our stay but that ended up being a good thing as we saw another beautiful part of Costa Rica.

The breakfasts that were included were great, no complaints and their dinners which they offered certain nights for a good price were delicious also.

Mike is a super guy. Didn't mind us asking him questions and felt very comfortable with him and he's very down to earth and seems very honest. We wish he would have been around more.

The common area was really nice but sometimes we felt the TV was on more for the staff that was working there and even though we would have liked to sit out there more often in the evening it almost felt like you were intruding on the employee who was supervising the place and it felt uncomfortable. It was nice however that they had a large selection of movies and popcorn that we could take to the room with us. I don't agree with all the reviews about Jonathon. I felt like if there wasn't a buck in it for him, he would not want to help you and I felt sometimes like a burden if I asked him a question. One night I asked him about some dinner suggestions and he was on the computer and seemed very annoyed when I talked to him. I had also asked him questions one day about Ballena National Park and only learned the next day through Esteban that there was a great waterfall very close by that we could have visited with the kids that would have only cost us a dollar. It could just be me but I think if we would have come across more affluent he would have been more receptive. Esteban was really nice and so was the rest of the staff. The place was kept very clean and the gardens are beautiful.

Yes monkeys do visit La Posada and so does a deer and it was awesome!

The kids loved the pool and it was really nice that they had pool toys there and boogie boards available for the beach which we used a lot. They also had a nice outdoor shower for when you returned from the beach.

You can't go wrong staying here and especially if you're on a budget it's a great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    98
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
221
268
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My family of 4 adults had an excellent time staying at the La Posada Jungle bungalows for 2 nights

Things to consider:
- Location: the hotel shares a fence with the Manuel Antonio National Park so you cannot get any closer. The easy access allowed us to get to the park and beaches with multiple visits per day. The public beach is also a 2 minute walk away
- Charming Landscape - the four bungalows are nestled around a cozy swimming pool right next to a common area with internet and phone access (free calls to the US)
- Breakfasts: served in the common area every morning with fresh hot food, yogurt, fruit, cereal, breads, etc. special mention for the excellent coffee that is set out at 6 am
- Staff: the staff were very hospitable, always eager to please and very helpful win tours, restaurants, etc. special mention for Esteban, Mike and Carol

- One downside for folks that don't have a car is that there are only a few restaurants within walking distance

Would gladly stay here again - Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and me started our 1st holiday in Costa Rica on Sept 16,2013 at the La Posada Private Bungalows, following the comments at tripadvisor, and,we can confirm what`s been said before.
We reserved a bungalow opposite the pool; this was big enough with 2 beds, a big flat screen TV, free coffee machine; and cleaned carefully every day. You have free internet access in the dining aera. Special thanks to Mike, Jonathan and the rest of the crew,who were very helpfull e.g. in organizing a rental car for a day trip to Wilson Botanical Garden,San Vito near the Panamanian Border or for whale watching at the Marino Ballena National Park. We enjoyed the breakfest every morning, (freshly prepared, nearly every wish will be fulfilled ! What a magnificent service ! We saw the lizzard at the pool nearly every morning, nearly every 2nd day we had 2-10 monkeys in the garden, and could observe some other lizzards which entered the hotel garden also directly from the jungle at the Manuel Antonio National Park. Compared to our 2nd hotel near Alajuela,which we booked after this one, also based on comments at tripadvisor, this hotel was by far very much better, because Mike, Jonathan and the rest of the crew really make you feel at home. But if you travel in September or October, you must be aware that you will have sunny periods in the morning hours and heavy rain falls late afternoon or in the evening,which may last from 1 to 6 hours - but, we took it as an adventure and felt quite fine at the La Posada Jungle Bungalows ! Wolfgang and Patricia, Hamburg,Germany

Room Tip: A bungalow opposite the pool is a very good choice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our party of 2 families, each with 2 young kids had a very enjoyable stay at La posada. We booked a Bungalow and the Monkey room. Both had everything we needed and were clean and comfortable.
The pool was not large but clean and well maintained, plenty of beach&pool toys were available and the kids enjoyed them
Mike and the team were great, attentive and provided valuable advice about the area.
Breakfast was tasty and plentiful.
Location couldn't have been better - right by the national park entrance yet within walking distance from the beach and town center.
We will definitely stay there again when we return to Costa Rica.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is situated just at the gates of Manuel Antonio National Park. A little less flashy than the new place across the street, but the staff and the service at this place make it superior.
Apparently the people in our bungalow before us made such a mess that they took before and after photos...but it was spotless when we were given the keys. Clearly the staff is incredibly hard working and dedicated.
There are lots of things to entertain yourself with here...boogie boards to borrow...short hike to the beach...a nice pool to cool off after a day of hiking...upper bar to watch the sunset...or investigate the local fauna in the tree canopy.
They are happy to book tours for you...or guides..recommend restaurants..or they do cook a supper once a week for very reasonable rates..Breakfasts are plentiful...lots of fresh fruit, and continental style foods...followed by a hot meal...definitely a filling start to the day. There are cards to borrow...or movies to watch...and a free international phone connection to North America if you need it.
We arrived on a Monday...and thank goodness we had several days here, because the national Park is closed on Mondays...what on earth for? Anyway Manuel was arranged as our guide for the next day and he was so worth every penny for his talents. We thoroughly enjoyed his guiding...he had amazing abilities to find so much.
The best beaches are also in the park...or you can use the public beaches nearby on the way to Quepos...but there you are under the constant barrage of vendors.
Mike the owner of the hotel was very hospitable and keen to offer advice/suggestions for the area.
Great value here...I can see why so many people return on a regular basis...like Donna and John...in the next bungalow. Their friendliness also added to the ambiance of the place. Good to have cheerleaders!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights at La Posada, and had a wonderful time. Going in the rainy season it was quite and very peaceful. All the staff (I'm sorry I do not remember all your names) where wonderful. Mike, the owner, always had a great dinner suggestion that we should have taken him up on more often.
Breakfast was always very tasty and more than enough. On our last evening the squire Monkeys came right into the hotel grounds and we where able to be up close and personal with them. Great location for the park and the beach.

Room Tip: we stayed in cabana 1 but all where the same. I don;t think there would be a Better one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I visited La Posada for a few evenings on 8/31/13. The place was tropical and quiet and right at the entrance of the Manual Antonio Park like they say. Mike, the owner, was a great down to earth person and gave us many helpful tips for things to do. We became great friends with Jonathan, the driver, that Mike sent to pick us up in San Jose. Jonathan also works at the hotel and is a magnificent cook. He took my husband back and forth to San Jose for dental work and he was able to stop and take us to so many "off the beaten path" places that we would have never found on our own. His English was great.
The homemade breakfasts were delicious. They have inexpensive beers and refreshments for purchase right at the hotel. We got food delivery for lunch on another day and it was also good. We ended up getting upgraded to the villa at the last minute which was a little more spacious then the bungalow.

You can hear the Howler monkeys at night and first thing in the morning. The deer showed up every day (she was so precious) and I heard the monkeys finally made a presence right after we checked out - so we missed the little guys. They also offer inexpensive dinners there at certain times during the week. We took them up on the Mahi dinner and I think everyone else did too. It was reasonable priced and delicious. Perfect for relaxing and not having to leave the hotel site. The pool was just the right size for a quick dip to cool off and relax by after a day of sightseeing. All in all, everyone there was very nice. It's a super location and a short walk to the beach and the little town. I look forward to returning and bring my adult children with me next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.