We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, fabulous staff, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows to your Saves list
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent location, fabulous staff, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My family of 4 adults had an excellent time staying at the La Posada Jungle bungalows for 2 nights

Things to consider:
- Location: the hotel shares a fence with the Manuel Antonio National Park so you cannot get any closer. The easy access allowed us to get to the park and beaches with multiple visits per day. The public beach is also a 2 minute walk away
- Charming Landscape - the four bungalows are nestled around a cozy swimming pool right next to a common area with internet and phone access (free calls to the US)
- Breakfasts: served in the common area every morning with fresh hot food, yogurt, fruit, cereal, breads, etc. special mention for the excellent coffee that is set out at 6 am
- Staff: the staff were very hospitable, always eager to please and very helpful win tours, restaurants, etc. special mention for Esteban, Mike and Carol

- One downside for folks that don't have a car is that there are only a few restaurants within walking distance

Would gladly stay here again - Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    97
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
235
271
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and me started our 1st holiday in Costa Rica on Sept 16,2013 at the La Posada Private Bungalows, following the comments at tripadvisor, and,we can confirm what`s been said before.
We reserved a bungalow opposite the pool; this was big enough with 2 beds, a big flat screen TV, free coffee machine; and cleaned carefully every day. You have free internet access in the dining aera. Special thanks to Mike, Jonathan and the rest of the crew,who were very helpfull e.g. in organizing a rental car for a day trip to Wilson Botanical Garden,San Vito near the Panamanian Border or for whale watching at the Marino Ballena National Park. We enjoyed the breakfest every morning, (freshly prepared, nearly every wish will be fulfilled ! What a magnificent service ! We saw the lizzard at the pool nearly every morning, nearly every 2nd day we had 2-10 monkeys in the garden, and could observe some other lizzards which entered the hotel garden also directly from the jungle at the Manuel Antonio National Park. Compared to our 2nd hotel near Alajuela,which we booked after this one, also based on comments at tripadvisor, this hotel was by far very much better, because Mike, Jonathan and the rest of the crew really make you feel at home. But if you travel in September or October, you must be aware that you will have sunny periods in the morning hours and heavy rain falls late afternoon or in the evening,which may last from 1 to 6 hours - but, we took it as an adventure and felt quite fine at the La Posada Jungle Bungalows ! Wolfgang and Patricia, Hamburg,Germany

Room Tip: A bungalow opposite the pool is a very good choice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our party of 2 families, each with 2 young kids had a very enjoyable stay at La posada. We booked a Bungalow and the Monkey room. Both had everything we needed and were clean and comfortable.
The pool was not large but clean and well maintained, plenty of beach&pool toys were available and the kids enjoyed them
Mike and the team were great, attentive and provided valuable advice about the area.
Breakfast was tasty and plentiful.
Location couldn't have been better - right by the national park entrance yet within walking distance from the beach and town center.
We will definitely stay there again when we return to Costa Rica.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is situated just at the gates of Manuel Antonio National Park. A little less flashy than the new place across the street, but the staff and the service at this place make it superior.
Apparently the people in our bungalow before us made such a mess that they took before and after photos...but it was spotless when we were given the keys. Clearly the staff is incredibly hard working and dedicated.
There are lots of things to entertain yourself with here...boogie boards to borrow...short hike to the beach...a nice pool to cool off after a day of hiking...upper bar to watch the sunset...or investigate the local fauna in the tree canopy.
They are happy to book tours for you...or guides..recommend restaurants..or they do cook a supper once a week for very reasonable rates..Breakfasts are plentiful...lots of fresh fruit, and continental style foods...followed by a hot meal...definitely a filling start to the day. There are cards to borrow...or movies to watch...and a free international phone connection to North America if you need it.
We arrived on a Monday...and thank goodness we had several days here, because the national Park is closed on Mondays...what on earth for? Anyway Manuel was arranged as our guide for the next day and he was so worth every penny for his talents. We thoroughly enjoyed his guiding...he had amazing abilities to find so much.
The best beaches are also in the park...or you can use the public beaches nearby on the way to Quepos...but there you are under the constant barrage of vendors.
Mike the owner of the hotel was very hospitable and keen to offer advice/suggestions for the area.
Great value here...I can see why so many people return on a regular basis...like Donna and John...in the next bungalow. Their friendliness also added to the ambiance of the place. Good to have cheerleaders!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights at La Posada, and had a wonderful time. Going in the rainy season it was quite and very peaceful. All the staff (I'm sorry I do not remember all your names) where wonderful. Mike, the owner, always had a great dinner suggestion that we should have taken him up on more often.
Breakfast was always very tasty and more than enough. On our last evening the squire Monkeys came right into the hotel grounds and we where able to be up close and personal with them. Great location for the park and the beach.

Room Tip: we stayed in cabana 1 but all where the same. I don;t think there would be a Better one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I visited La Posada for a few evenings on 8/31/13. The place was tropical and quiet and right at the entrance of the Manual Antonio Park like they say. Mike, the owner, was a great down to earth person and gave us many helpful tips for things to do. We became great friends with Jonathan, the driver, that Mike sent to pick us up in San Jose. Jonathan also works at the hotel and is a magnificent cook. He took my husband back and forth to San Jose for dental work and he was able to stop and take us to so many "off the beaten path" places that we would have never found on our own. His English was great.
The homemade breakfasts were delicious. They have inexpensive beers and refreshments for purchase right at the hotel. We got food delivery for lunch on another day and it was also good. We ended up getting upgraded to the villa at the last minute which was a little more spacious then the bungalow.

You can hear the Howler monkeys at night and first thing in the morning. The deer showed up every day (she was so precious) and I heard the monkeys finally made a presence right after we checked out - so we missed the little guys. They also offer inexpensive dinners there at certain times during the week. We took them up on the Mahi dinner and I think everyone else did too. It was reasonable priced and delicious. Perfect for relaxing and not having to leave the hotel site. The pool was just the right size for a quick dip to cool off and relax by after a day of sightseeing. All in all, everyone there was very nice. It's a super location and a short walk to the beach and the little town. I look forward to returning and bring my adult children with me next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The staff at La Posada make this a great place to stay. I had phoned to make a reservation the night before arriving in Manuel Antonio. The room I wanted wasn't available but (given I was staying for a couple of nights and it was the rainy season) I was offered a discount on the Monkey Room. The room is large and clean with A/C and nice touches such as an umbrella, torch and coffee machine.

Jonathon arranged for an excellent guide (Manuel Cabalceta) to show me around the National Park and Mike kindly bought a bus ticket for me when he was visiting the nearby town of Quepos. He also knocked on my door after breakfast to let me know that a troop of squirrel monkeys had arrived in the garden. My only grumble is that guests were allowed to feed the monkeys (bananas are not their preferred food and can cause digestive problems, and irregular feeding can lead to aggressive behaviour. Not something that should be encouraged).

The property is right on the doorstep of the National Park and just a few minutes walk from the beach. It was the perfect place to end my Costa Rica trip, ensuring my last couple of nights were very relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.